Mischief Monday-Cooking Spray


Happy Monday everybody!

As you know, Dakota is a greatly loved dog, but like any dog, or maybe MORE than any dog, he has his quirks. There are two things that just the sight of sends him into a frenzy….one is cooking spray. Doesn’t matter who the manufacturer is, but when he sees me take the cooking spray  out of the cupboard, it makes him go nuts!

The other is BUTTER. Butter in any form. It can be spray, in a tub, stick. You open the fridge and BOOM…..the Tasmanian Devil is released.Just spelling the word  B-U-T-T-E-R  can send him into a full-blown bark-fest!

I wasn’t able to get video of Dakota’s reaction to butter, but I was able to get a short video of his reaction to cooking spray. Oh and for some who might ask, NO! Dakota has never been sprayed with cooking spray! I think it is the sound of the spray, that irritates him,  who knows? Could just be he doesn’t like the color yellow.

Of course Daddy ruined Mom’s fun by telling me at the end not to work him up.

May your Monday be irritation-free!!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/mishchief-monday-cooking-spray/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

53 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awwww Dakota!! Bad spray! Bad bad spray!! You tell it! LOL! Yay! take care
    x

  2. It’s so funny the things that can send dogs into a frenzie 🙂 At the end of the day, they are all barking mad..BOL xx0xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. Woof! Woof! Interesting! Yellow for me is a BANANA. Happy MM. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Ever since mom read your post about bananas she says she is going to let me try one one day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Maybe Dakota is thinking of the yummy goodness. 🙂

    Freighter has been wanting to attack the vacuum. Not sure why all of a sudden. So I am desensitizing him. I left it just sitting out for a week. Then when I vacuumed on Saturday, I left him out of his crate. Eventually he started paying no attention to it. We are going to do more of this. I would like him to get his CGC so he has to be OK with the vacuum.

    I bet Dakota would welcome you leaving butter around. lol

    • Nope! Dakota is just nuts lol. He also attacks the vacuum and yep we worked on desensitizing…I think it is a Sheltie “thang” Love, Mom

  5. Oh my! I am not afraid of anything in the house but outside I turn into a maniac when a vehicle pulling a trailer drives by or a snowplow…no idea why but mom thinks it is the sound.

  6. That is crazy that cooking spray sends him into such a frenzy! I bet it is the sound of the spray. Regardless, Dakota is so so adorable!

    • You didn’t know that he IS “crazy???” lol. I can understand the sound…but…what about the SILENCE of opening a TUB of butter in the fridge? He sees the butter container and does the same thing. Guess he is watching his cholesterol lol love, Mom

  7. Lol! Hey – it’s buttery flavored cooking spray. That is so funny! My aunt’s sheltie has a thing for ceiling fans. She would bark and bark at them and spin in a circle if they were turned on.

    • Barking at a ceiling fan? Now THAT sounds like something that Dakota would do!! BOL! Love, “Mom”

  8. We don’t know if our house has cooking spray — we will have to keep an eye out to make sure that enemy doesn’t invade our kitchen!

    • Sounds like a good idea to me! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. BOL that’s so funny!

  10. Ha! Butter, Dakota? Sounds like Cocco would love that too 🙂

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  11. How cute , he is like a “barking twister”. I’m glad for the link – now I know what cooking spray means. And now I know why they call europe the “old world” – I’ll bet in our stores they never heard about it. But I think cooking spray is great ;o)

    • BOL at “Barking Twister!!” OMD I LOVE IT! Cooking spray also has zero calories! In the U.S. the most common cooking spray is called “PAM”…it is also more expensive 🙂 Love, “Mom”

      • We’ll send off the dad tomorrow for buying the cooking spray – I’m already thrilled about the result ;o)

      • So happy to have told you about it!! 🙂

  12. That’s so cute! I bet it is the sound of the spray. My dogs hate it when I spray anything too, although they don’t get upset about it unless they recognize the doggie perfume spray bottle.

    • thanks! I should have said I hadn’t even used it that day. I just took it out of the cupboard and he started 🙂 Love, “Mom”

  13. BOL…that’s hilarious. Dakota and Torrey need to get together some day and dance the twirl together.

    • Ha!!!!!!!!!!! What a GREAT idea! They should!!! BOL!! Love, “Mom”

  14. Hmmmm, me thinks its the SMELL, Butter, buttery spray….
    Cinnamon goes nuts over all kinds of things, but mostly other dogs. She does not bark at them when she goes past their house, but when they is walked past ours!
    We lives on DOG street.
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Nope! It’s definitely not the smell. He does it before anything is even opened. It is the sight of it lol. Love, “Mom”

  15. Oh dear dog…who knew cooking spray could be a fierce enemy? Maybe Dakota is just trying to protect you from trans-fats? BOL

    • THAT’S IT!!! BOL!!!! Love, “Mom”

  16. We call it monsters
    Snorts,
    Benny & Lily

  17. My little Cavalier is barking his support for Dakota as i watch this!!! Aww… we all have our quirks!

    • Awww I love it! Pls tell him that Dakota says hi!! Love, “Mom”

  18. *BOL* you are a funny-bunny Dakota!!!
    Wally & Sammy

  19. Maybe he’s watching your cholesterol. Beckett barks at the lawn mower and chases it so he has to be in the house when I mow the lawn. He also doesn’t like me raking leaves or shoveling snow.

    • lol! I think because it is spray it is “cholesterol free” You sooo made me laugh when you said Beckett “doesn’t like when you rake the leaves or shovel snow”…Shelties are soooo picky with what they like and don’t like! Love, “Mom”

  20. MOL!! I know how you feel Dakota!! When mom picks up any form of spray I watch her if she looks at me I run!!!! MOL! But She never sprays me with it, just don’t like it either, not natural!!

    Foxy the Cat

    • Hi Foxy!! YAY!! Someone who “gets it”…and you are a CAT! BOL! My kitty brother, Cody, isn’t bothered by it one bit! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Silly Dakota! I think all shelties have their “quirks”, but I’ve never heard of one barking at butter.

  22. This is way too funny…I cannot even guess what he’s thinking when he sees that can…and butter? will he eat butter? could it be the smell? maybe he’s a secret Vegan? BOL!

    • “maybe he’s a secret vegan” BOL!! Love it!! Love, “Mom” PS he has NEVER even eaten butter! If you have a tub of butter and open the fridge, open the plastic top…he goes NUTS!

  23. Hi Y’all!

    You aren’t kidding! Lots of mischief going on here!

    Y’all come back now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    • Told ya! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  24. I hope he doesn’t think your going to cook him lol

    Sheba.

    • lol Nooooooooooooo!!! Love, “Mom”

  25. Saving the world from Transfats????? Happy Monday. Lee and Phod

    • Bwwwwahhh!!! Love it! Happy Monday to you!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  26. You do great, Dakota! I never like those ‘sprays’ either. They are irritating and they hurt our delicate ears. I don’t know what BUTTER is but I do love CHEESE. Aren’t they the same as they have the same colour though?

    By the way, I bark and spin like you too : )

    Love,
    Eva

    • That’s right Eva! they hurt our “delicate ears!” Yes cheese and butter are the same color but I have never had a piece of cheese. I must say something to Mom about that. Of COURSE you bark and spin like me! We were made for each other! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  27. whoaa I didn’t know Dog can be annoyed just from simple thing like that.

    • Not all dogs ) I’m annoyed just by people living, a leaf blowing, a blade of grass, get my drift? BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  28. Hey Dakota,

    Is it because you know Mom’s gonna make something yummy?

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  29. That’s so funny! Dogs can be so weird sometime. 🙂

    • Especially Shelties (wink!!) Love, “Mom”


Leave a Reply

