It’s National Pet Month in the U.S.!


National Pet Month is a celebration of the benefits that pets bring to our lives and vice versa! In the UK it is celebrated in April, in the U.S. it is celebrated in May.

caren and the boys!!

National Pet Month’s aims are to:

Promote the benefits of pet ownership

Support Pet Adoption

You can do this by visiting websites such as Petfinder,  where you can find over 300,000 adoptable pets from over 13,000 adoption groups!

Make people aware of the benefits of pets for people and people for pets!

When you own a pet they can help ease depression and  lower blood pressure! To see more ways owning a pet can help you, watch the slideshow here

National Pet Month also hopes to:

Increase public awareness of services available from professionals who work with animals

Raise awareness of the role, value and contribution to society of working companion animals.

Fairfax Pets On Wheels connects pets with people living in nursing homes and assisted living facilities. (The Sheltie in the video looks like Dakota, but it isn’t him!)

More information: http://www.fpow.org/

My life would not be complete without the love of my pets

 and I am sure that you feel the same!

 

DAKOTA’S DAD UPDATE: Thank you to those who emailed and/or left comments  offering support and good wishes. Dakota’s Dad is doing well!  Thank you so much for the power of positive thinking! Dakota and I love you all!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/its-national-pet-month-in-the-u-s/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

47 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’d be lost with out my furry babies, hope Daddy is on the mend 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • thanks Mollie and Alfie! He is but Mom isn’t….we keep waking her up at 5am to feed us BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. I don’t think we have this in Malaysia :((

    Love,
    Eva

  3. oooh how exciting…how do we celebrate? lots of kisses and hugs to our dogs? 🙂

    • lol! I told you in the post how to celebrate Silly!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • duh! you did too. I wish I could go to the shelter right now and adopt another dog ; since I can’t, I’ll spread the word 🙂

      • LOL!! It’s ok! It’s early! I’m still adjusting to being woken up at 5am since husband can’t feed the boys! I am NOT loving this! Love, Mom

  4. Life would not be complete without my furry family members! Sharing.

    • sooo true and thank you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  5. Every month is pet month in this house! Spoiled rotten dogs live here. Couldn’t be without them. They maintain what little sense of insanity of have left.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more! I feel EXACTLY the same! Love, Mom

  6. Pets on Wheels sounds like a great organization. 🙂

  7. So happy to hear your dad is doing well, thank you for updating! If last month was pet month in the UK and this month in the US, maybe it is in a different place every month of the year!

    • BOL!!! Good one but no, don’t think so! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. No surprise…lit’s always Pet Month here and probably at many homes…Could not live without them!

  9. Sadly we haven’t such an event here, I think we have basically no events for animals… but a lot of boozy events…how sad. I’m glad your dad is doing well, please give him a hug from me :o)

    • A “boozy” event sounds pretty good about now (lol!!!) Thanks so much and I sure will give him a hug from you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  10. Woof! Woof! PAWsome. It should be celebrated everyday. Happy Wednesday. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • We soooooooooo agree!! Happy Wednesday to you too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  11. Every month is pet month. 🙂 Yes, my life wouldn’t be complete without my pets either.

  12. It’s a good month!!
    Benny & Lily

  13. Hi Dakota i’m glad your Dad’s feeling better, every month is pet month here.

    Sheba.

    • Thank you Sheba! You mean EVERY DAY BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. Of for sure, our lives would not be complete without our pet either! what’s that saying… Pets aren’t our whole lives, but they make our lives whole!

    • So funny – I think you just left a comment on my blog at the exact same time I was here leaving this comment. Great minds!!

      • Ha!!!!!!!!!!!! “Great minds” is right!!!!! Love, “Mom”

    • Amen!!! xoxoxo

  15. Glad to hear your pops is getting back in fighting shape! Great start to a great month.

    • thanks so much Will and Eko! He had his bandages removed today and the stitches will come out next week! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. Glad to hear dad person is better.

  17. A whole month for helping pets?! This is great!

    And I am oh so glad Dakota’s dad is doing well 🙂

  18. Great post! Everyday is pet day over here in Max-land! 🙂 Soooo happy to get the Dad update and that he’s doing well!! Major relief!!! Bet Dakota and Cody are happy too!!! Happy almost weekend!!!

  19. Glad to hear your dad is doing okay! Happy May Day!

    • thank you!! Happy “Day After May Day” to you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  20. Pets are the best. I don’t know what my life wouldbe like without them. Not as fun I don’t think.

  21. Everyday should be national pet month, right? Check out my blog in a bit to find somethign sweet I left you there my friend 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

    • You are soooooooooooo right!!!! I was at your blog and left 2 comments, THANK YOU THANK YOU for thinking of me!! I sooooooooo appreciate it!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  22. Hmmm, what month do dogs who own people celebrate? 🙂

    Glad to hear that Dakota’s dad is on the mend! We’ll continue to flood the universe with positive energy for your family.

    • we celebrate EVERY DAY!!! Thanks soooooooo much for “flooding the universe!” Love, “Mom”

  23. So glad to hear your dad is doing well xxx

  24. First – thanks for giving us a positive update on your dad! Second – I had no idea it was “National Pet Month” here, so thanks for cluing me in! LOL!

    • you are welcome and thanks so much for caring! (about my Dad) Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  25. Hey Dakota,

    Glad to hear your Dad is doing well!

    You’re doing a great job in spreading the word about the joy of animals in your life and I’m sure you’re really helping your Dad to get better!

    Keep up the wonderful work buddy,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!! Thanks so much! I am hoping you are feeling better my furiend!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  26. Glad dad is doing okay!! I love that it is national pet month and we have a new blog hop that helps promote pets. They do make such amazing changes in our lives, don’t they?

    • they sure do! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  27. Glad your Dad is getting better. I sure did think that dog in the video was Dakota. I did not know there was a national pet month. Something to blog about. Thanks


Leave a Reply

