Pet Sitters International’s Take Your Dog To Work Day® (TYDTWDay®)


I had to laugh when I heard  today was Take Your Dog To Work Day…that in itself isn’t funny, Take Your Dog To Work Day is for a good cause.

Are you familiar with why this day exists?

From their website:

“First celebrated in 1999, Pet Sitters International’s Take Your Dog To Work Day® (TYDTWDay®) was created to celebrate the great companions dogs make and to encourage their adoption from humane societies, animal shelters and breed rescue clubs. This annual event asks pet lovers to celebrate the humane-canine bond and promote pet adoption by encouraging their employers to supportTYDTWDay. Employers are encouraged to open their workplace to employees’ four-legged friends on this one special day.”

I think this is great!

Aside from joining their owners at work there are dogs with all sorts of jobs. There are:

  • Fire Dogs
  • Police Dogs
  • Service Dogs
  • Dogs in the Army
  • Performing Dogs
  • Hunting Dogs

All sorts of dogs have all sorts of jobs!

I am a Shetland Sheepdog and my breed is considered to be a “working” dog. It is only natural that I would go to work with my Mom.

What strikes me as funny is….my Mom HAS NO JOB!!! BOL! We live in Michigan remember? There ARE NO JOBS IN MICHIGAN!

Mom calls blogging “working from home” whatevah!!! Between you and I, I see her pounding the keyboard in Words With Friends more than I see her working.

SOMEBODY has to bring home the bacon! BONES!

So what do ya think? Ya think I look “business-like” enough to go to work?

I thought so!

Now…if we could just find Mom a job I’d be all set!

Whatever your “job” is, help spread the word about Take Your Dog To Work Day ok?

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/pet-sitters-internationals-take-your-dog-to-work-day-tydtwday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would so love to take Koly or Fe to work with me, but working in a glass shop, that might be a titch dangerous. I like the work from home idea though!

    • Ohhhh yessss…working in a glass shop would NOT be a place for a doggy! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Oh, sweet Dakota you look like an exec!! You got some mighty fine lookin’ specs on there. Hugs and nose kisses

    • lol Chancy and Mumsy!!! I DO look pretty cool don’t I? BOL!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. My dad never allows me to go working with him. He says I’m too cute and a pretty princess should stay at home. Boo hoo!!!

    Licks
    Eva

    • Eva you are correct! you are too beautiful for hard work!! you must stay home and be pampered! You are a Princess and should be treated as such! All of my love, Dakota

  4. That is EVERYDAY at our house, wes gets taken to work everyday! Mommy works out of a office in our house! It is our duty to makes sure she takes breaks! Breaks to pets us, breaks to walks us, breaks to let us outside, breaks to fees us, breaks to plays with us, breaks to tell us she loves us!
    Kisses
    Nellie
    PS – Feel better soon dear Caren, we is purraying for yous

    • Nellie that is EXACTLY as it should be!!! Mom says THANK YOU! She is feeling much better cause she is home and doesn’t have to worry about 99 degree temps, dehydrating planes, not getting enough water and has her OWN potty!!! BOL!!

      Hoping Bob is doing well!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  5. We would love to go to work with Dad, but that’s just not happening.

    • Bailey, my Dad is retired so I go to “work” with him EVERY DAY…BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. whoa Dakota…not sure what I like best…your wedding attire or your office attire…you accessorize so well!

    • BOL!!! I’m one pretty cool lookin’ doggy!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Hey Dakota,

    You look like the boss with or without those glasses buddy!! Tee Hee

    I had a fun day at work too, cos I was at Blogpaws, but you know, I had no idea how tiring it is!! I need to sleep for a week now! 🙂

    Wags to all – hope your Mom is feeling better 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!! Yeah I kinda DO look like “the boss” don’t I? BOL!!

      Ohhhh you should have asked my Mom how tiring BlogPaws is! She came home DOG TIRED last year! You sure did work hard pal!

      Hey did Mom tell you that we saw you on live stream at breakfast? It was sooooooooo cool!!!!

      Mom is feeling better and she thanks you!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom


Leave a Reply

