Happy Anniversary Mom & Dad! And…It’s “National Take Your Dog To Work Day!”


Today is my Mom and Dad’s 5th wedding anniversary! Yes, I know they are both older than dirt but you see they are such gems that their first marriages didn’t work out and this is the second marriage for both.

Look at this card that my Dad gave to my Mom….

This card was made by Avanti Cards, to read about them click  here 

I think this is a great card but the Sheltie is wearing a DRESS! I am a boy dog and my Dad gives this to my Mom from ME??? This greatly affects my Sheltie sensibility!

Anyway, I hope Mom & Dad have a great anniversary, nobody else wants them so they had better make the best of what they have!!

Now, on a totally different paw,  today is also:

National Take Your Dog To Work Day!!

You can read about that by clicking on the above link…

I have a bone to pick about that too.

I would LOVE to go to work with my Mom and/or Dad but you see, they must have a JOB first!! A JOB!!

Dad retired last summer after 36 years of teaching in the Detroit Public Schools. Mom worked 20+ years in Advertising Sales but lost her latest job due to downsizing in 2007. Mom is now a freelance writer/blogger. Yeah, yeah she puts in TONS of hours doing this (as all of you bloggers completely understand), makes enough to keep me in kibble,  but she works from HOME!  How in the dog world can I go to work with her if I am already THERE 24/7?

Even more insulting, her  “office” is off-limits to me! She has the hallway baby gated!   See the photo below? This is the closest I get to her office:

That’s not even me!! It is merely a stuffed replica!! (And a poor representation at that!) I’m not allowed back there because that is where Mom keeps her partner in crime’s  Cody’s toys.

For all of you “lucky dogs” who get to go to a BONA FIDE WORKPLACE with your Mom and Dad and not some bogus representation of an “office” this video is for you!!!! It was done by Ginger of YouTube and Mom and I LOVE her videos!

Now THAT’S a workin’ Sheltie!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/happy-anniversary-mom-dad-and-its-national-take-your-dog-to-work-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Maybe its a picture of Eva. Perhaps he sees Mama as a Princess? I think he meant it as a compliment.

    Happy Anniversary to your Mom & Dad.

    -Bailey & Katy

    • Hi Bailey & Katy! I wish it had been Eva!! BOL!! Nooooooooooooooooo Mama is NOOOOOOOOOOOO Princess and trust me, Dad doesn’t see her as one! lol. The “Queen” maybe, but not a Princess!!! BOL! KIDDING!! Daddy loves Mommy very much and Mommy loves Daddy! I just like to tease them 🙂 Thank you for the anniversary wishes for them! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. That card is perfect! Love it! Happy Anniversary!

    I’m on my first day of summer vacation, so no dogs going to work here today. No one seems to be complaining!

    • Happy First Day of Summer Vacay!!! Your dogs work EVERY DAY! They are so well trained that my mom should be beyond embarrassed! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. BOL! Beautiful card! Your dad is so sweet!!!

    Guess what??? When I first saw the picture, I wanted to say it’s Eva there because your mama is as pretty as Eva then I read the comment from Bailey and Katy, I just couldn’t stop laughing!

    Happy Anniversary to your mom and dad! They’re a lovely couple and you know how much I love your mom and dad!!!

    • lol Priscilla!!!! My Mommy really loved that card! My Dad gave her like 6 cards and she only gave him TWO! BOL!! The card is from Avanti Cards, I put the link above…they make the most ADORABLE cards!!

      My Mom and Dad said thanks so much for the Anniversary wishes!! They LOVE YOU and your ENTIRE FAMILY…….soooooooo MUCH! Duh!! just realized I am replying as my brother, Cody!! Ugh! Have to change that later, I get sooo confused! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Super happy birthday to your parents! My mom persohis always at home with me to and my dad persons job would NEVER allow me to go there. They are uncool!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  5. thanks Oskar!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. AWWWWW A very HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to your mama and dad!!! They are a great couple and you and Cody are a great pair of pets!!!

    • thank you Sue!! You are so nice! Cody and I try to be good boys, sometimes we don’t succeed. Mommy goofed something up and now when we are replying to comments, everything is goofed up! Say hi to Rosie from us!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! That is wonderful! I hope you are doing something special to celebrate..I already know what your gift was! 🙂

    p.s. Poor Dakota..that “replica” of you is hilarious/adorable!

    • @Catsparella My Mom says THANK YOU!!!! She and Dad are going to celebrate tomorrow!

      My Mom said to tell you she had to stop and think when you said you knew what the gift was!! She had forgotten!!! Haaaaaaaa!!! Daddy obviously forgot too because he got her a gift certificate to the nail salon to get “groomed”…shhhhh, don’t tell!!

      That “replica” needs to leave so that I can come in! BOL!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, MOM AND DAD!!! What a special day! Dakota, you’re just waaay too special to have to work…that’s why you’re not in the office 🙂 xo p.s. – cool video! BOL

    • thank you CindyLu!!!! I’m not too special to work! I am a SHELTIE!! We are “working dogs!!!” Of all dogs, I should be working!

      My Mommy loves that video too!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Happy anniversary caren and Mr caren!

    • roflmao @Hilary!!! You can call him “Daddy” BOL!!! Or…”Einstein” since he looks like him…but his name is really Lenny…I just realized I never told anyone my Daddy’s name!

      My Mom said THANK YOU!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Happy Anniversary to Your Mommy and Your Daddy !!!! Dakota !!!
    Lovely card Dakota and I hope both of them have a wonderful time today.
    I just so happy I didn’t miss your mom’s big day !!! because Me and my mom love her so much
    xoxo

    • Hi Mr.Puddy! Thank you!!! My Mom was sooo happy to see that you wished her a Happy Anniversary! She is smiling right now!

      I know my Mommy loves YOU sooooo much, you ALWAYS make her smile!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Woohoo, happy anniversary to your folks Dakota!! 🙂

    I had to do a double take when I saw that pic, I thought it was a stuffed toy, then I thought, is it Dakota? Then I read it…….. 🙂

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! Thanks much! My parents say thanks too!

      Hey!! I look much better than that stuffed doggie!!! BOL!

      You have a great weekend as well and I hope you get that cone taken off soon!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. Happy Anniversary to your folks, Dakota! I love the stuffie you that sits in your mom’s office. You’re there in spirit, anyways 🙂

    • Awww thank you Vicky! My Mom and Dad say thank you too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Happy anniversary Caren 🙂 hope you guys last a life time.

    Dakota…don’t worry, just consider your self equal with my babies. I never took them to my job either. Kame once went to my school but that was because the hospital was near the school. She had to go to hospital at that time.

    • Awwww Novroz thank you!!!!

      Ohhhh nooo, I know it was a long time ago but why did Kame have to go to the hospital?

      Barks and licks and love Dakota, and the wrong avi lol

      • I don’t know what’s the right English for this, Kame’s poop is like liquid,not solid like most poop. She had that kind of poop for a month, I started to get worried and it turned out, she had Coccidia (a kind of stomach and ulcer bacteria). My poor girl had to drink antibiotic for a week and had 3 shots 😦

        Hope you’ll never have to see a vet, dakota

  14. Dakota – We know it’s late, but we also know your human Mom sleeps about two hours a night, so we know she’s still on the “work clock” now and close to the computer!!! Tell her we love her very much and wish her and her sweetie pie hubby a HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! And don’t worrry about the card…. you should see all the crazy stuff our Mom does to us (without our permission) on her blog with clip art and photoshop. It can be quite a bit embarrassing and annoying!

    Love, Zee and Zoey

    • Hi Zee and Zoey! My Mommy actually TURNED OFF the computer last night and read MAGAZINES instead of BLOGS!! She decided to take a break last night and will take one tonight too! My Mom and Cody and I love all of you very much too and we say THANK YOU!!! We love your blog!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • What??? No way!!!! Well, we are very happy to hear that she took a break from blogs to read some magazines!!!!!

        Have a great dog-ur-day!

        Z and Z

    • and mom screwed up so that everything comes up Cody’s Avi….grrrrrrrrrrrrrr……..

  15. Happy Anniversary, Caren and Lenny! Love your blog, Dakota. I also love all the Ginger videos I’ve seen. She’s my favorite doggy actress.

  16. thank you Auntie Debbie!!! You are sooo nice to me! We love Ginger too!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. What a perfect card! Happy Anniversary to your marmie and diddy!!


Leave a Reply

