Book Review: Dog Trots Globe, To Paris & Provence by Sheron Long ” Magnifique!”


Hi everyone! It’s Dakota, and I am taking over the book review today! It’s only right, because today’s book: Dog Trots Globe, To Paris & Provence by Chula Wula D’ Augue (As Barked to Sheron Long) was “barked” by a Sheltie!

Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

A few months ago Mom and I were on Twitter and we befriended a gorgeous Sheltie girl named @SheltieChula. As we interacted, Mom and I found out that Chula had barked a book!  Mom and I love doing book reviews and when we learned this we had to have a copy to review.  We are grateful that Chula got her paws on one and sent it to us, it is a book we will read over and over and cherish furever!

As many of you who live with Shelties know, it is rare to find a book about them (that isn’t a handbook), let alone one that was BARKED by a Sheltie!

This isn’t any ordinary Sheltie either! Well, not that ANY Sheltie is ordinary! From OIC-Books.com:  Chula whose name means “pretty” in Spanish, is a 9-year-old Sheltie who traveled by car from Carmel Valley, California, to San Francisco where she boarded an Air France flight to Paris. Then she took the TGV, or Train a Grande Vitesse, from Paris to Saint-Remy-de-Provence and settled into her lovely village at the foot of the Alpilles Mountains. (From Dakota: For those who may be wondering, Chula traveled with her pawrents)

Chula got good at chasing French cats, hiding from wooly sheep and stealing ripe tomatoes.

Mom and I read this book together and Mom told me to tell you that it is exquisite, charming, gorgeous, delightful!

Mom and I have different reasons for loving this book. Mom says it is the perfect little travel guide where I can travel to Paris & Provence and live it vicariously through the eyes of a Sheltie.

Mom thinks this would be a perfect coffee table or bedside table book, both to read and to display.  The photographs, contributed by Robert and Sheron Long, Erick Paraiso and Meredith Mullins are breathtakingly beautiful!   The illustrations by Darius Detwiler, charming!

Mom says: this isn’t just a book, it is a visual feast, it is a work of art! She could envision herself sitting at a sidewalk cafe in Paris, relaxing, reading this book and sipping on a petit noir (an espresso), (how she can envision this I will never know, since Mom has never been to Paris but I digress, let your eyes delight in the following photos and you will see what I mean!)

Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

In the Lavender fields by Sault. Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

In the Lavender fields by Sault. Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

At the market in St-Remy. Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

At the market in St-Remy. Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

At the fountain in Sault. Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

At the fountain in Sault. Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

Mom says: that the photos shown here don’t even begin to show the real beauty of the photos in the book. They are vibrant,  they leap off of the high quality paper that they are printed on, they transport you to the beauty and romance of Paris. Dog Trots Globe is a perfect size too, it can be tucked into a purse with ease!

Enough of what Mom thinks! What I love about this book is that a SHELTIE barked it! I get to read, yes Shelties read! We ARE 6th in intelligence you know, about this amazing trip from first-paw Sheltie experience!

Through Chula’s travels I got to learn  about things such as:

  • Sniffing Around Provence
  • Market Days
  • Bistros and Cafes
  • French Tradition
  • Paris Lights and City Sights
  • Inside a Paris Gallery
  • Chula’s Walk: A Tour of Saint-Remy

there is even a section of the book that tells your pawrents How To Take Your Pup To France should you ever be lucky enough to go!

Photo Courtesy of www.OIC-Books.com

Photo Courtesy of http://www.OIC-Books.com

Dog Trots Globe To Paris & Provence would make a delightfully charming gift that would be enjoyed and relished by Sheltie lovers, dog lovers, those who love Paris and those who appreciate superb photography. This must be added to your library!

Barks and licks and love,  Au Revoir! Dakota

ISBN: 978-1-936951-00-0

Visit OIC-Books.com

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/12/10/book-review-dog-trots-globe-to-paris-provence-by-sheron-long-magnifique/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OMD Chula is just aroootiful and France definately suits her – Tre Chic! Mom dreams of visiting Paris and Provence so this book is right up her alley!

  2. Looks a fantastic book, love the pictures. Have a great day xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. MUST get it!!!!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Sara you will love it!!!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. What lovely pictures! Looks like a great book:-)

  5. Awww Chula looks so cute! I have never heard of another book barked by a sheltie yet, that’s pretty amazing. I love that picture of her with the wind blowing in her fur… so cute.

  6. Thanks Dakota – I want it!!!! …and a Sheltie barked it – so it is a MUST HAVE!

  7. Oh, it’s a dream of mine to travel to Paris! What an adventure that would be! I’m glad you got to read this charming book!

    Bunny

  8. Awwww Chula the Sheltie!! What adventures! Yay!! Take care
    x

  9. That looks like our kind of book. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Hey Dakota, Jet here. HI Miss Caren.

    Another pawesome review… and of a fellow Sheltie, ooh la la…

  11. “A Year in Provence” is a favorite book of my mom’s and this sounds like the Sheltie version…The photos are lovely…Chula is a lucky dog indeed…I wish the attitude towards dogs here in the United States was more like that in France…Now Mom wants us to go (have to admit I’m a little scared about the flying part) *snoogles*

    • Hi Gizmo,
      Flying isn’t so bad. At the back of the book, Mom wrote and afterword that includes all the information she’ll need to take you to Paris. You even get a cool doggie passport!

  12. Great review and I think I will get this book. I have spent many times in the South of France and in Paris, all dog loving places to visit, take beautiful walks and enjoy a meal in a cafe…and your human is allowed to join you!
    Maggie

  13. Looks like a great book. Good review there Dakota – well done (maybe we should move you up the “intelligence” list 🙂 )

  14. Dear Dakota,
    Bob has put this book on her Christmas list!
    kisses
    Nellie

  15. Wow – it sure looks like Chula has had quite the life. I’m jealous!

  16. Looks like a winner – I will have to get it before Eko and I go to Europe (some day…)

  17. I travelled through France with my bipeds on our way to Spain. I thought France was wonderful because dogs can go almost anywhere. I had a wonderful time! I want to read this book.

  18. Too cute! This dog sounds far more well-traveled than I am! How lovely they have been able to take Chula with them on their adventures!

  19. Sounds great! Thanks for the review!

  20. aww I love the pictures in the book. It brings more of the story to life. Ahh to be a dog in France….Il est magnifique! (I TRIED)

  21. My mom visited France once and deeply fell in love with this country; she has promised herself that she will visit the whole country one day but I think what she has to do NOW is to GET THIS BOOK.
    Chula is so beautiful and talented!

    Love,
    Eva

  22. Oh Dakota and Caren, this looks like a super dog book. Barked by the dog herself. Yaay. Will have to check this out close up fur sure!

  23. The pictures are beautiful! Sounds like a great book:)

  24. Dakota and Caren,
    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I hope one day we can meet up- we’ll definitely have a barking good time. There’s nothing better than getting another Sheltie’s Paw of Approval!

    If anyone wants to check out a sample of the book, you can download one of the chapters or buy the book from a variety of locations here: http://info.oic-books.com/dog-trots-globe–to-paris–provence

    I look forward to getting to know you all. Please check out my continuing journey on Facebook (Chulawula) or Twitter (SheltieChula).

    Licks!
    Chula

    • Hi Chula! Thanks so much for sharing that info with my readers! Ohhh I would LOVE to meet you! Maybe you could fly to Michigan? We could share a bone or two together? Maybe chase a few balls?
      We are following you on Twitter and Facebook and am hoping others will do the same!
      It was easy to do the review because the book was just SUPERB!!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

      • Hi Dakota,
        Are you sure you don’t want to convince your Mom to visit one of the most dog-friendly towns in America? Carmel is a pretty fantastic place to vacation. 🙂 We even have a “dog beach” here and two famous hotels that have dog menus!

        I am definitely for sharing a bone and chasing balls (or cats). 🙂

        Barks,
        Chula

      • Hi Chula!
        BOL!!! A dog beach??? Hotels with DOG MENUS??!! Forget Mom! I will fly there myself!! BOL! You never know, one day we just might show up there!! What FUN that would be!
        Oh Chula if we could ever swing it! (sigh)
        Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  25. That sounds like a perfect book for traveling to Paris with your pet (Mom) and all explained (barked) by a Sheltie. You both did a great review:-)

  26. Hey Dakota,

    I wish my pawrents had read this book when they went to Paris, cos then I could have gone too!! Chula is from Carmel? Wow, that’s just down the road from me, I love it there, super Dog Friendly!! 🙂

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • you should get together with Chula sometime!! Then you could give her a kiss from me! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  27. I never knew there are so many dogs related bonks till I found your book, Dakota!!

    awesome review and I bet you’ll read the book again and again 😉


Leave a Reply

