I am HONORED!


There are a lot of contests out there that many of us enter that offer prizes such as money, pet supplies and blog “notoriety”, just to name a few. I recently entered a contest that for me, was probably the most emotionally rewarding of any contest that I have entered thus far.

 

My friend Ann Paws who is the author  of one of my favorite new blogs:

 

Click here to visit!

had a contest where we had to submit a photo of what our PETS are thankful for.

 

For me, this was a no-brainer. My “boyz” are MOST thankful for EACH OTHER. This photo was my entry:

 

 

 

Cody and Dakota have a most unique relationship. I couldn’t be more blessed, nor could THEY!

 

They are playmates, partners in crime and conspiracy, companions when my husband and I aren’t home,  they visibly worry when one of them is gone from our home even if it is just for an hour or two.  At night, by choice, they  sleep in close proximity of each other. My vet often tells me how he marvels at the intensity of their bond. Don’t tell them that cats and dogs aren’t supposed to get along. They exhibit care and concern for each other that many of us could learn from. All of this, and my method of “introducing” them  completely defied “conventional” blogging and textbook guidelines. I listened to my heart, which rarely steers me wrong.

 

There were 3 winners of this contest and my photo of Dakota and Cody was the GRAND PRIZE WINNER! I am honored and elated that my photo won the contest! What thrilled me the most was that the “judge” of this contest was Anns’  8 year old daughter, Lily:

 

Photo courtesy of:

http://mypawsitivelypets.blogspot.com/2012/11/thanksgiving-photo-contest-winner.html

 

 

What was special to me,  was this was TRULY a “fair and unbiased” judge who not only didn’t know any of the entrants, she just loves animals! There was no “hidden agenda” here! You know what they say, “out of the mouths of babes.” Lily said that my photo was  “adorable.”


You can’t fool a child. Children are often our harshest critics. They respond on an emotional level,  a child can sense dishonesty and those with less than stellar intentions a mile away. Ironically, our pets also have this ability. Want to know if a person is GENUINE? Introduce them to your children or your pets.

 

Being the winner of the “GRAND PRIZE” for this contest didn’t bring money, or pet toys or supplies or even a shiny statuette. The prize is THIS lovely badge that I am displaying with enormous pride:

 

 

 

this is PRIZE ENOUGH for me! I don’t have mad photography skills,  or the latest camera loaded with bells and whistles. What I DO have are a dog and a cat whose affection for each other lit up that photo and made my message clear.

 

My “prize” was my work touching the heart of a child. To me, that is the GREATEST gift of all, and in the spirit of Thanksgiving….I THANK YOU LILY from the bottom of my heart.

 

 

 

 

Published in: on November 19, 2012 at 10:00 am  Comments (46)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/i-am-honored/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

46 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How wonderful, that little girl has great judging skills, because your photo was beautiful 🙂 Big congratulations xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • thank you!! Love, “Mom”

  2. Oh Miss Caren! And sweet Cody and precious Dakota…that photo is screaming a thousand words…of love, kindness, caring, differences complementing, and yes, gotta say it…world peace! fab award, wear it on your blogs with great pride. Paw pats, Savvy

    • Savannah THANK YOU!!! I am quite proud and so are the “boyz”….the same post will run on Cat Chat on Wednesday. Unfortunately for word press I’m not sure that I can put the badge on my side bar but it is already on the side bar of Cat Chat! I am quite honored! Love, “Mom”

  3. No one is more deserving than you guys! ~xo~

    • now that isn’t quite true but THANK YOU! Love, “Mom”

  4. That’s awesome!! What a great award, and I love the photo too.

    • thank you so much Roxy! Love, “Mom”

  5. Congratulations. You definitely deserved to win 🙂

    • thank you Misaki! Love, “Mom”

  6. Congratulations on your win! It is a lovely photo and it’s lovely to hear how much Dakota and Cody mean to each other.

    • thank you so much Clowie! Love, “Mom”

  7. Congratulations! Cody and Dakota are precious! Their bond is amazing and even more amazing because it is a dog-cat relationship! We could all learn lots from them! Have a great week!

    • thank you so much!! We sure could! You have a great week too! Love “Mom”

  8. Congratulations , Lily has a good sense for winners ;o) If you ask me , to be “partners in crime and conspiracy” is the best basic of an endless relationship. If humans would heed this too,I’ll bet we would have not one divorce ;o) btw: I have a star for you on my blog – hope I can post it – the WP-devil is torturing me…

    • Hi Easy! thanks so much! Ohhh I saw your lovely star and I just left a comment…THANK YOU for thinking so highly of us. We feel the same about you! We just adore you! We are hoping that your internet troubles are over soon because we will miss you!!!! Love, “MOM”

  9. Congratulations! Well deserved 😀

    • thank you so much Sue! Love, “Mom”

  10. Kids are the best judges of character – congrats!

    • thank you so much Will and Eko!!!! Love, “Mom”

  11. woo-hoo! Congratulations on winning the grand prize Dakota and Cody!!!

    • thanks so much! Love from all!

  12. Your photo is so lovely! Congrats. 🙂

    • thank you!!! Love, “Mom”

  13. Wow congratulations!!
    Benny & Lily

    • thank you so much Benny & Lily! Love, “Mom”

  14. How sweet Caren! I will have to get Lily to read this when she comes home from school. I just told her I had a job for her and she wrote down her list of 3 winners for me. I wish that my cat got along with my dog when she was around. They were more like arch nemesis of each other.

    • Hi Ann! I am posting it on Cat Chat on Wednesday as well 🙂 I thought she would be happy to see it twice 🙂 I was extremely touched and flattered that she picked me! I hope it makes her smile. I am so sorry about your cat and dog 😦 Love, “Mom”

  15. That photo is lovely, as they say a picture speaks a thousand words.

    Sheba.

    • thanks so much Sheba! Love, “Mom”

  16. Concatulations! But in our books, Dakota and Cody yous is ALWAYS winners!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Awww thank you Nellie!! xoxoxo Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. A well deserved award! How sweet that your two little dolls get along so well. It proves that animals have hearts, souls and empathy for other living beings. What a beautiful gift to be able to witness that everyday.

    Lily is an intuitive young lady.

    • Sara I love how you stated this so eloquently. You hit it on the head. Perfect! ((((hugs)))) and Love, “Mom’

  18. Wow, this is a lovely honor. And yes, your two boys look like they have a special relationship. I hope some day we can find a devoted friend for Honey.

    • thank you Pamela, I was quite touched! Yep my boys sure do! I hope one day you also find a “devoted friend” for Honey ((((hugs))) Love, “Mom”

  19. Congratulations! It’s a well-deserved award! And Mom knows all too well that kids will give you a pretty honest opinion!

    Bunny

    • thank you Bunny and your Mom is absolutely right! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  20. Hey Dakota

    Huge congrats to you and Cody on this award!!

    Lily sure has good taste – you guys are so awesome – I’d love to be snuggled up with my own Cat – Mum says I’m dreaming as she totally can’t imagine it – sigh!! 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  21. And so you should be! Congratulations on receiving such a lovely award from such wonderful people!!
    Wally & Sammy & mom

  22. Congratulations to my dear Dakota and Cody!!! That is a very very sweet picture of both of you and it truly shows the brotherly love of two of you.

    The little beautiful girl knew the best!

    Love,
    Eva

    • Ohhh Eva THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  23. Congratulations!!! Soooo well deserved! Your picture of you and Cody is just beautiful!!

    • thank you so much! Love, “Mom”

  24. Just catching up reading some older blog posts. Congratulations on winning that contest. Lily has great taste to pick u guys to win. Love your badge.

    • thanks so much!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

