Thankful for the #ASPCA and their Campaign for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Month


From the ASPCA: “April is Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Month, and each year, the ASPCA urges supporters across the country to support our efforts and Go Orange for Animals in honor of the signing of the ASPCA’s charter in 1866”

How can YOU become involved?

Here are some suggestions from the ASPCA:

Get to know and look out for the animals in your neighborhood. By being aware, you’re more likely to notice, for example, that the dog next door who was once hefty has lost weight rapidly—a possible indicator of abuse.
Make the call. Without phone calls from concerned citizens who report cruelty in their neighborhoods, we wouldn’t know about most instances of animal abuse. It all comes from the public, it all starts with YOU—that’s why it’s so important to keep your eyes and ears open.

Provide as much as information as possible when reporting animal cruelty. The details that you provide can go a long way toward assisting an investigating officer. It helps to write down the type of cruelty you witnessed, who was involved, the date of the incident and where it took place.

Support your local shelter or animal rescue organization. It’s a great way to make a difference. Some of our ASPCA volunteers foster animals who have been abused in their former homes, giving these dogs and cats the chance they deserve to have a good life. You can find a list of shelters and rescue groups in your area in our National Shelter Directory.

Start a Neighborhood Watch Program. Get to know the animals in your neighborhood and invite your friends and neighbors to do the same. Together you can keep an eye out for any suspicious behaviors—abuse and neglect of companion animals, the mistreatment of local wildlife, dogs left in hot cars and other signs of abuse.

For more ways that YOU can help stop cruelty to animals, read  the rest of the post here

Published in: on April 4, 2013 at 1:00 am  Comments (31)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/thankful-for-the-aspca-and-their-campaign-for-prevention-of-cruelty-to-animals-month/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

31 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Remarkable and amazing people. Great advice for ways to assist them.

  2. Great post! Sharing.

  3. We always look for dog abuse, but few if any found near us. We donate when we renew our car license plate “MICA 08”, my husband is in charge of what charities his dept. at work support – one is ASPCA. Believe it that when I got my new outback, Subaru donated $250.00 to the charity of my choice -ASPCA. I know there’s a lot more we can do!

    • That is fabulous Tyler!! You rock! Love the part about the Subaru donation too! Love, “Mom”

  4. We always take care of animals we find that seem to have run away or to be lost. Mom has called animal control many times and one time we even brought a dog that had found us to the coffee shop up the street where the cops hang out and left him there to get help. We also support our local Humane Society.

    • Yep, my Mom has even called to protect geese!! We also donate all year! Love, “Mom”

  5. I simply cannot understand how people can be cruel to innocent animals. Makes no sense to me.

    I think the public is becoming more aware of abuse, and are more likely to make that call.

    • let’s hope so! Love, “Mom”

  6. Not sure about the ASPCA methods, but it is a good idea to help animals in need.

  7. We don’t’ see strays around this neighborhood,
    they tend to get “dumped” out in the rural areas, and the dogs I know around here all seem well cared for … if not I’d be reporting abuse immediately

  8. Great advice, can i use some of your ideas and links off Cody’s blog on my blog please, if i give you the credit and link back to you.

    • Sheba you are more than welcome to use the links and crediting me isn’t necessary at all! Many of us received the email from the ASPCA so you are welcome to use whatever you need! Love, “Mom”

      • Thank you Caren, I don’t know much about the work of the ASPCA, but the more publicity they get the better.

        Sheba.

      • You are most welcome Sheba! You can learn more about them by visiting their website. Love, “Mom”

  9. We have already marked our calendar for the two shelter walks this spring. Good for them and us. We also still support the Sheltie Rescue that Bailey and Katy came from with donations. With the tough economy its getting harder for the rescues that rely on foster care. I know ours has lost some homes to foreclosings.

    We posted a thank you on our blog today.

    • Yay Bailey!!! You totally rock! Love, “Mom”

  10. It is so important to help those doggies and kitties that can’t help themselves! Thank you for sharing about the APSCA!

    • I meant ASPCA! Having a few typing problems this morning!!!!

      • don’t feel bad! I knew what you meant! I have those problems EVERY DAY! Love, “Mom”

  11. Great tips! We always keep our eyes open. And love our local shelter and rescue groups.

  12. Great post – It’s important to remind everyone what they can do to help us animals – the ASPCA does such a wonderful job! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  13. Hey Dakota!! RUFF!!! BARK!!!!! Thanks for the info! Got it from your brother too!!! He’s not bad for a cat! Stay cool! RUFF!!!! Noah!

    • Hi Noah!!! You are welcome! As for my brother? He COPIED ME! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. Great post Dakota!! I always have my eyes peeled. There was a dog in the car at work here, it was cool not hot but the window wasn’t even cracked. I called the business that shares the parking lot and said there’s a dog in a car and if they don’t go out and crack the window I’m calling animal control. What is wrong with people?

    • Thank you so much Jodi! I always do too. I would love to lock some of those people in a hot car that do that to dogs. It makes me sick! Kudos to you! Love, “Mom’

  15. What a great post, Thanks Dakota&Mom. Sometimes when I read informations or posts from the ASPCA I have tears in my eyes and sometimes we must cry. But I think to close our eyes isn’t helpful, it’s better to know some things, even when they are sad… Thanks to the ASPCA too for their great work… wish we had such an organization here too …

    • thank you Easy, you know what? I do the same thing. Sometimes i can’t watch news reports or certain videos and I feel so guilty. Sometimes it just upsets me so much that it affects me too much. I so understand. Love, “Mom”

  16. I think starting a neighborhood watch would be such a good idea, even if you just knew your neighborhood was onboard for watching over each other’s pets. I actually lost my dog 8 years ago, because someone was throwing hot dogs filled with rat poison into my neighborhood’s backyard, and before we knew it was happening my dog ate it. It is a very sad thing when people abuse animals for no reason, simply because they think they can.

    • Leah I am so terribly sorry about your dog, that is beyond awful. People like that should be locked up. I think a neighborhood watch would be a great idea too. I am so sorry about your dog. Love, “Mom”

  17. Reblogged this on tirochelle.

  18. What a great post, Dakota! We will be watching in our neighborhood for sure!


Leave a Reply

