Follow that DOG! (or CAT!)


Hi everyone it’s Dakota (and my brother Cody too!)

We LOVE  to follow blogs, it brightens our day! We love reading about your lives and  learning more about you, (it’s kinda like sniffin’ a butt to get to know another doggy, if ya get my drift), that’s why we follow 100s of them, but there are some that we can’t follow because we don’t follow RSS feeds and we don’t use a blog reader.

We mentioned this to one of the Queens of the Blog-o-sphere (Ann Adamus of the adorable blog Zoolatry ) and she helped us out by creating these great graphics for us to use to make our point! (She’s super nice AND talented like that!)

So here you go!

Graphic made by Ann Adamus of Zoolatry, visit her by clicking the photo

Graphic made by Ann Adamus of Zoolatry, visit her by clicking the photo

follow by email 2See how easy that was?

Now….get crackin’!! I got my nose all ready to FOLLOW YOU!!!

Barks and licks and love, 

Dakota (and Cody too!)

You can chat with Cody on his blog  here 

 

 

 
 
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/follow-that-dog-or-cat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

58 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We have the “follow by email” button! We would love to have you join the fun! Here’s a link to today’s post. Tail wags!! http://barksandblooms1.blogspot.com/2013/04/two-cats-one-pug-funny-friday.html

    • Hi Guys!! Thanks so much!!! Mom and I just signed up to follow your blog and am hoping you will follow Cody and I too!!!!!!!!!! Have a great day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. you don’t have a blog reader? Gosh we would be lost without ours it lets us follow blogger, wordpress and domain names too…. you might want to check out feedly or bloglovin…it is so much easier than filling your inbox with emails.

    • Not only do I not have one, I don’t want one. I find it to be awful because I follow 100s of blogs. Don’t have 3 hr blocks of time to devote to blog reading 🙂 By having them arrive via email, I read them in between doing other things. Love, Mom

  3. Dakota I hope your mama is feeling better! I already have the “follow by email” but I’m sure many a newer blogger is going to be grateful for the instructions. All these little things are so easy once you know how but at first – whew!

  4. I’m always your follower, Dakota! 🙂

    Love,
    Eva

    • And I would follow YOU to the ends of the earth! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. I like to follow with RSS feeds and sometimes I can’t find those on blogs I want to follow either! It’s easier to add those blogs to a reader though. Great advice Dakota!

    • RSS is a major pain when you follow 100s of blogs like we do! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  6. I like to have the emails – I can filter and organise them as I please. There’s just too much to cope with in a reader, our internet connection isn’t fast enough for them to be usable.
    I have the email option in the sidebar on my home page and, because the sidebar vanishes on my blog when you go into an individual post, I have the email option at the bottom as well.

    • Clowie you are just like my Mom, Cody and I. That is why we LOVE following by email. Readers take up HOURS AND HOURS of time when you follow 100s of blogs and we just don’t have time for that. Following by email gives us more control over what we can and want to read and WHEN we want to read it ! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  7. That’s great guys, so many haven’t follow buttons and it’s hard finding them again 🙂 xx00xx Hope Mom is feeling better x

    Mollie and Alfie

    • thanks Mollie and Alfie! We agree!! Mom is still feeling pretty yucky but thanks! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  8. We too follow by email! And were thinking exactly the same!
    Purrs

    • Yay!! Great minds! 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  9. Whew! Me was wondering ho to bring this up and yous did! Now me don’t has too.
    Dakota, Cody and Caren ROCKS (oh yes, Ann too! Me LOVES the graphics)

    • Feel free to Nellie……we cannot get Hannah and Lucy to add follow by email or Old Kitty…..I don’t get it. Love, “Mom”

  10. Thanks guys, we feel better now as we only like to follow by email as well 🙂 Mom thought maybe we were the only ones but I guess not…a northern thing maybe???

    • I don’t know Emma. There are A LOT of northerners still using the readers. I think they are a total hassle! Love, “Mom”

  11. It’s amazing to me how many blogs keep it a secret on how to follow them. There are several times I can’t find anyway to follow them. Their loss.

    • Roxy I know. There are a few cat bloggers that I have repeatedly asked to please put “follow by email” on their blogs. One totally misunderstood and said “I AM FOLLOWING YOU”….that isn’t what I wanted. I want to FOLLOW HER lol. She still doesn’t get it. On second thought, maybe they don’t want me reading their blog? lol. Love, “Mom”

  12. Good advice. 🙂

  13. Hm, I don’t have a blog reader or follow by email, which is probably why it’s tough to catch up with everyone. I may have to try this out, thanks!

    • Hi Will…I follow YOU by email! And I look forward to reading your blog every day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  14. I have the follow by e-mail on my blog, but personally find it easier in the reader, only because I already get so many other e-mails. Sometimes I fall behind in my reading and I find it much easier to just scroll through the reader.

  15. Yay!!! I’ve been wondering how to add that. I have wordpress and you would actually find the Follow Blog under Widgets, not layout. Widgets can be found under the Appearance tab. Thanks Dakota! I now have a follow by email option. I, too, prefer to follow blogs by email.

    • Hi Dawn! Actually Ann made the “how to” for me and yep it is for Blogger and I thought about that when I posted this but I THANK YOU for telling people how and where to go to do it for WordPress. So glad that you like it too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  16. Remember how it took me most of a day to figure out that “Follow By Email” thing and get it working right? But i was so grateful to you for bringing it to my attention and working with me to make sure I got it right…Hope you’re feeling better today

    • Gizmo you are so sweet!!! Thank you! I am so glad that you like it and I know there are MANY, like ME, who appreciate that you have it! Love, “Mom”

  17. Oh boy what a nice helpful post to let everyone know,why they might not be getting a response from you, and how to get one 🙂 I run into this problem aswell once in a while so think this is great. I agree with you about blog feeds, we have one, but honestly it is too much work to keep up with,wish wordpress just let you follow any blog

    • Thanks so much Kirby!! Everybody has their own preference but for Mom and I following by email is just soooooooo much easier!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  18. We’re big fans of Mail Chimp, which we learned about last year at BlogPaws. It took us a little while to figure out and set up the way we wanted, but we are so happy with the results! Plus, it lets us reach out to our fans on certain rare occasions!

    Bunny

  19. I follow everyone by email too:-) I hope some of those that I follow and don’t have the email option, read your post and add it!

    • Misaki I sure hope so too!!! Love, “Mom”

  20. We’ve got the follow by email on our blog too! and we follow you by email!

    • Yep I know you do 🙂 To be honest? The cat people are the biggest offenders 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  21. Hey Dakota!! Thanks for adding your link to the FUF blog hop. Welcome, welcome!!

    • Oh POOP!! I did it again!!! BOL BOL BOL!!!! Blame it on Mom’s meds!!!!! She isn’t thinking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG!

  22. I am getting your blog in my email so it works! I just wish there was a way for me to know who I all follow by email! Not sure if you are following Dolly or not.
    dollythedoxie.blogspot.com

    • Dolly yes I am……when you see me leave comments you know that I am following you 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  23. Wow Dakota! You are so helpful! Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks!! You too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  24. Hey, does mine work? You know how clueless I am and I use blogspot or blogger so who knows?!

    • yep it sure does!That is how I follow you 🙂 Love, “Mom”

      • Thanks for taking the time to answer me about this because there is sooo much to learn! I really appreciate you!

      • you never have to thank me!!! mom and I appreciate YOU! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  25. Mom just double checked…we have an e-mail follower on our blog *PHEW* – thanks for the tip though !!

    We still haven’t received your Occupy Couch photos ;( Please could you resend them? Our e-mail addy is: scottie(dot)chronicles(at)gmail(dot)com

    have a grrrrrreat weekend you two!!

    Wally & Sammy

    • I sent two separate emails……did you check your spam? Let me know 🙂

      • We got them – thanks Dakota & Cody!! You were right, they were being held hostage in the Spam box!

  26. A lot of my family members read my blog via email. It’s a great way to stay in touch!

    I’m hooked on feedly reader.

  27. I do have the follow by email thing on my blog… but I’m not going to follow that way myself. My inbox is overflowing without receiving blog post by email. Sorry! But, heck, you know I read (and share) both your blogs! 🙂

    • not talking about following ME…….that is where some are becoming confused. I am directing this at those that I WANT TO FOLLOW…..that do NOT have the follow by email option on THEIR blogs…….if they don’t, I don’t follow 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  28. Great post Dakota! It’s good to have multiple options for people to follow blogs. I don’t use RSS or Email, I go to my blogroll and then click on the blogs I want to check out. 🙂

  29. Following by e-mail is my favourite option too! It also allows me to go back and filter/search my e-mails.

  30. Why dont you use RSS feed? I am using it and loving it better than wordpress follow thingy.
    It’s quite hard keeping up with so many blogs….you are awesome to have managed to follow 100

    • because I hate RSS feeds 🙂 I follow well OVER 100 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  31. Thanks for the suggestion! I already follow your blog, and I have an email sign-up on mine, http://www.thepetblog.net.

    • you are welcome and thank you!!! I am following you too!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

