Happy 5th “Gotcha Day” Precious Dakota!


You came to us from up above,

a precious “Sheltie-boy” for us to love.

All licks and love and with a waggling tail,

with an abundance of energy

that wouldn’t  be curtailed.

You are the answer to our every dream,

a Sheltie of our own to love and preen.

You bark,

you prance,

you bark,

you dance,

we wouldn’t trade you for a zillion dollars!

NOT A CHANCE!!

Happy 5th “Gotcha Day” Precious Boy!

Love, “Mom and Dad”

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/happy-5th-gotcha-day-precious-dakota/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

90 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a beautiful poem, beautiful picture and beautiful you, Dakota!

    We like “You bark, you prance, you bark, you dance” as they are truly sheltie spirits indeed.

    Happy Gotcha Day, our dear Dakota!

    Hope you have a lot of treats, pressies and hugs. Have a terrific day and be pampered and spoilt!

    Love and licks,
    Eva, Mika, Priscilla and Rosie

    • Hi Eva, Mika, Priscilla and Rosie!! Mom says thank you sooo much about the poem and picture!!

      Awww you sooooooo understand the “Sheltie Spirit” that is for sure! You understand it even better than my Mom does!

      I did have LOTS of treats, I got a stuffed duck as a prezzie and Mom kissed and kissed me ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLL DAY! So much so, that Cody got jealous! BOL!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Awww Dakota, what a lovely poem your mama wrote for you!! Happy 5th Gotcha Day – we hope it is filled with lots of treats and surprises just for you!

    licks & love
    Wally & Sammy

    • Hi Wally & Sammy! Mom says thank you and I say THANK YOU for your wonderful wishes! I had a great day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Beautiful poem for a beautiful Sheltie! Happy 5th “Gotcha Day” Dakota:)

    • Tyler thank you sooooooo much!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. What a bootiful poem. It sure sounds like you are well loved Dakota! 🙂

    Happy Gotcha Day!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    • My Mom says thanks so much Nibbles, Nutty, Buddy & Basil!! I sure am, just like YOU! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Have a wonderful day, Dakota!

    • Hi Clowie!! Thanks soooo much! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. A BIG HAPPY 5th Gotcha Day Dakota. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Awww Molly THANK YOU SOOOOOO VERY MUCH! I had a fabulous Friday and hope that you did too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Big Big Happy Gotcha Day Dakota..Lot’s of treats..Great poem and what a lovely photo..I can’t see if Mom’s got her lippy on..BOL xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Hi Mollie and Alfie!!!! Ohhh yes I had LOTS of treats!!! You have to ask if Mom has her “lippy” on???????!! But OF COURSE!!! BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Happy Gotcha day too Dakota.

    • Hi Zena!! Thanks so much!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Me and Nellie have never heard of a “Gotcha Day”. Does it involve lots of tasty treats? What do you do on this day? Love Nellie and Jasper.

    • Hi Nellie and Jasper! I am sorry, I should have explained. A “Gotcha Day” is the day you first arrived to live with your family. It could happen through adoption, through pawchasing a dog or a cat from a responsible breeder or finding a pet or whatever! It’s the anniversary of the first day that you came to live with your family. It DOES involve tasty treats (but EVERY DAY does!) and even prezzies! You can do whatever you wish on that day but most of the day is devoted to your family just adoring you even more than they do EVERY DAY!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Wonderful Sheltie mets wonderful family – sometimes the world is just perfect!!! It’s a very nice poem and I think you are priceless anyway… and we get the zillion better from the lottery :o))))) Enjoy your Gotcha Day!!!

    • Awww Easy that is sooo sweet!! lol about the zillion! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Happy 5th Gotcha Day! We are visiting from Eva’s blog. We are both Sheltie boys like you. Hope you get lots of presents from your peeps today! Our names are Lassiter Chase and Benjamin Gilligan but for short, my Mommy calls us Lassie and Benji.

    • Hi Lassie and Benji!!! Ohhh how NICE of you to stop by and wish me a Happy Gotcha Day! You are Sheltie’s too!!! Ohhh I am coming over to visit you! Thank you so much!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. Woohoo! Happy 5th Gotcha Day Dakota! Wishin you the happiest of celebrations my zillion dollar doggy furiend 🙂

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

    • Hi Roo thank you!!! “zillion dollar doggy furiend” love it!!! have a great day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Many blessings to all three of you. Yoy have each other. I have a sheltie sized hole in my heart. I hope to fill it next spring. You are all awesome.

    • Thanks so much McGuffyAnn! Awww we hope you get to fill your “sheltie-sized hole in your heart” soon! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “mom”

  14. Awww, I love this poem!!!! It’s perfect.

    Happy Gotcha Day!

    • Sara coming from a fellow “Sheltie-Mom” that means A LOT!! Thank you!! Love, “Mom”

  15. Awwwe sweet Dakota! Happy 5th Gotcha Day!!! I’m sure you’ll enjoy lots of spoils from your Momma. Have a great day!!

    • Thank you Bassetmomma! Hope Mom gets me something good!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. YAY! Happy Gotcha Day Dakota! xx

    • thank you so much Milo and Alfie! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. happy gotcha day buddy… hope there are lots of treats in store for you

    • thank you Hilary!!! I hope so too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Happy birthday, I am so happy you have a wonderful life with a career. Momma, doesn’t seem that long ago that you were asking questions about our brown little boy and worrying about his color changing LOL. Thankyou so much for loving him.

    • Hi Grandma Ellis!!!!!!!! YOU know…this is my GOTCHA DAY!! NOT my BIRTHDAY!! BOL!! My birthday is in February!!! You were the FIRST one to know me…you and my Sheltie Mom “Tula”….
      Hi “Grandma Ellis!!” It’s “Mom” and ohhhhhhhhhhhh you made me laugh!!!!!!!!!!! Yes!! Remember when I was obsessed with all of the “white!!???” OMG you have an amazing memory!
      THANK YOU THANK YOU for allowing us to share our lives with this CRAZY, LOUD, CLEVER but INCREDIBLY LOVING Sheltie-Boy! He was the answer to a life-long dream. We adore him!!! We love YOU TOO!!

  19. Happy Gotcha Day Dakota. ~Socks, Scylla & Fenris

    • Hi Socks, Scylla and Fenris, thanks so much!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  20. Awwwwwwww!! Happy happy Gotcha Day sweet Dakota!!! We hope you have great day full of treats and pressies! Yay!

    take care
    x

    • Hi Old Kitty!!!!!! Thank you soooo much!!! I had a great day with lots of treats and I got a stuffed DUCK!! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Happy Gotcha day to you Dakota. Aren’t you lucky to find such a nice home. Love the poem. Take care.

    • thank you so much Marg!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  22. Whoa! Happy Gotcha Day! woo woo woo!

    • thanks Rumpy!! I know my Mom and you have a really SPECIAL day coming up tomorrow!!! Happy, Happy, Early, Early!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  23. Happy 5th Gotcha Day Dakota! Have a great day!

    • Thanks Dogs N Pawz!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  24. Happy Gotcha Day Dakota
    We hope your getting very spoilt on such a special day
    From Milo & Jet

    • Hi Milo & Jet and thanks!! I sure am!!! Barks and licks and love Dakota

  25. Snoopy-Dance-‘O-Joy on your celebration!

    • amy I can hear the music now! 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  26. Yay!! Happy 5th Gotcha Day buddy!! 🙂

    What an awesome poem – I love it!!

    Are you gonna have cake to celebrate? 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! I just came from reading your blog and was laughing and laughing at your video pal!

      I didn’t get cake but I got a super tasty dinner!!

      Hmmm…I need to put my paw down and tell my pawrents I need CAKE!

      Thanks pal!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  27. I just had to stop by and wish you a very Happy Gotcha Day! Dakota, you’re awesome! And Mom and Dad – you might feel lucky, but Dakota feels lucky to have found you, too 🙂

    • Hi Kim and CindyLu!! That was so sweet of you to stop by! Awww mom said you brought tears to her eyes! You made MY tail wag! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  28. Aww that’s awesome. Dakota is a very lucky dog indeed.

    • thanks Roxy! We are the ones who are pretty darned lucky!! Love, “Mom”

  29. Happy gotcha day sweet Dakota
    Benny & Lily

    • Thank you Benny & Lily!! Barks and licks and much love, Dakota

  30. Woof! Woof! Happy GOTCHA Day! Dakota. Enjoy your day. Hope you get extra tasty treats. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Hi Sugar!! Thank you soooooo much!!! I DID get “extra tasty treats” today! YAY! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  31. happy gotcha day!!!!! What a lovely poem for a lovely sheltie 🙂

    • Hi Misaki! Thank you sooooo much!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota PS: I really AM barking!! I came over to Mom while she was typing my reply, looked at her and started barking!! BOL!

  32. Dakota! Wowwie! 5 whole years! Yous rocks and so does your Mommy & Daddy!
    ♥♥♫♪Happy Gottcha day to you ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥¸
    ¸.•*¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha day to you ♪♫•*¨*
    •.¸¸♥ ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha day Dear Cody !!!!! ♪♫•*
    ¨*•.¸¸♥ ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha Day to you! ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥

    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Nellie Hi! you are such a creative kitty!! I LOVED your song but guess what???? You have CODY on the brain!! BOL!!! (I understand why hehehe) but it is MY “Gotcha Day!!” BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  33. Happy Gotcha Day, Dakota!
    Purrs from your kitty buddies,
    BoBo and Mi-Mi

    • Hi Bobo and Mi-Mi!! I got so excited when I saw your greeting that I just started barking! BOL!! Thanks so much! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  34. Awww, what a sweet poem. And I bet Dakota’s barks all rhyme today too. 🙂

    Happy Gotcha Day!

    • Thanks so much Pamela! I just barked and nope! Mom said it didn’t rhyme! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  35. Happy Gotcha Day

    Stop on by for a visit
    Kari
    http://dogisgodinreverse.com

    • Hi Kari and thanks!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  36. Eva told us some handsome boy was having a apecial day. Happy Gotcha Day to you, Dakota.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    • Hi Phantom, Thunder, Ciara and Lightning!!! OMD I am sooo honored that my beloved Eva told so many doggies about my Gotcha Day!! Wow!! I am just in shock!! Thanks so much for stopping by! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  37. Happy happy gotcha day Dakota !!
    We just looove your family portrait, we have to make one someday.

    Woos of love.

    Echo & Link

    p.s :We have something sweet for you! Come see: http://huskyslife.com/food-figh/

    • Hi Echo & Link!!! Thank you soooooooo much!!! Oh wow!! I’ll be over! Thank you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  38. Happy Gotcha Day!! That was the day you won the Doggy Lotto!

    • Jackie that is just the sweetest thing! Thank you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  39. Happy Gotcha day Dakota! You and your peoples all look so very happy in that photo!

    • Thanks so much Toby!! We are! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  40. We made a little something for you Dakota! Check it out here:
    http://dogsnpawz.com/follow-up-friday-8.html

    • You are so sweet! I am on my way over!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  41. Happy Gotcha Day, Dakota. We’re two Sheltie boys too. I’m Beckett a bi-black and my little brother is named Keltic, he’s a sable Sheltie.

    • Hi Beckett! It is a pleasure to meet you! How nice of you to stop by! Please tell your little brother, Keltic that I say hi! He is a sable like me! I am going to stop over and visit you right now! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  42. Hi again, Dakota. We gots our Mum to add follow by e-mail to her blog. And she added your site to her list of dog blogs. We’ll be seeing more of you.

    • Ohhhh you are WONDERFUL!!! THANK YOU!!!! I am on my way over!! I am doing Sheltie-spins because I am sooo happy to meet you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  43. Oh, sweet Dakota we were sad to come here and see that we missed your Gotcha Day! We hope you had a very special day with your sweet mom and pop and you got lots of nice treats. We love you! You all have a wonderful weekend. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Hi Mumsy!! It is ok! We know you are busy!!! Thank you for thinking of me! I love you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  44. Hi Dakota… Kroten, Papoe, Kurome and I wish you a warm happy gotcha day 🙂

    How wonderful that your gotcha day is close to my precious baby, Kame.

    I love the poem 🙂
    We know you are truly loved by your mom and dad.

    • Hi Kroten and gang! ((((hugs))) about my Gotcha Day being close to Kame….we love you!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  45. I can’t believe i missed this. Hugs and what a great pic!

    • Carol I can believe it! You are one busy lady!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and THANK YOU!!


Leave a Reply

