What do gentlemen do?


Back on February 21st I were reading one of my favorite blogs: Something Wagging This Way Comes, and  the post that I was reading that day was:

11 Insanely Useful Weird Dog Commands

Pam had compiled a list of commands that she uses for her dog, Honey, that cover a lot more ground than your basic, “sit”, “stay” or “wait”.  If you haven’t read this fun and informative post, click on the above link!

At the end of the post, Pam asked: What are some of the strange cues you use to tell your dog what you need from her? (in our case it would be a “he”, but I digress…)

Here is the comment that I left on Pam’s blog post that day:

caren gittleman says:

February 21, 2013 at 11:45 AM

“What do gentlemen do?” I stumbled upon it a couple of weeks ago when Dakota was having a barking fit wanting a bone.

I never thought he would understand a complete sentence when I used it. In frustration I said “What do gentlemen do?” He promptly SAT. I have used it since to make sure it wasn’t a fluke and he sits EVERY time. My husband calls him a “gentleman” when he takes him to the bathroom but never uses it for sitting.
I must try to get it on video.

Then Jan Keefe  of Wag ‘N Woof Pets  (another favorite blog of mine) said on:

February 21, 2013 at 12:06 PM

I would love to see that, you will have to get it on video! :)

Guess what? I did JUST THAT! Yesterday I went and to Sprint to take advantage of the upgrade I had available to me to trade in  my old Android phone for  the new iPhone4 , and was playing with the video function. I decided to ask  Dakota the infamous question: “What do gentlemen do?”  See for yourself!

It is MUCH funnier when Dakota is in the middle of vocalizing about how much he wants his  Rachael Ray Nutrish® Soup Bones™. 

Just to show you the “gentleman” routine is NOT a fluke, witness it again!

I’d say he deserves a BlogPaws Nose-to-Nose Award nomination, don’t you agree?  Now is  YOUR chance to nominate ALL of the pet blogs/bloggers that you love!

From BlogPawsThe “Nose-to-Nose” Awards is the only awards program in which pet bloggers and microbloggers are judged on their expertise, creativity, and performance in one or more of 12 categories by a panel of distinguished professionals. The BlogPaws Nose-to-Nose Awards are not a popularity contest!

Nominations open at 12:00 PM EST on Wednesday, February 27th, 2013 – and close at 3:00 PM EST on Friday, March 8th.

Yep, that’s right! You don’t have to experience angst wondering who you are going to nominate, you can nominate ALL of your favorites in as many categories as you would like!

As an example, Dakota  and I have already begun nominating blogs in the categories of:

Best Blog Design

Best Blog Writing

Best Humor Blog

Best Bark Blog

Best Meow Blog

Best Wiggle Blog (for animals other than cats or dogs)

Best New Blog

Best Cause Blog

Best Blog Video

Best Blog Photo

Best Facebook Design

Best Twitter Design

and you know what? There are a number of blogs that we feel are deserving in EACH category and we aren’t going to just nominate one per category, we are going to nominate ALL of our faves for EACH category! That way, EVERY FURRY will be considered! How cool is that?

One thing that we love about the Nose-to-Nose awards is that even if you are just nominated ONCE, you are in the running, AND, you CAN NOMINATE YOURSELF!

Every blog that is nominated will be reviewed by the judges panel, but just once.

Please, please nominate ALL of the blogs/bloggers that you love for whatever category!

 

To read more about the criteria that the judges will be taking into consideration for each category, click here

We are HONORED and FLATTERED that so many of you visit us on a regular basis, or even that you visit us at all! That being said, if there was a post that made you smile, a photo that you loved, a book review that inspired you to buy/read a book, a contest that you won, a product that you learned about here or anything else that you loved, that we work painstakingly and with all of our heart to share with you, we would be HONORED if you wish to nominate us for whatever category you see fit.  Well, except best meow blog since this isn’t a cat blog! BOL! Our chances of being a finalist or even of gasp, WINNING...are next to none, but it would mean the world to us if we were even to be considered.

Should you wish to nominate us, and we THANK YOU if you do, you can click on each category that we mentioned above and it will take you right to the nomination pages.

Here is our info that you will need:

Blog Home Page: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/

Contact Name for Blog Owner: Caren Gittleman

Email for Blog Owner: cgittleman at mi dot rr dot com

Twitter Page for Dakota: https://twitter.com/dakotasheltie

Dakota’s Den on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dakotas-Den-Daily-Doings-of-a-Dog-Named-Dakota-Let-the-Barking-Begin/212764172068608?ref=ts&fref=ts

  Now, Dakota and I are off to do some more nominating of other deserving blogs/bloggers ourselves!!

Good luck to all!!

Barks and licks and love,

Dakota and Mom

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/what-do-gentlemen-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

46 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it! Such a lil’ gentleman! (and I’d already nominated Dakota…:)) LOVE that sheltie grin.

    • Awwww Amy!! THANK YOU! You literally brought tears to my eyes, thank you!!!! Wish you could meet him in person one day, it would be more fun than meeting me lol!!! Love, “Mom”

  2. I can’t watch the video right now because my baby is asleep but am bookmarking it to watch later tonight because I just have to see this! I am going to be nominating some more blogs soon, needed more time as there are so many great blog friends out there! Good luck Dakota!

    • Ann you are such a sweetie! How are you feeling? I am hoping that you and your daughter are feeling better. Love, “Mom”

      • The videos were adorable! We were better the next day – thanks… think it was a 24 hour stomach thing.

      • thanks so much! So glad you are both feeling better! Thanks so much for the RT too!! Have a great night! Love, “Mom”

  3. Dakota is such a gentleman! Love his bright eyed expressions. 🙂

    • thanks so much!!! I love his “bright eyed expressions” too! Love, “Mom”

  4. What do gentleman do command is sooooo cute. Good job Dakota!!
    Your Pal, ChazzTheDog
    p.s. teach me pal!

    • thanks so much Chazz! Come one over! i’ll teach ya! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Dakota, we thinks you are a gentleman, that command is so cute. ~Fen & Tui

    • Thank you so much Fen & Tui!! Fenris I am SURE that you are a gentleman…the jury is still out for Tui 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. What a smart Dog Dakota is! Who would ever imagine “What would a gentleman do” was such a powerful phrase.
    Kisses
    Nellie
    BTW Wes went an nominated yous

    • Thanks Nellie! Yeah he is smart. Lenny always calls him a “gentleman” but we never thought if we used it in a command that he would KNOW what to do! lol. I stumbled upon it when I was frustrated one day with his barking and said “what does a gentleman do?” I nearly died when he sat so pretty lol. Thanks for the nom too…..we don’t stand a chance but thanks!! Love, “Mom”

  7. Oh this is hilsrious!

    • Thank you! 🙂 Love “Mom”

  8. That is the best command ever, and aren’t you perfect!! I think you deserve best video, for sure!!!

    • You are soooooooooooo sweet!! lol!! Thank you!!!!!!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  9. How perfect! And that huge grin on Dakota;s face it wonderful…He’s such a sweetheart ❤

    • Gizmo thank you! the second one is my favorite because of his smile but you can’t see that he “sits” that well in that one. Love, “Mom”

  10. Absolutely adorable videos! Rosie even came to see 🙂

    • thanks so much Sue! Kissies to Rosie!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  11. Awww, that is so cute! I know Oreo always settles when I say, “I’m gonna count to three,….1……..2………3”. Funny, because my sister does the same thing with my nephew. Not sure why, but it works!

    I’ll go check out these “best” nominations!

    • Maybe it is a Sheltie “thang??” lol!!! They are so quirky!!! Love, “Mom”

  12. Nothing less than what I expected – a total gentleman!

  13. You’re so sweet and gentle, Dakota! Love love love your video especially the KISS!!!

    Love,
    Eva

    • Hi Eva! Yes I am gentle, I truly am, and quite sweet too! Just like you! That kiss was for youuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. Oh, I just love it!! Dakota is a true gentleman! It was always my understanding you had to keep your dog commands to one or two words….well, now I see that is not necessarily true! Thank you so much for the shout out too….it means so much to me for you to say that I am one of your favorite blogs (and the feeling is totally mutual). OK, now I have to go look at the BlogPaws awards, that looks like fun.

    • Yep he is! Jan I thought the same thing about one or two word commands, I honestly stumbled upon this. My husband often calls Dakota a “gentleman” when he goes to the bathroom but NEVER used the wording in the video. He would always say “what a gentleman!” Soooo…one night when Dakota was particularly vocal and obnoxious about getting his after-dinner-bone (kinda like our after-dinner-drink lol) I was sooo frustrated I just yelled “What does a gentleman do??!!” I in NO WAY expected him to SIT! lol.
      You are most welcome about the shout out! It’s thanks to you that I tried to get it on video, it still isn’t as good as I would like it to be. I always read your posts…I don’t always comment but I am there! Thank you for your kind words as well! Have a great day! Love, “Mom”

  15. I’ve nominated you Dakota – you are such a gentleman!!! I think no one can smile as a Sheltie ;o) I love it. mom’s weirdest command was ; ARRRGH BANANARAMBA! – we are searching for a dictionary now ;o)

    • Awwww Easy thank you sooooooooooooo much!!! You are so nice! I agree with you, the Sheltie Smile is like no other but I have always loved Weimaraners! When I was in college I knew one that TALKED! lol. Love, “Mom”

  16. What adorable videos! Dakota is a true gent. The little kiss scene is priceless.

    • thank you so much!! That’s my boy! 🙂 Love, “Mom “

  17. You set the bar real high Dakota…have you seen how short our legs are *BOL*

    Wally & Sammy

    • I missed the plot somewhere! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Thank you so much for posting this video. I too wanted to see your little gentleman do this thing. 🙂

    And this cue is so much more charming than the one I used with Agatha and Christie when I saw they were contemplating evil deeds: don’t even think it.

    Looking forward to seeing you win an award at BlogPaws.

    • You are most welcome!!! OMG you are waaaaaaaaaaaaaay too kind!! I wouldn’t hold your breath!! ((((((hugs)))))))))))) YOU should be winning!! Love, “Mom”

  19. Very cute. Smart doggie!

    • Thanks! He most definitely is! 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  20. Adorable! These videos definitely deserve mention in the contest. Dogs are smarter than we give them credit for and pick up on things we never would guess. Yesterday I asked my husband if he’d like to go with me to take the monsters around the neighborhood. Somehow, Maya knew I meant to take her and Pierson for a walk and got really excited. How did she know?

    • Awww thank you Dawn! Loved your “Monster” story, have you referred to them using that term before? That could be why! Love, “Mom”

  21. Dakota, that is pawesome! My ma doesn’t ask “What do gentleman do?” but she does ask “What do you do?” when she wants me to sit…and I sit, just like you! We must be related or something! BOL
    *high paws*
    Oz
    (Hi Miss Caren! Hi Cody!)

    • thanks! Your story is pretty pawsome too!! Barks and licks and love Dakota and Caren and Cody too!

  22. What an adorable command! Good luck in the best video category! I’ve found it difficult to nominate just one, so like you I’m nominating more than one. I hope the judges have a lot of time as I think there will be a lot of nominations!

    • thanks Jodi! I appreciate the good luck wishes but i am certain that I won’t even make it into the finals with the enormous talent out there! Trust me! But thanks!


Leave a Reply

