BLOGPAWS COMMUNITY FEATURED PET by Kristin Dewey, BlogPaws Special Projects Manager


I am wagging my tail with delight! I am honored to be the BlogPaws Community Featured Pet!

If you haven't joined the BlogPaws Community. Click on my photo to join!

If you haven’t joined the BlogPaws Community. Click on my photo to join!

 

by Kristin Dewey, BlogPaws Special Projects Manager

 

Dakota is a loving, funny, stubborn, (loud!) 5-year-old Shetland Sheepdog gentleman from Farmington Hills, Michigan.

Dakota is a Native American word meaning ‘trusted friend,’ and his name won the popular vote in a naming contest for a canine character in the new Amy Shojai book, “Lost and Found!”

He loves eating bones, being brushed, modeling and playing with his ball, and he’s a great brother to Cody, the cat.

His mom, Caren Gittleman, says he can spell! (You’ll have to ask him about that…)

You can get to know the handsome and adored Dakota better on his mom’s Community Page, at his blog: Dakota’s Den, onFacebook and on Twitter @dakotasheltie.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/blogpaws-community-featured-pet-by-kristin-dewey-blogpaws-special-projects-manager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

66 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Couldn’t happen to a nicer, more handsome pup!

    • Awww thank you Jackie!! Barks and licks and love Dakota and “Mom”

  2. OMD Dakota your mom must be SO proud!!! What an honour – well done furiend!!
    Barks & licks
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thank you so much Wally & Sammy!! Mom is!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  3. How wonderful Dakota 🙂 Your the best….Can you teach me how to spell TREATS so I can leave my Humom a note in the morning xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Thanks Mollie and Alfie! I sure can…that is one of the words that I happen to be able to spell 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. So deserving Dakota. You are a model example of the joys of having a pet. You also have the best pet parent. CHRISTINE

    • Christine!!! How did we not know about your Facebook page!? Mom just “liked” and so did Cody and I!! We also saw your WONDERFUL feature on Pet360 and it is sooooooo well deserved!! We think the world of you and it is YOU who deserves the accolades…….not US!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  5. Rock on Dakota! We KNOW yous is the bestest! Concatulation on being featured. Shall me kiss your paw?
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Thank you so much Nellie!! I’m not the BEST……there are MANY “BESTS!!” Let me kiss YOUR paw! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. That is wonderful, awesome news sweet Dakota…but how could they not feature such a handsome sweet boy as you are. Congratulations! Hugs and nose kisses

    • Hi Mumsy and Chancy!! Thank you so much! You are much too kind!! LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mom and Dakota

  7. Condogulations on being the Featured pet. Dakota is so photogenic and a handsome lil deveil to boot! tailwags and head taps…ChazzTheDog

    Date: Thu, 10 Jan 2013 18:27:14 +0000 To: laghostwriter@hotmail.com

    • Thank you Mom and Chazz!! That is so kind!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. “You deserve it Dakota! I am so proud!!! Now that you are officially a celebrity, don’t forget the little dogs (literally)…like me!

    • Awww Kirby I’m not a celebrity but even if I was one I would NEVER EVER FORGET YOU! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Congrats Dakota they should be honored to have you.

    • Thank you Bailey but I am the one honored!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Congradulations.You must be so happy and your mummy be so proud of you. Love Nellie and Jasper.

    • Thanks sooo much! Yes we are both quite proud and happy! Thank you!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  11. SNOOPY-DANCE-‘O-JOY! What a great shout-out…I mean “woof-out.” Howling with happiness for you!

    • Amy you are such a sweetheart! Can’t wait to meet you one day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. What a smile!

    • It’s my best feature, thank you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Congratulations, Dakota! You are truly very handsome, and apparently very talented too! 🙂

    • Thank you Jan!!! Yep I am quite talented 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. A great spotlight for a beautiful dog.

    • thank you so much!!! You are pretty darn good lookin’ yourself! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  15. That’s wonderful! We are so happy for you and proud to be your friends!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

    • that is sooooooooo sweet Katie and Coccolino! I am proud to be YOUR friend!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  16. Awesome job! But more importantly, what’s this I hear about spelling??

    • Thanks Will and Eko! Yep! I can spell!! I know how to spell D-I-N-N-E-R, B-O-N-E, T-R-E-A-T just to name a few! I bet Eko can too because he is a brilliant doggy as well! Barks and licks and love Dakota

  17. Wow! Congratulations, but I can’t say that I’m surprised. I am surprised that you like getting brushed. Do you think you could talk to Oreo & Chewy about that? They both think the brush is something that must be attacked…with their teeth!

    • Thanks so much Sara! Oh yes I LOVE getting brushed! Mom says I am such a “vain” doggy (whatever THAT means!) I will talk to Oreo and Chewy for sure! I just love it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Super Pawsome! Congratulations to you!!!

    • thank you Emma! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  19. Congrats you are a beautiful girl. I wanted to pop by and also say congrats on being nominated for 3 blog awards. The link is to pick them up. http://peacelovenwhiskers.com/2013/01/10/good-things-come-in-3s/

    • Thanks so much…but…don’t tell…….I’m a BOY 🙂 That’s why the blog post says “gentleman” 🙂 I’m also a smarty pants!! Sorry! I am used to everyone thinking that I am a girl, that is because I am too “pretty” to be a boy! Thanks soooooo much for the awards! I had left a comment on your blog before you even stopped here. Thank you!!!!! I am deeply honored! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  20. Yay Dakota. Congratulations on being featured. I didn’t know your name meant that. That’s pawsome.

    • Thank you!! Yep! It does! That’s why my Mom named me “Dakota” She always liked the name and looked it up to see what it meant. Once she knew, that was it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Dakota, I’m not one bit surprised that they would feature you! You’re smart, well spoken and you always have your ear turned to hear about the best new books and products to share. We always love seeing what you have to say!

    Bunny

    P.S. Thank you to your mom for her very kind words on our post today!

    • Hi Bunny!!! Awww you made my day!! thank you!!!!!!!!!!! Mom says you don’t have to thank her because she was just speaking the truth!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “mom”

  22. Congrats, so exciting!
    I’ve just literally joined Blogpaws but haven’t had a chance to sort out a profile or figure it all out yet. But look forward to finding out more about it:-)

    • remind me of your name there (I am embarrassed that I can’t keep everyone straight, I am OLD you know) so I may send you a friend request! Love, “Mom”

      • I’m just under Misaki 🙂 I’ve just added a profile pic so hopefully you can find me.
        Thanks, you’ll be my very first friend there:-)

      • Thanks Misaki! I am leaving in a bit and will be gone til about mid afternoon but if I forget….PLEASE remind me to friend you!!!!!! Love, “Mom”

  23. That is so awesome Dakota that you are featured! You deserve it!!

    • Thank you so much!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  24. Dakota, how very cool. Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • thank you Roxy!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  25. Oh I’m sure you can spell! Congratulations ! Have a wonderful Friday!!! I love you!!!

    • Easy I CAN!! Thank you and you have a wonderful Friday too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota…we love you too!

  26. Well deserved; I am a fan and glad to see you spotlighted!

    • thank you Carol!! Love, “Mom”

  27. Congrats!

    • thank you!! Love, “Mom”

  28. Oh wow, congratulations! I am not at all surprised. You have been a huge part of this community and are a perfect fit!

    • Kristine you are so sweet, thank you!!!!!!! Love, “Mom”

  29. Hey furfriend! Whee have four surprises waiting for you here! http://wp.me/p2ofSN-xs

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    ps. Confrats on being featured! 🙂

  30. Hey furfriend! Whee have four surprises waiting for you here! http://wp.me/p2ofSN-xs

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    ps. Congrats on being featured! 🙂

  31. Beautiful picture Dakota and congrats on being the featured pet we already knew you were the best 🙂

    • Awww thanks so much Tyler! That is quite kind of you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  32. How wonderful Dakota, congratulations!!

    • thank you Jodi!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  33. Congratulations, Dakota! You have the coolest name EVER! Kisses and a “barooooo” from Dakota the Corgi Girl in Texas! xoxoxox (p.s. my mom would love to paint your portrait http://www.pet-portraits-by-deena.com)

    • Hi female Dakota! You have the BEST name too!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would LOVE a portrait but Mom has to wait until she can afford a painting. She doesn’t have a job 😦 Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

