Foodie Friday! I have Frosty Paws!


Happy Furday everyone! It’s Dakota! Not only do I have “Frosty Paws” from our bitter and SNOWY Michigan weather, I was the LUCKY WINNER of a great give-away over at one of my favorite blogs, Dog Tested Mother Approved, a blog where they share “dog product reviews, tips and ideas” or, as they like to say, “the Tried and Chewed”. If you aren’t familiar with them, please check them out!

So, wanna see what I won?

Mom stole this photo from Dog Tested Mother Approved!! Click on the photo to visit them

Mom stole this photo from Dog Tested Mother Approved!!
Click on the photo to visit them

 

 

My actual winnings!!

My actual winnings!!

So what exactly did I win?

TWO coupons for a

FREE box of Frosty Paws by Purina

And a “Frosty Mascot” toy!

(TOY IS NOT  SUITABLE FOR DOGS)

Now, I have to tell you a funny story. Mom was at  the store last week and while she was looking for something decadent to  indulge in stuff her face with  for the Super Bowl, she stumbled upon the Frosty Paws in the human ice cream section! Of course she didn’t have her coupons with her, so she figured while she saw them in front of her face, rather than wait, she would buy a package for me. We hear Frosty Paws comes in peanut butter flavor and vanilla, Mom only saw the vanilla at our store, so she bought that one.

Mom decided that I could have my Frosty Paws while she and Dad were enjoying pigging out on their frozen yogurt.

WARNING!!! If you are a dog that inhales his food like I do, Mom has a warning for you! Be sure to thaw your Frosty Paws enough that you can mash it up in a bowl. WHY? Guess what I did??  Mom and Dad took the frozen treat out of the cardboard container and put it in my bowl, without thawing it a bit or mashing it up. Mom thought I would gingerly lick or nibble on it. Mom apparently forgot who she was talking about. I GRABBED THE ENTIRE BLOCK of frozen treat and ran while clenching the entire block between my teeth! I did my best showdog- lineage- prance around the living room, all the while STILL holding the frozen block of Frosty Paws with my teeth. I LOVED it so much that I had to take it to my special hide out under the dining room table where no human hands can reach me! Mom was screaming about how I would mess the carpet and Dad kept saying “Do you believe what he just did!!??” The best part? They never got it on video because I was too quick for them!

I ate that baby up AND licked every bit up from Mom’s beloved oriental fake rug!

Yeah, I know it is freezing cold in many places in the U.S., but join me in a delightful daydream. It’s mid-August, the “dog days of summer” and you are one panting hot dog! Let Frosty Paws transport you back to those days with its cold, delicious and tasty goodness!! Doesn’t matter if it is freezing cold out or boiling hot. I love Frosty Paws by Purina so much that I can eat them ANY TIME! When I do, it reminds me of this:

dakota surfs up

Thanks Dog Tested Mother Approved for such a great give-away!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/foodie-friday-i-have-frosty-paws/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

55 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really did LOL reading the description of Dakota doing his “best showdog- lineage- prance around the living room . . .” That would be Ellie to a “T” if we didn’t hover over her while she eats her Frosty Paws. So glad he enjoyed his special treat!

    • lol Debbie! OMG it was sooo funny! What kind of a dog literally CARRIES a substantial frozen treat in their teeth?! I think Lenny and i need to “hover” more too! Love, “Mom”

  2. my dogs would love to try frosty paws

  3. Wow ice cream..yummy, we love that Frostie Paws xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  4. Looks absolutely yummy. Love the surfs up pic

  5. We love frosty paws but usually we only get it in the summertime. My sister will gulp hers in one bite if it is frozen solid, I like to take my time and enjoy it by licking on it for what my mom says is forever! Enjoy!

    • So your sister is a little “piggy” like Dakota? lol. I thought he would just lick or nibble it…but noooooooo lol! Love, “Mom”

  6. LOL. Oh Dakota, we don’t need a video, we can all picture that proud prance around the house with your prize!

    • don’t blame you! Mom’s videos are so lame, who needs ’em? Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Yummmmm!!! Cocco thinks that looks very yummy!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  8. LOL – the way you described Dakota running around with the frozen treat — was so funny!

    • thank you! It is EXACTLY what he did 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  9. Ha ha ha! You are a riot, Dakota! We just lick ours out of the cup!

    Bunny

    • Hi Bunny! That is because you are a “lady” !! Mom THOUGHT that is what I would do……nope!! Not me! Thank goodness she followed the instructions about removing the cardboard cup or I would have eaten THAT too!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. We would do the exact same thing, I’m sure. So thanks for the heads up, and the laugh.

  11. HEY DAKOTA!!!! Thanks for sharing this- now when my humans have ice cream- they can get me something!!!! Noah!

    • Hi Noah!! You are most welcome! Yep!! That is what my pawrents thought too! It really is a super treat and Mom definitely will buy it again! Enjoy! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. We would do the exact same thing, I’m sure. Thanks for the warning, and the laugh this morning.

    • lol!! Really? I never, ever thought Dakota would do that with a FROZEN treat! Learned my lesson! The rest will be mashed up! You are welcome! Thanks for being such great furiends!! Love, “Mom”

  13. LOL! It would have been great if your mom and dad caught that on video. I can’t believe your mom found it in the grocery store. I’m going to see if ours carries it.

    • I know! Mom was too busy screaming at me to “drop it” BOL and didn’t get her camera, silly woman! I linked to the stores that carry it in the blog…click on the Frosty Paws name in a few different places. Hope that helps! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. BOL – I think you were literally “cold as ice” while running with the whole ice block. They should rename it in “Frosty mouths”. I agree – I always scream for ice cream ;o)

  15. Those things sure are yummy!
    Snorts,
    Benny & Lily

  16. Well done Dakota! I’m a bit puzzled about one part of that though. Surely a toy that isn’t suitable for dogs isn’t really a toy at all?! What are they thinking?

    • Well Clowie, ANYTHING that enters our mouth can be considered a “toy”! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Dakota, I LOVE Frosty Paws. You are very lucky to get such a fantastic prize. I get my Frosty Paws right outta the freezer in its little cardboard cup. I carry the cup, by its edge, to the little rug by the sliding glass door and lick and lick and lick until it is all gone!
    Enjoy your Frosty Paws!
    Oz

    • Oz, that is because you are POLITE…not a “piggy” like Mom says I am! I would NEVER lick and lick…..I have “jaws of death” like a Shark! I may be medium sized but I am POWERFUL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Dakota – you are so hilarious! I love this story! You are one smart cookie! Dining room tables are wonderful spots to sneak off to! I’ve gotten wedged under a dining room chair or two attempting to pry something away from my pups. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your cute story and participating in the contest! I’m glad you find the Frosty Paws as delish as we do! Happy Tails! Cara, (Max & Gertie, too!)

    • Hi Cara (BTW Mom LOVES your name!) Max and Gertie! Thank you for having such a fabulous give-away!! I am so glad that I made you laugh! Mom wasn’t laughing til AFTER the fact but then she and Dad DID laugh and laugh at what a “piggy” I am! BOL! OMD YOU were funny about saying you got “wedged”…yeah…Mom DID get on the floor and tried to reach under the table to take it away and then I was so engrossed with it that she thought better of it (wise woman! lol). Thanks so much again!! I will think of you and your great blog every time I enjoy my Frosty Paws! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  19. Hope you didn’t get brain freeze Dakota!

  20. You are one lucky boy Dakota. We can’t get frosty paws in the UK enjoy.

    Sheba.

    • Awww I wish you could get it there Sheba! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Frosty Paws are Eko’s absolute favorite treat in the summer. I also learned that either I have to hold the cardboard while he licks or I have to let it thaw. Hope someone in warm weather wins!

    • Will I should have spoken to you first 🙂 Ohhhh this isn’t a give-away…I won this from the blog Dog Tested, Mother Approved 🙂

      • Can you tell that the part of my brain responsible for understanding things properly isn’t working? I thought you won them and were passing them along – whoops! I guess I’m just used to you spreading the love with giveaways

      • Ha!!!!!!!!!!! It’s ok! You have waaaaaaaaaaay more important things to think about 🙂 I wanted to tell people about where Dakota won his prize and that he loved it 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  22. Oh man, Dakota – did you get a “brain freeze” headache? We always hold the cup while Rita licks at the yummy goodness inside!

    (And don’t tell anyone, but Rita plays with the “not for dogs” Frosty toy! But she’s very gentle with her toys, so it’s okay!)

    • nope I didn’t! lol. Well, Mom learned now what to do 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  23. Before I agreed to do my own Frosty Paws giveaway I did some research to see if anyone had problems with them. Gulping them down too fast was the most common issue I found. I guess I should have just asked Dakota instead of google. 🙂

    I fed Honey her treat in the cup. Yes, she ran off with it up to the bed but she licked it out which slowed her down a bit. And it didn’t cause a mess. If you aren’t worried about Dakota eating the cardboard wrapper, you might want to try that.

    • Dakota DEFINITELY would have attempted to eat the cardboard wrapper that is why I took the treat out of it. I never expected him to run with it like that. Lesson learned! Will either hold it for him or let it melt a bit and remove it from the cardboard wrapper and put it in a bowl 🙂 Honey is a girl after Dakota’s heart 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  24. Frosty Paws some YUMMY! We can’t wait to try some… but not till this big blizzard is over (we are cold enough!)

  25. Hello there i’m Milo!!
    That doggy ice cream looks SUPER yummy!!!! BOL your story had me and mum giggling!
    Love Milo 🙂

    • Hi Milo! I love your name! It’s so nice to meet you! Oh the ice cream was wonderful!! My Mom said she is happy she could make your Mum laugh 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  26. Not to rub it in Dakota but that’s what my hike was like this morning…hot & sunny…so Frosty Paws would have been perfect…Momz doesn’t thaw mine, but she doesn’t take them out fo the cup either…she just puts the cup in my bowl and I lick it clean from there…never thought about running with it…hmmmm….

    • Showoff! BOL!! Well you are a gentleman and I am NOT! BOL! Enjoy your warm weather! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  27. You’re so funny, Dakota! We’ve had doggie ice cream before, but my boys didn’t gobble it nearly as fast as you did. When I’ve fed them other frozen food before, though, Swift gets the shivers after eating. It made me laugh, but I felt bad, so I always thawed his frozen food after that!

    • ohhhh poor Swift!! Thankfully I didn’t shiver! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  28. Oh Dakota, you made me laugh out loud! I do wish they’d gotten it on video though, that would have been priceless! Stay warm big guy!

    • Well…you win some you lose some!!! Mom wasn’t thinking about cameras during the Super Bowl 🙂 Hope you are safe and sound! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  29. Congratulations on winning some Frosty Paws Dakota! We love um!
    Hope you all are staying warm and cozy during the storm!

  30. That is funny Dakota. I could see Freighter doing that!

  31. That looks delicious!

  32. Ha Ha! Dakota! Yous is a Dog From Hell!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • I often am 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  33. Ooh, sounds like a yummy puppy treat! I’ve never seen the peanut butter ones at the store either…just the vanilla.


Leave a Reply

