And Then There Were Four….


When I came to live with my Mom and Dad there was somebody else already living with them. That “somebody” was my now “kitty brother,” Cody.

Cody was adopted on July 28th, 2007, just a couple of weeks after Bobo passed. Mom couldn’t stand living without a cat any longer so she adopted Cody.

Cody

Cody was the King around their house from July until I arrived on the scene in October. Now we share the title. Mom still favors Cody much of the time (I am “too loud” and “in her face” too much) Mom likes the “love ’em and leave ’em” kind, the kind that love ya then SPLIT into another room. That’s just not my style. Dad, on the other paw, thinks the sun and the moon and the stars rotate around my luxurious fur, and THAT is as it should be!

My Daddy And I

Mom worried for weeks about how Cody was going to adjust to having me around (what about how I would adjust to HIM??). Dad happened to find a toy stuffed Sheltie that he bought for Mom and Mom got on the floor with Cody and went through all kinds of crazy gyrations, making the stuffed Sheltie “bark” and jump all around him. Trust me, that thing couldn’t even BEGIN to sound like I do when I am in a barking frenzy!

Mom was still nervous and searched the internet for how to introduce a dog into a house with a cat. She knew about others that would keep the cat and dog separate but she didn’t believe in doing that, she also didn’t think it was necessary. It wasn’t.

can't he stay in there forever?

Mom did a search online and read a tip about spraying herself, the cat and the dog with the SAME perfume. Then you bring the dog home in their crate and let the cat “sniff” around before letting the dog out. That is what Mom did! It worked like a charm! Cody only hissed at me one time (he NEVER has hissed at me again). The rest is history. We are best friends, “buds”, partners in crime and are great company for each other when Mom and Dad aren’t home. We love to chase each other. Cody always seems to win our chasing games. I don’t understand it.

Do you have a cat and dog in your house? Do you get along as well as Cody and I do? I sure hope so! Kitty brothers are the BEST!

Brothers

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/and-then-there-were-four/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Welcome, Dakota! It’s about time Mom let you get at the keyboard … BOL My mom complains about Chester barking a lot, too – hey, we’re dogs, we’re supposed to! I’m just glad to see you on here, you’ve got a friend, bud!

    • Hi CindyLu Thanks so much! Don’t know how much Mom will let me use the computer (she and Cody hog it all the time!!) Yeah! We’re dogs and we DO have to bark! Thanks so much for stopping by and seeing me! Barks and licks, Dakota

  2. Dear Dakota, I think you’re a true gentleman and I’m not a lady because I don’t like cats and I can’t bear to see anyone of them within my sight. It’s why I’m still a little girl so I can chase them away whenever I see them. There is so much fun when you can chase the kitties and bark at them like a cracker dog. I’m good at it!!!
    I think your dad is a wonderful man because he thinks highly of you. I love my dad too, he is like your dad so I’m the princess at home and my mom is my servant. Oops!!! I hope she won’t read this though. Teehee!!!

    • Hi Priscilla,
      Now don’t get me wrong, my Mama LOVES me but she is more like a servant to me too…she loves me..I just make her ears hurt. BOL!! I would love to see a video of you chasing cats! (But we can’t show Cody!!)
      Barks and licks and love! Dakota

  3. So..you came after Cody, lucky you two can get along fine 🙂

    I think it’s a nice arrangement, mom loves Cody more and Dad loves you more. That last picture is so sweet,you should make it bigger

    • well don’t get me wrong, my Mom TOTALLY loves me but she is more of a cat person!
      She tried to make the picture larger but that is as large as it would go 😦 She has it on her other bloggie too.
      Thanks much for the idea!

  4. Hey, Dakota! So glad you’ve got your own blog now. 🙂 The last pic of you and Cody is too cute for words.

    • Hi Julie! Thank you! I am glad too! I am just hoping that Mom and Cody give me some computer time…they hog the computer you know! Thanks about the last picture! xoxo

  5. Congratulations on the new blog. The layout and picture of you is great as are the posts.
    Look forward to visiting you often!

    • Hi Cherie! thanks soooo much!! You are sooo nice! I am quite confused with WordPress…my mom isn’t a big help either BOL! We are trying our best to figure everything out. Thanks for stopping by! xoxo Barks and licks, Dakota

  6. We don’t have a woofer sibling, but our mom keeps telling us that someday…well, we’ll see. Our mom’s dad and step-mom have always had at least one Sheltie and so we know how special Sheltie’s are. We’re so glad to see you have your own blog, but remember, Cats Rule and Dogs Drool (hee-hee!)

    Miss Bella and Sele

    • Hi Miss Bella and Sele! That was so sweet of you to stop by! I think you should have a “woofer” sibling but I think Cody might think otherwise! BOL! Yep your Dad and step-mom must be fabulous people if they always had at least one Sheltie!! Shelties ROCK! But….we are louder than hell! BOL!! I showed Cody what you said about cats and he said that he and my Mom agree with you!!!! xoxo Barks and licks, Dakota


Leave a Reply

