“The Eyes Are The Windows To The Soul” Part II: My Unsolved Mystery


Hi Everyone!!

Today I am participating in the:

Visit Zoolatry for more Unsolved Mysteries!

Many of you who will read this are regular followers of my blog, but because I am participating with A LOT of kitties, some of you don’t know me! Perish the thought!

For those who don’t, I am Dakota,  the brother of Cody from Cat Chat.  Mom wanted to take part with everyone else who is going to share their “Unsolved Mysteries” today, (the brain child of Zoolatry), but the biggest “mystery” in Cody’s world was about a month ago when he wouldn’t poop, and THAT, thankfully was solved!

My “mystery” hasn’t been solved!

Can YOU help?

Here’s the scoop:  ooops….living with  Cody a little cat jargon snuck in,  I said “scoop” get it? BOL!  But I digress, back  in November Mom wrote about a problem I was having with my eyes. For those of you who didn’t see the post you can read about it here. To put it in a nutshell,  I couldn’t open my eye  for a few hours and I appeared to be in discomfort.  It was a Sunday and Mom and Dad rushed me to the emergency vet (after having called another emergency vet first who put the fear of God in Mom, telling her if she didn’t get me in to see someone within two hours I could LOSE MY EYE!)

Since  our regular vet is closed on Sundays Mom and Dad took me to a different emergency vet that is closer to my home.  They did a bunch of tests and they said I was a super good boy, what else would they expect? Geeze, and they sent us home with eye drops.

The eye drops did help my eye and I was able to open it right up!

The next morning Mom and Dad took me to my regular vet, (“Dr.Smiley”),  and he gave me a thorough check-up.

"This table doesn't seem to be too high, maybe I should jump?"

"Look into my eyes!"

 

"I love you too "Dr.Smiley", wanna nice big, treat-scented kiss?"

 

The  check-up went well,thankfully, but nobody seems to know why I couldn’t open my eye for HOURS!? This remains to date my “unsolved” mystery. Have any of you had a similar experience?  If you have, please  tell us in the comments below, Mom loves to find new things that she can worry about.

 

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/the-eyes-are-the-windows-to-the-soul-part-ii-my-unsolved-mystery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh dear, what a scare! I can’t imagine what it must have been like for you not being able to open your eye for hours. You were such a brave pupster sitting on the vet’s table while being examined. I’m glad those eye drops worked their magic. Hopefully your beautiful peepers will stay big and bright from now on for everybody to admire!

    • Hi Happy Bark Days! It WAS soooo scary!! “Brave Pupster” and “beautiful peepers” My Mom and I love that!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  2. Oh Dakota!!! Me and Charlie are so glad your eye is ok now! How frightening for you all!! It truly is a mystery !! We hope it never happens again though!! Yay for lovely vets like your Dr Smiley!! Take care
    x

    • Hi Old Kitty and Charlie! Mom and I are happy my eye is ok too!

      We were all quite scared! Mom handled it waaaay worse than I did!

      Ohhhh yessssssssssss Dr.Smiley is the BEST vet EVER!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. I’ve never heard of such a thing….although, my own eyes swell shut if I take an aspirin or ibuprofen.

    Perhaps it was some sort of allergic reaction to something?

    • Hi Sara, I had never heard of anything like that either, but the vet did tell me that Shelties are prone to eye problems (similar to Collies)…I forget the ridiculously long medical term that he used.

      He had said to keep an “eye” on it (no pun intended) and thankfully Dakota hasn’t had problems since.

      I am wondering if you are right about an allergic reaction, could be.

      Love, “Mom”

  4. OOOH that is scary…so glad it mysteriously went away too!! I sure hope it never happens again because you have beeeutiful shoe button eyes Dakota!! If I ever can solve this mystery you will be the first to know…right after Mom solves where the envelope with the 100 dollars she lost about 4 years ago went…and the Buick keys…:D Stay safe and warm…EYES WIDE OPEN!XOXO Rosie

    • Hi Rosie! I know! It was super scary and Mom was just FRANTIC!

      “Shoe Button” eyes….OMG Mom just read that and LOVES THAT!! We have to try and remember that one!

      Your Mom lost $100???? OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      You stay safe and warm too! Mom and Dad are going to the dog show today!!! WOOF!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Good grief, so glad you are OK. Torrey and I are glad you recovered and it turned out OK. A mystery indeed. Hmmmm

    • Hi mary and roxy! Thank you! Mom and I are happy too! Wish we knew what it was!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. Jeepers Peepers! We wanted to write a pun for the sentence with
    “for those of you who didn’t SEE the post” … but mysteriously, the ZH could think of nothing clever to say. Whatever! So happy to know that those “shoe button” (yes, that’s adorable) eyes are A-OK now.
    Hugs ‘n’ purrs,
    Maggy and Zoey and the not-so-clever Ann
    PS Dakota this is our first visit to YOUR blog; it’s lovely, woo woo!

    • Hi Guys!!!

      So glad you stopped by and thanks so much for this FUN blogging event! I was so happy that my brother Cody had nothing going on for once so that he couldn’t monopolize my time!

      Loved how you were going to joke about not being able to “see” the post BOL!!

      Thanks about being happy about my eyes!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Maggy and Zoey and please come back again!!! Oh an Ann too!! Mom sends her love as well!

  7. Milo didn’t open his eyes for a whole afternoon once. Mom panicked and rushed him to the vets. Turned out he’d been stung near his eye and is was swollen. Wiv a lot of kissess and some drops, it was better in no time at all.

    • Hi Milo and Alfie!!

      OMG Milo you poor thing! That is like what happened to me! I couldn’t open my eye (mine was one eye) for a whole afternoon! Wonder if I was stung by something? Hmmm…I don’t think so cause my eye wasn’t swollen.
      I am so sorry that that happened to you but I am happy that the kisses and drops made it all better!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Oh, since we’ve never encountered that we can’t help your mom worry. We’re so glad whatever it was is gone. That would have been very scary!

    • Hi Jan!! Thanks for caring though!! We are glad too!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  9. Maybe there was something in your eye, or maybe a spider or some kind of bug bit you. I am gonna assume the eye drops they gave you contained corticosteroids, and those two scenarios seem most likely if the drops helped!

    • Hi Cynthia!
      It didn’t quite look like something bit me but you never know!
      We have the drops in another room….not sure what they were but I think you are right!
      You are one smart COOKIE!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Hey Dakota,

    Were you pretending to be a pirate and wanted a patch? Tee Hee

    Or, I have another thought – do you get yummy treats at the vets and you needed some more? Just wondering – Tee Hee

    Glad you got better dude,

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Good one Snoopy!!! BOL! You saw my photo months ago with the pirate hat lol…I had ENOUGH of being a Pirate back then!

      Shhhhh…don’t tell about the treats at the vet! That’s my secret! BOL!

      Hope you are having a fun weekend. It is finally SNOWING HERE!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Oh! Wow! That would be scary! I hate it when Mommy or Daddy wraps me in a towel!
    I hope it was “just one of those things”
    Queen Penelope’s Hairy Slobbery Sister Cinnamon

    • Hi Cinnamon!
      It WAS scary! More for Mom than for me! I’m brave!

      I am so glad you could visit!

      Hope you are keeping warm!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. aw…poor Dakota. I hope you’re feeling much better now. Sorry, I couldnt give you any solution because I never have dogs.

    • Hi Novroz! That’s ok, it was nice of you just to leave a comment and nice of you that you read my blog!

      I am feeling better! Hope you had a great weekend!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a comment