Win A THREE MONTH Supply Of SmartBones!!


You know how they say that “the third time is the charm?” Well, this is the THIRD time that I have featured SmartBones on my blog and I will tell you the reason!  Ever since the first time I tasted them they are my FAVORITE BONES!  I can’t control myself when they are in the same vicinity that I am. When I see a SmartBone I want ONE NOW! Check out the videos below that show me in Sheltie SmartBone Bliss!

Mom loved the “crinkly” packaging sound in the above video! Who cares about the sound? I just care about getting at those SmartBones!

What Are SmartBones?

SmartBones by PetMatrix, are chew treats made with chicken, vegetables and other healthy ingredients. These raw-hide free treats are perfect for the four-t0-five out of 10 consumers who prefer not to feed their doggies rawhide.

Who came up with this genius idea?

Martin Glinsky, Ph.D.,  that’s who!  Dr. Glinsky is considered one of the premier pet nutritionists in the country and is currently the Chief Science Officer at PetMatrix, creators of SmartBones and DreamBone chews.  He received his undergraduate education at Cornell University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois, specializing in Animal Nutrition and Nutritional Biochemistry.

He has lectured extensively around the world on pet nutrition and dietary formulation and started his own pet food manufacturing company in 1980, specializing in holistic and organic pet foods. His expertise in formulating, manufacturing, analyzing and testing of nutritional products for pets is well known and respected.

Dr. Glinsky formulated, engineered and produced the first dry pet foods to incorporate fresh ingredients, the standard of the holistic pet food category today. He has been intimately involved with many of the best-selling holistic foods brands being marketed around the world.

Wanna know more?

SmartBones are 99.2% digestible, which is higher than the digestibility of premium dog foods (85% digestibility).

Chicken, vegetables and other healthy ingredients dogs will love are used in making SmartBones.

   SmartBones are the first treats of their kind to be enhanced with vitamins and minerals.

SmartBones are safer for dogs than regular rawhide treats, which may cause intestinal blockages.

SmartBones are environmentally friendly, whereas a toxic chemical process is needed to create consumable rawhide for treats.

  SmartBones are available in Peanut Butter (which is what I was eating in the video)  and Chicken Flavors.  There is also a Dental variety with additional teeth health benefits. (Mom PAWTICULARLY LOVES THESE!)

Four different sizes of SmartBones are available, based on a dog’s weight:

Small Dog (5-10 lbs) Mini SmartBones
Small – Medium Dogs (11-25 lbs) Small SmartBones
Medium Dogs (26-50 lbs) Medium SmartBones
Large Dogs (over 50 lbs) Large SmartBones

SmartBones are available nationwide and at www.SmartBones.com.

WAIT THERE’S MORE!!

I nearly forgot the GIVE-AWAY!!!

 ONE LUCKY DOG  (U.S. ONLY PLEASE) WILL WIN A  THREE MONTH SUPPLY (that’s SIX BAGS) of SmartBones of their own!

How can you win?

Just complete THESE  EASY  AND MANDATORY STEPS!

1)  Like  my  Facebook Page and give us a BARK OUT! (If you do not have Facebook you MUST state that in your comment)

2) Like SmartBones on Facebook and tell them that Dakota’s Den sent you! (If you do not have Facebook you MUST state that in your comment)

2) Leave a comment telling me and my Mom the WEIGHT of your dog  (so that we know what size bones to send you!!) AND  why YOUR dog is a SMART DOG!!!

IMPAWTANT: IF YOU DO NOT LEAVE A COMMENT ON THE BLOG ANSWERING THE ABOVE QUESTION YOU WILL NOT BE ENTERED.

ENTRIES MUST BE RECEIVED BY MIDNIGHT (EST) JANUARY 30TH, 2012

The WINNER will be announced Wednesday, FEBRUARY 1ST, 2012

So what are you waiting for!?

Start jumping, barking, and if you are a Sheltie (SPINNING!)  and ENTER NOW!

Good luck!!!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

I was not compensated for this review. I was sent  SmartBones  months ago when I did my first review and because I love them so much and the readers were so excited about the contest, SmartBones wanted to do another give-away! I WAS given more SmartBones for me to enjoy and I can’t wait for YOU to enjoy them TOO!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/win-a-three-month-supply-of-smartbones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

53 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Buddy is my grandpuppy! He is over 14 yrs old now and still has his teeth, so he’d love to try your bones-=== and NO rawhide to worry about. Buddy is amazing and such a good boy…loving,playful HBb,and a good companion. He is a rescue dog from the animal shelter to be a brother for my son’s sheltie,Kristi. She went to doggy heaven last year .
    ..Buddy stays dry in the house no matter how long he is alone. His mom and day trained him and Kristi using the crate method; they learned so quickly. Thank goodness, as I hate to think of any animal left like that. Buddy would love to try your bones!

  2. Do they do cat a versions? Purrs. MOL!

  3. Peanut is our new dog and she is almost 6 pounds now! She is 9 weeks old and has already learned to sit and after being with us only 3 nights she finally slept through the whole night in her crate with no accidents or crying. She is a very smart puppy!!

    We would love to let her try the SmartBones. Thanks!!

  4. No one loves dog Smart Bones like Buddy.

  5. I have 2 Jack Russell Terriers, Benny & Sadie. They each weigh about 13lbs. They are Smart Dogs because they love to hunt, play and learn new tricks!

    I liked/left comments on both the Dakota’s Den & Smart Bones pages!

  6. I Like your Facebook Page as Donna D and give you a BARK OUT.
    chocho1957 at hotmail.com

  7. Reba is a Brittany puppy who is teething right now! She is such a smart puppy she has already learned how to stand still to get her nails trimmed and for hair cuts! She also has learned how to walk nicely on a leash and come when she is called!

  8. My little chihuahua is 7lbs and she loves Smartbones!

  9. I Like SmartBones on Facebook and told them that Dakota’s Den sent me
    chocho1957 at hotmail.com

  10. My puppy is Reba she is a 30 lb Brittany puppy (who is teething)! She is a very good girl and has learned to stand still for nail trims, grooming and also walks nicely on a leash around our neighborhood. She would love these bones and she may even share with her friends… but then again she is giving me that look so maybe not! 😉

  11. Well, I am about 8.5 pounds and I definitely would love devouring the small doggie size. Rosie agrees with Milo and Alfie…but she will be happy for little sis if she wins:D Have a great week Dakota. Hope Mommy and Daddy enjoyed the dog show.Hugs, Sue and Rosie.

  12. Simon is around 22 lbs he is the smartest dog ever because he does NOT potty in the house and he NEVER gets in trouble….

  13. Annie is about 60lbs of love 🙂
    She is a smart girl because in her photo she did not know a thing about that sneaker…. and she kept a straight face the entire time….. 🙂

  14. My yellow lab Buster is 65 pounds. He is a sweetheart who loves to cuddle and be close to his mommy at all times. He rarely barks and knows how to get exactly what he wants way too well. He loves to chew but won’t chew or play with anything unless it is treat related and edible, I think that’s pretty smart of him if you ask me! He sends licks to the both of you! 🙂

  15. Hi Dakota, my name is Jill and im a German Shepherd, I weighed 98 lbs last time Mom took me for a checkup.
    My Mom says im a SmartDog because I love to take care of her, im her best friend! She also says im a SmartDog because I always have lots of Kisses & Licks and Love just for her.
    Hey Dakota we just watched your videos, Mom says if we win, she’s going to set them down and let me go through the box just like you did! Woof!
    chocho1957 at hotmail.com

    PS, Mom said she thought she already told you about me & my brother Jack… but she didn’t see and thinks maybe it went away when she hit the follow button it might have not posted,,, if it’s here somewhere and she missed it, please forgive her.. Thanks Jill

  16. Liked their page and told them you sent us 🙂 My dog is a 55 lb valley bulldog…. he would LOVE to try these bones 🙂 🙂

  17. Since I already like ya, I gave a shout out to your Facebook page from This One Wild Life’s FB page.

    And since I already like SmartBones, I told them Dakota’s Den sent me to the contest.

    Both the Newf and hound are over 60 pounds, so they’re asking me to put an order in for LARGE. I’ll be the one to add a “Please” to that order. 🙂

  18. my oscar will be 16 in may and still has a lot of spunk. he is a jack russell terrier and is the best mouser i have ever seen!!!!

  19. Hi Dakota! My name is Sam. You must be incredibly smart if you have your own blog! My mommy won’t let me help on the computer at all, so I just lay my head on the keyboard until she gets up and plays with me! Your lucky your mom let’s you help! I am a 49lbs siberian husky and I would love to try your bones. My mom won’t let me eat anything with rawhide…I get bully sticks to chew on but I would LOVE to find something else I like. 🙂 I hear my mom tell people all the time that I’m a smart dog, her favorite story to tell is that one day my grandma gave me and kodah (that’s my grandmas husky puppy) an ice cube to chew on, kodah chewed on his and went to play with it but my mom had never given me an ice cube before, only in my water dish. So I walked over to my water dish and dropped the ice cube in. I assumed that’s where it belonged because that’s what my mom always does. They all think I’m so smart for that and thought I was “so cute” (gosh they say that all the time!! I bet your humans do too!) I thought it was just common sense but its just one of many reasons my mom says I’m so smart. 🙂

  20. Hello Dakota,

    I found these a few months back for my girls and needless to say they are as excited as you when they arrive. After learning what some other bones can do to a dogs insides, I had to look for an alternative. Bless Dr. Glinsky, I do not worry for my babies anymore when I give these bones to them.

    I already like Smart Bones on Facebook but will state the you sent me.

    If we were to win, I need medium, that is the happy medium for my 5 dogs. They are – Katie 20lbs, Samie, 25lbs, Isabelle 60lbs, Abbie 48lbs, & Dooley 25lbs.

    Have a great and Blessed Day
    Theresa Long
    Easley, SC

  21. My dog Rosie is 70 lbs. She is a smart dog because she is able to find all of her toys by their name. She is the most loving family dog a person could have.

  22. This is truly the best dog bones on the market. Your dogs will thank you.

  23. I just LOVE SmartBones, Guerra (98lb. Pitbull)

  24. Bo, my big, beautiful, black lab girl asked me to enter this contest for her. She’s 70 lbs. and absolutely loves SmartBones! Any variety will do since she’s not picky. She’s smart enough to know what’s good for her. We tried rawhide once and only once – a friend had given it to her – and it upset her tummy so much. Never, ever again!

    Bo will do almost anything for a treat. As soon as we get one out she sits, speaks, and gives her paw and will bow down, lay down, rollover and crawl when asked. Her full name is Bo Jones, but we’ve always called her affectionately Smarty Bones Jones or Smarty Bo for short.

    Bo had a ruff year last year and could use a break. She tore her ACL requiring surgery to repair it and then went through a total of 6 months to get back to where she was pre-surgery since she had complications and had to go to physical therapy, too. What a long haul that was. It broke my heart to see her in pain.

    Thanks so much for the opportunity to enter and hopefully win this contest!

    🙂 Joanne and Bo

  25. Oops, sorry…I meant to comment using my Facebook account but forgot when I posted. Thanks again! 🙂 Joanne and Bo

  26. All 3 of my dogs LOVE smart bones! The peanut butter ones are their favorite! They all want me to send a bark out and let you know their tails are wagging at the thought of 3 months of bones to share! Their average weight is 45lbs! Bark bark!

  27. Took me a while to figure out how to post, but Im here! I’m giving a barkout to Dakota & Dakota’s mom to be entered in the ‘win a three month supply of SmartBones’ . Frankie is a 52lb. German Wirehaired Pointer & since he was a puppy has always had his “Bone-Time” at 8pm every night. It started out as giving me a break when he was a puupy, now its HIS break time (he is now 9 going on 10) Somehow that clock goes off in his head & he knows it’s time. He goes & sits in his place & waits for us to get up & give him his bone! Chewing keeps his teeth healthy and clean and it keeps his mind in good health too!

  28. I have a Medium sized Collie and a Daschund but Medium bones are our size of choice (they keep the fiesty Daschund busy a little longer, while we are out and about)

  29. My 8 month old pup, Maya weighs about 60lbs now. She is so smart! We trained her to ring the bells hanging on the door knob whenever she needs/wants to go outdoors! We’re in an obedience class right now and she is picking up things so quickly! She is Miss personality! When one of my girls are upset or crying she is the first one to go and sit closely with them to comfort them. She is becoming quite the little smarty-girl!

  30. Mmmmm count us in Dakota. Roxy 7lbs Torrey 30 lbs. So the bigger size would be great.

  31. Boots is a big sweetie who is a St Bernard/Border collie mix. He takes his squeaky toys for walks around the house, adores his girl & remembers where he lost his toys! He’s over 50 lbs but does not realize that he’s too big to be a lap dog. He dearly loves to crunch & knaw on his chewies!

  32. Spirit Runner is 19 lbs and a SMART dog because he sits on me to worn me before I have an anxiety attack

  33. warn, that is

  34. Sigyn is a 65 lb, 10yr old jindo who will knock on the door if she wants a treat. She is on the couch when in the house, but when she is out she will let me know it is treat time with a knock on the door. She has me well trained!

  35. Hi, my name is Bella! I am a baby Blue Heeler. I am about 20 lbs at 22 weeks, and my mom says I am a Super Smart Dog, not only because I already know 15 commands and tricks, but because I already LOVE SMART BONES!! Here is a big BARK OUT to Dakota’s Den for showing others what my mommy and I already know about Smart Bones, THEY ARE GREAT for ME!!!

  36. Hey Dakota,

    This is a pawsome competition buddy!! Ok, First off – I’m gonna make sure I answer the question……

    Why am I a smart dog – you mean apart from the fact I’m a Collie? Ok, well, first thing is I spotted that you had this pawsome competition running and second, I’m entering it!! After seeing you enjoying eating those bones it seemed like a super smart thing to do, right?! 🙂

    How much do I weigh – I’m a svelte like 50lbs…… 🙂

    I have a question, how long does it take you to finish one buddy?

    I loved how you got stuck on opening the bag and just moved onto another bag! 🙂

    Yep, very good paw technique – impressive!!

    Have fun and I’ve got my paws crossed for this competition….. ok, off to do the like bit on fb for Smartbones now! 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!! Glad to see that you entered!

      I am going to try and comment on everyone’s comments that they left but so far I don’t have time but I saw your question and I wanted to be sure to answer it!

      It takes me about 15 minutes maybe to eat one? Mom and Dad say it is long enough to stop my barking for a bit! BOL!!

      My Mom laughed when you liked that I moved on to another bag BOL!!!

      Good luck pal! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  37. Hi everyone!!!

    I am going to try and respond to everyone’s comments but I am not sure that I can…so….if I don’t I just wanted to THANK EVERYONE FOR ENTERING and WISH YOU THE BEST OF LUCK IN THE CONTEST!!!

    Barks and licks and love to ALL OF YOU!

    Dakota

  38. My Labrador Retriever Maya is about 65 pounds and my Border Collie mix Pierson is about 50 pounds. Maya can do several tricks which she learned in less than 5 minutes a day for 15 days including “play dead”, “spin”, and “shake” with either left or right paw. Pierson is a smart dog because I have only had him for less than two weeks and he already knows his name, how to walk on a leash, “come”, and “sit”.

  39. Sweetheart is a German Shepherd and about 75 pounds. She is 15 months old. She is a very Smart dog because she knows what to do to get my daughter going. She loves to steal her stuffed animals…LOL She comes out wagging her tail and so happy. Best part is she only does it when my daughter is home…LOL

  40. Dakota your first video made me LOL, for reals. I can tell you love smart bones.. I don’t even think any of my pups love any treat or food quite as much. I like your Facebook page and Smart Bone’s Facebook page, I gave you a bark out and I let Smart Bones know that you sent me. Midget is 25 pounds, Zora is 60 pounds, and Jack is 90 pounds. If we win, please send us the large! I don’t want Midget to not finish her bone and then Zora or Jack choke on her left overs. She’s got a tough enough mouth to handle any bone, anyways! Jack is smart because he knows when we are talking about him(even if we only say “he” and “him” he looks at us wagging his tail!). Zora is smart because she knows to only be naughty when we aren’t around. Midget is smart because she knows to burrow under the covers every time we get into bed, to avoid that cold Indiana weather.

  41. Buffy is a 10 lb. poodle who is more like a child to us as we are senior citizens. She loves to be a lap dog especially if you have a blanket. She loves Smart Bones and I got them because she is getting older (8 yr)and I wanted a bone that was healthy and easier to chew. She loves them especially the peanut butter. Dad and I would be lost without her.

  42. Sounds like a great treat for your dog!

  43. I love my dog!! He is my friend, my therapist and cuddle buddy!! He’s a mixture of poodle, pug, lhaso apso(sp?) and pekingnese!! He’s about 20 pounds of pure love and joy!!

  44. I like you on facebook and gave a Bark Out from my dog Murphy!

  45. I like Smart Bones on Facebook and let them know you sent us over

  46. Murphy is 65 pounds! I recently adopted him from our local rescue group. He had been looking for a new forever home for over 4 months. He is a smart dog cause all it took was one look from him and those sad puppy dog eyes in the kennel…and I fell in love with him! He knew what he had to do! haha…yep…it was love at first sight and we could not be happier! He hogs the whole bed at night…but thats okay…he deserves it! I really think he would love these smart bones

  47. I have a Sheltie mix who is a rescue I found on PetFinder. I posted a a pic of him enjoying his DreamBones on their FB page. These are the best! My vet said not to give small dogs rawhide bones because they get stuck in their stomachs & she has had to many surgeries on them. I felt bad not having any alternative for my baby until I discovered the DreamBones & SmartBones! We are definitely fans! Laddie would love more to chew on! They help to calm him down when he is anxious. Thanks!

    • PS – Laddie would like the small size if he wins!

  48. Steel is a smart dog because amoung other things, when she’s hungry she will throw out all of her tricks and then stare you down until you acknowledge she exists, then she’ll do them again. She’s a 58# lab that would like to again thank you and Smart Bones for the great giveaway.

  49. Molimo is a smart dog because she is being very patient while I sign her 73# up to wins some great bones!

  50. My dogs are super smart because they know if they can wait for their turn, the reward will be worth it. They are LARGE dogs.


Leave a comment