Infographic:10 Common and Expensive Dog and Cat Injuries and Illnesses


Click the image to see the larger version!
10 Expensive (and common) Illnesses/Accidents in Household Pets
Infographic created by Trupanion.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/infographic10-common-and-expensive-dog-and-cat-injuries-and-illnesses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. #11 – I’m going to give myself an ulcer thinking about all this! It’s not just the price tag, it’s that most of these you can’t prevent.

  2. Yikes! Although, you can’t put a price on your dog’s health. So, its a good idea to keep some money in the bank – just in case.

  3. Great infographic. sharing.

  4. Yikes, scary! I am glad we have some dog health insurance just in case!

  5. I like infographic; it’s interesting and so easy to read.

    Liver failure is one big killer and Hana was hit by it 😦

  6. Hmmm that must be some expensive vets. I just had two teeth out because they were cracked and it only cost us $420…and we go to the most expensive vet in our city!

  7. I hope we will find a better insurance (we have a bad one). The bloat is the greatest nightmare of my mom and “foreign object removal” happened three times to me… but as said by Eko , some things we can prevent – sadly not this darned cancer. Thanks for this great information Dakota&Mom.

  8. Holy cow!! I better stay safe so mom doesn’t have to worry.

  9. Oh goodness, I hadn’t even thought of some of these!! Do they have an info graphic for the cost of worry? LOL

  10. It figures we’d be above average. We certainly paid more than $3000 for Honey’s squeaky-toy-ectomy.

    However, I feel very lucky that we’ve faced relatively few of these problems over the years.

  11. That’s great information! I can’t remember what we paid, all told, for my cat’s bowel obstruction, but my husband complains about it still, and it was nearly fifteen years ago!

  12. I have had dental surgery, but fortunately haven’t had to face any of the other things.

    Your pal, Pip

  13. I had a puppy years ago that got parvo. It didn’t cost that much, though, and she pulled through. Seizures is the only other one on that list that I’ve had a dog deal with and thankfully it hasn’t cost much. Pierson’s had two small seizures in the past 5 months so the vet does not feel an MRI or medication is necessary at this time.

  14. Mine had the foreign object removal as a puppy. Ugh!

  15. Bloat…been there. $4,200. ugg But I still have my dog so worth it.

  16. My Mum’s really glad I’ve got Trupanion insurance, cos I’ve got #3 and it looks expensive if I have to have surgery!

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  17. This is why I promised myself any future dogs will get pet insurance. We’ve had so many things go wrong (including the good ‘ole ACL tear) that I just want the peace of mind that we are covered. I’d get it now, but pretty much everything my dogs have would now be considered “pre-existing”.

  18. the infographic looks cute but the illness and the money are sure not cute


Leave a comment