Michigan Winter Dog Classic Thursday, January 17 through Sunday, January 20th


Hi everyone it’s Dakota! I cannot believe an entire year has passed and this weekend it is time again for the:

Michigan dog classic

Michigan’s largest Dog Show – the family friendly 2013 Michigan Winter Dog Classic –  Hosted by the Oakland County Kennel Club and Livonia Kennel Club, dog lovers can enjoy the four-day event packed with can’t-miss exhibits, entertainment, educational seminars and the newest feature, “My Dog Can Do That.” The 2013 Michigan Winter Dog Classic returns to the Suburban Collection Showplace in Novi, Michigan January 17-20, 2013.

The Michigan Winter Dog Classic showcases more than 7,000 dogs, 160+ breeds of “man’s best friends” throughout the course of the event, including several breeds getting ready for the country’s premier Westminster Kennel Club Dog show in February 2013. Dogs will be judged in accordance with the American Kennel Club.

New Feature – “My Dog Can Do That” – Can Have Your Dog Be Part of the Action At This Year’s Event

For the first time in the history of the Michigan Winter Dog Classic, the annual event will feature the AKC’s attraction, My Dog Can Do That!  This unique attraction allows owners to bring their dogs and let them try some of the fun competitive events   (Saturday, January 19  &  Sunday, January 20)  from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. It is FREE to take part in My Dog Can Do That! Participating dogs must be at least 6 months old and have proof of rabies vaccination. No pre-registration is required for My Dog Can Do That!

During My Dog Can Do That!, professional trainers will show owners how to get their dog started in the exciting sport of agility, which is an obstacle course for dogs. They will help owners try beginning agility equipment with their dog – plus give them some helpful obedience tips. They will also have information on where to find professional dog training classes in the local communities.

In addition to trying agility with your dog, you can test your dogs’ manners and basic obedience at the AKC Canine Good Citizen tests from noon to 3 p.m. Saturday and 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Sunday. For more information on My Dog Can Do That! and the AKC Canine Partners program, access www.akc.org/mixedbreeds, email  akccaninepartners@akc.org or call 919-816-3749.

Some other “can’t-miss” attractions the entire family will enjoy are:

  • educational demonstrations
  • obedience & conformation judging
  • breed seminars
  • Access to many of the 160+ breeds recognized by the American Kennel Club, the Oakland County Kennel Club and the Livonia Kennel Club and sanctioned by the American Kennel Club
Photo Courtesy of IMJ Communications, LLC

Photo Courtesy of IMJ Communications, LLC

The  2013 Michigan Winter Dog Classic is scheduled to run from:

  • 10 a.m.-6 p.m. ~Thursday, January 17
  • 9 a.m.-6 p.m. ~ Friday, January 18, Saturday, January 19th and Sunday, January 20th.
  • Admission for the 2013 Michigan Winter Dog Classic  is $10/adult, $8/children ages 7-12 and seniors, and FREE for children 6 and under. A family admission plan ($35) is also available and includes admission for two adults and three children. Group discounts are also available for a school group, scouts, senior citizen club, or ANY group of 12 or more.  For more information on this year’s event, visit www.themichiganwinterdogclassic.com

Last year Mom was lucky and was able to go, this year she isn’t sure if she will  be able to attend.  Mom enjoyed herself immensely and bought some really cool things there! Here are some photos  that Mom took from her visit last year!

A Sheltie being groomed!

A Sheltie being groomed!

A parade of Sheepdogs!

A parade of Sheepdogs!

I am upset because Mom is telling me she thinks that we can’t make it. I wanted to try my paw at agility!!  For those who CAN make it, this is gonna be a barking GOOD TIME!

Barks and licks and love, 

Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/michigan-winter-dog-classic-thursday-january-17-through-sunday-january-20th/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

31 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wish we lived near by, that would be such fun 🙂 Have a great Monday xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. Nothing like a big building filled with dogs and their crazy people! I love to go to such events simply to see all the people who look EXACTLY like their dog.

    • You are so right! It is LENNY (my husband) that looks like Dakota! Love, “Mom”

  3. Sounds like fun but it is a bit too far to travel for us.

  4. The dog show looks really interesting and I like the sheltie in the picture. I’m not sure whether I like agility or not but I don’t think I like the dog walk and the A frame though. They look too scary for a dainty girl like moi!!!

    Love,
    Eva

    • Eva all I can say about that comment is that you are just ADORABLE!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. That looks like it will be fascinating! I would love to attend, but I have a feeling I won’t get to go, either. I hope things work out and YOU get to go! It would be great to hear about it from your POV!

    Bunny

    • Hi Bunny! Nope, won’t be able to go because I like to buy things at these events and am broke right now. Maybe next year! Love, “Mom”

    • forgot to say…I went last year and blogged about it (it is in my archives)……but last year you couldn’t bring your dogs. Love, “Mom”

  6. Oh I wish I could be there. I’m always impressed about the dog shows in the us, or in uk, which great events the have. I’ll bet I could be the winner at “my dog can do that” ;o) btw: why ” man’s best friends” ? what’s with ” mom’s best friends”? I’ll bet you would win the agility competition ;o)

  7. We hope you get to go. Dad keeps getting us to try agility at our summer charity walk when they have a ring set up. So far we haven’t taken to it yet, but he still hopes.

    Keep working on Mom, hopefully her schedule will open up.

    • Hi Bailey! Mom can’t go…$$$ she says she can’t go without buying anything and she is broke. It’s ok! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Sounds like such a fun event – wish we could go!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  9. That looks like a great way to spend a day. I hope you guys get to go this year.

  10. I think they should take you so that you can try the agility, Dakota! My bipeds say it’s too far away for us.

  11. Dakota, MAKES them takes yous!!!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  12. Sure sounds fun
    Benny & Lily

  13. Looks like it should be a blast! The energy, activity and atmosphere at a dog show are one-of-a-kind. It’s also fun to get to see so many great dogs at once.

    • Hi Will and Eko, it was a blast when we went last year. This year should be even better since people can bring their dogs. It is fun! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  14. That looks fun. Dexter is a CGC and we passed at an expo.

    • Yay for Dexter!!!!!!!!!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  15. It sure sounds like a good time Dakota!! Delilah loves agility, we are also schedule for her to try her paws at Rally, Nosework and Freestyle. It’s very exciting. I do hope you get the opportunity to go, but if not there are lots of websites that show you how to use items in your own home to work agility. Maybe mom could research that?

    • thanks so much Jodi! We won’t be going but that’s ok. About the researching the items, we live on the 2nd floor of an apartment/condo building so I doubt that that will be happening but thanks! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. Hope you get to go, Dakota. Agility is so much fun, Beckett loves it and Keltic, though he’s just learning, likes the dog walk already.

    • Hi Helen! Not looking like we will be able to, but one day hopefully I can try my paw at agility. Wish I lived near Beckett and Keltic to try it out with them! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Aww man! I wish I wish I wish I lived in Michigan…just to watch, -and this is Leah talking, lol. I bet Kirby would just wanna run in the show and get in there as best as he can. This sounds like such a amazing fun time for your dog and you! If you guys do end up going, take pictures.

  18. Wow! That looks like so much fun! We wish there was something like that here in Oklahoma:( Wish you and your mom could go but I’m sure your mom has a good reason for not being able to take you!

  19. Boy does that sound like a fun time! Love that picture of the Sheltie. What a fluff ball! Sorry you can’t make it Dakota, but maybe next time. 🙂

  20. You can tell that’s going to be a great event, just by the lovely mallie on the poster 😀

    • absolutely! (wink) Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Wow!! I wish I didn’t live in Italy anymore! You guys have so much cool stuff going on in the States! It is a dog lovers paradise! Dakota is beautiful! This afternoon when I get back from Joker’s walk/training session I will add you guy’s on my Joker’s facebook!


Leave a Reply

