“Devious?” Never! “Clever?” Of course! “Genius?” ABSOLUTELY!


Happy Friday all! Yep, I’m late! Almost wasn’t even going to be able to blog today with all that is going on at my house, but duty or is it DOODY? calls!

Today I am going to tell you about an award I was given by my buddy Toby over at

Click on the photo to visit Toby’s blog!

This award was a new one to me! Check it out!

The requirements that one must complete upon accepting this award, is to name and link to the doggy who gave it to you…DONE! 

You know what? I am not sure what the other requirements are, but to prove that I am worthy of this award, I am going to elaborate on a couple of things that Toby mentioned in his post that we seem to have in common. Once you read these you will know that I was a deserving recipient.

TOBY EATS DOG POOP. YES, you read that correctly. If you think you missed it, let me say this again, TOBY EATS DOG POOP. Ya know what? So do I! Does that make me “devious?” Nooo…it makes me a genius and proves that I am quite  clever! Why? All dog poop is, is the same food that I just ate right before I  pooped!! It’s just in a more palatable form! It’s packed with nutrients and comes with the added bonus of dirt, cat fur, dust bunnies and whatever else I  may have ingested while going about my  daily “business.”  With everyone being so concerned about the environment, consider it a form of recycling and get over it, ok?

TOBY DOESN’T DO WELL WITH COMMANDS.  Neither do I. Let me put it to you this way, do YOU like to be told what to do? What if you feel like running and someone tells you to SIT? What if you want to rest and someone tells you to COME?  What if you found a hundred-zillion dollars and someone told you to LEAVE IT!! You wouldn’t listen, would you? Well, my 2-legged friends I am  no different than you! I have the ability to think, and in some cases I can exercise sound REASONING skills as well! I will be the one to decide WHAT I will do and WHEN I will do it! Being a Shetland Sheepdog I am the 6th most intelligent dog of the top 20 breeds. Don’t believe me? See for yourself!

1 – border collie
2 – poodle
3 – German shepherd
4 – golden retriever
5 – doberman pinscher
6 – shetland sheepdog
7 – Labrador retriever
8 – papillon
9 – rottweiler
10 – Australian cattle dog
11 – Pembroke welsh corgi
12 – miniature schnauzer
13 – English springer spaniel
14 – Belgian terrine
15 – schipperke / Belgian sheepdog
16 – collie / keeshound
17 – German short haired pointer
18 – flat coated retriever / English cocker spaniel / standard schnauzer
19 – Brittany spaniel
20 – cocker spaniel

Source(s):

The Intelligence of Dogs by Stanley Coren

 

See? I don’t need YOU to make decisions for me. You want TRICKS….buy a SEAL!

I could go on and on with further examples of why I am worthy of this award but one thing that makes me even more clever and even more of a genius is that I know when to STOP. Well, unless I am on a barking binge but I digress…

Now I am supposed to award this to 7 other bloggers!  Ok…here we go, if you have already received this just pretend I never told you about the award, it will be our little secret.

It’s EASY!!!! click on the photo to visit his blog

 

Click on the photo to visit their blog!

 

Click on their photo to visit their blog!

 

 

That’s it. Yeah, I KNOW that that’s not SEVEN. Did you NOT read my post above? I DON’T DO WELL WITH COMMANDS and I am the SIXTH MOST INTELLIGENT. I told you, I MAKE the decisions.  I don’t care what some arbitrary award tells me to do, “it’s MY way or the HIGHWAY!!” Now, if you will excuse me, I think I will go and:

EAT SOME POOP!!

Barks and licks and love,

Dakota

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/devious-never-clever-of-course-genius-absolutely/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

52 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on the award…even if you ARE poop eaters 😉 hehe. And I couldn’t help but notice that Basset Hounds weren’t on that list? bahahaha!

    P.S. I also want to thank you for sharing my bullying post! I REALLY appreciate it!!

    • Hi Brandi and thank you!!! I think Basset Hounds are quite smart! What is wrong with these darned “list makers!!??” Mom said you are MOST WELCOME. She said your post had her in tears. It was beautifully written and one of the most wonderful blog posts she has read in quite some time. Mom thinks you should submit it to your local paper. You are an incredible PAWSON. Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  2. Congratulations! I can understand anydog who eats puke but not poop!

    • Clowie, same concept…different END….BOL!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Dakota, you crack me up! You are so very Sheltie! Which, BTW, I think is THE #1 smartest dog. Just sayin’…

    • BOL McGuffyAnn you are just biased!! But I love ya for it! Barks and licks and love, dakota

  4. Ha! I had to laugh at you licking your lips there Dakota. I did not know that you, like Gloria is a eater of poo! I don’t feel so bad now. Thanks for sharing such personal facts with us and congratulations on your terrific award buddy! 🙂

    • Hi Bassetmomma! BOL!! YAY for Gloria! I am so glad we are of the same “fur” BOL! I was actually going to give this to Freddie as well but Mom said you have been quite busy and not to bother you with this silliness! Believe me…Freddie was at the TOP of my list but my Mom was a complete KILL JOY!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Hay, I’m at the top of the list for intelligence..I knew it, I kept telling everyone 🙂 Fank youz so much for the award my furiend..I will post it next week ( Humom is having a melt down, we have family this weekend, no blogs visited…new post being a pain in the Ass..you’z been there, are there..got the T-shirt..where’s that Brandy! ) LOL xx00xx

    • Of COURSE you are!! 🙂 Ohhh nooo!!! OMG I understand about being busy so don’t even worry about it! You know FIRST HAND that I understand about “melt downs” you have witnessed ENOUGH of mine!!! YEAH!! PASS THE BRANDY!!! MUCH LOVE AND HANG IN THERE!!!! “Mom”

  6. Eat some poop!!!
    Ohhhh boy it made me laugh, good thing it’s casual Friday.

    • BOL!!! YOU made ME laugh!!!! Have a great rest of your Friday! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. OMG! No poop eating for Baylie Dog! With all her other little quirks, I don’t think I could survive that one! BTW, BaylieDog is part border collie with a little great pyrenees thrown in. That makes her stubborn and smart; a conflicting combination!

    • Malia Hi! Tell Baylie she doesn’t know what she is missing. Leave it to a GIRL dog NOT to eat poop! She is probably afraid it will mess her fur. Not me! I just dive right in! I am stubborn AND smart too. That’s why when I go on walks (which I hate) I just sit down and refuse to move. I could just sit there for HOURS. BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. It’s not eating dog poop, it’s recycling
    Benny & Lily

    • Benny & Lily that’s EXACTLY what I said BOL…Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Ha Ha! Great post Dakota. I knew we had a lot in common. Hey, we’re nearly side by side in that intelligence chart too. 🙂

    • Toby I have ALWAYS known that we have a lot in common! BOL! that’s why I liked you right off the bat! Hmmmm “side by side in intelligence”….now we know what the problem is! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • Ha ha Dakota — I said nearly. 🙂 At least we are in the top ten.

      • 🙂

  10. We loves to eat poops too and sister Ash likes to express her anal glands all over our humans! The three of us dogs are kind of gross now that you mention it!

    • OMD!!! OMD I think Ash has me beat by a mile!!! BOL!!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Dakota!! You are truly amazing and unique! And me and Charlie are in AWE at your woofie logic! “If you want tricks, get a seal” is our favourite! LOL! Take care
    x

    • BOL Old Kitty!!! I am so glad you like my “logic” BOL!!! We love you and Charlie! barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. Why are TT’s not on that list? Do not answer that! And are standard schnauzers more intelligent than giant schnauzers (I think I’m pretty clever to spell that!).
    Totally not with you on the poop thing.
    Totally with you on the command thing, though to be honest, I am a very well behaved Tibbie and I do come when called and sit and stuff. Zac mocked me but I have a compliant personality – he was the difficult one!

    • Zena Hi!!! Did you read Cat Chat on Thursday? My brother, Cody featured you! I think I am more like Zac was. I do “sit” and “come” when I feel like it but that is about it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. I have never tried dog poop, but cat poop is quite tasty. Mumsy says yuck to it all. She is doing the shivers. lol Congrats on the award sweet Dakota! Hugs and nose kisses

    • OMD you have me beat!!!! Cat poop????? I have never tried that! BOL!!!! Thank you Chancy!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. Congratulations Dakota and I think you are quite Clever. I had a dog a few years ago that liked to recycle poop also, I thought it was Yucky! Lexie and Mica must eat things they hate because when they go they get away from it as quickly as possible. When I have to go out and pick it up out of the yard they leave!!!

    • lol tyler!! That was such a cute story about lexie and Mica!!! BOL! My Mom wishes I would be like them! Thanks so much for your congrats! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  15. Ha-ha! You had me giggling with this award! I have never heard of this clever award! Congratulations and wow, Thanks for thinking of us!

    • Jen I am so happy that I made you laugh 🙂 Leroy and Sherman aren’t devious but they ARE clever!!! And geniuses! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. Dakota, your list is faulty! It has German Shepherds on it instead of Greyhounds!

    Bunny

    • Bunny not my fault!! I think you are BRILLIANT! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Oh good gracious, you EAT poop!?! Yuck!!! That’s the only thing that I never touch, Dakota! I might eat my own puke but not POOP!!! Oh, can you please stop eating poop, just for ME, please!
    You’re so right that we Shelties are one of the smartest breeds in the world and we know what we are doing, we don’t need any commands given by the humans at all. However, sometimes I do listen to my mom as she always gets me some yummylicious treats if I pretend I listen to her. However, when it comes to my duty of patrolling, I never need her commands even though she has a TURKEy in her hand. I’m a big girl and I know what my duty is.
    Congratulations on your award. I don’t think I need any award like this one though. Just saying.

    ~Eva

    • Ohhh noooo Eva! Will this make you not love me anymore? (hanging head in shame) I don’t do it ALL of the time. Only sometimes and only if it is left unattended outside…I do it very rarely! I promise I won’t do it anymore! Just for YOU!
      You are right, you don’t need an award like this because you are a Princess! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Congrats on the award Dakota! We notice that Scottish Terriers are not on the list…we are just gonna pretend that it was an oversight by the person who composed it, ok?

    Have a grrreat weekend!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Hi Wally & Sammy thank you! yeah I see that you and Easy were left off! Hmmmm….what is wrong with those people? Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  19. Congartulation&thanks Dakota!!! You deserved the “Change the World Best Pratice Prize” ( purse is 200k!) for eating pooh – your mom needs no poo-bags…..that’s environmentally friendly!! btw: I’m NOT on the list – hmmm…. of course I’m a human – I only look different (better!)

    • Hi Easy and thanks!! YES YOU ARE ON THE LIST!!!! let me check again! I put you on the list!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  20. Way to go Dakota for making it VERY clear that you won’t be bossed around!! Tee Hee – I’m not surprised you’re so high up on the intelligence list – I can tell you’re very smart – are you in Doggy Mensa? 🙂

    Luckily my Mum researched my breed before getting me and discovered we are also ‘independent’ thinkers and like to make our own decisions – she also read that you need to make Beardies think it’s their own idea – she’s still working on that 🙂

    Hope you’re having a fun weekend buddy and doing whatever you feel like doing 🙂

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • BOL Snoopy! Mom and I are reading this together and she is laughing!!! I SHOULD be in “doggy mensa!” She gave me a new puzzle last night that she thought would occupy me for about a half hour and I figured it out in less than 30 seconds!!! BOL!
      Mom has to work on having me think that things are MY idea too BOL!!
      have a great weekend pal!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  21. Congrats on the award!!
    Mummy lol’d that I’m not on the intelligent list!

    • Thank you!! My Mommy “lol’d” that I AM on the list! Could’a fooled HER! BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  22. Dear Dakota, While I do not share your fine taste in meadow muffins, I couldn’t agree more. They are highly nutritious and a great way to get rid of the poop in park problem. [I don’t know why The Typist is making a face as she types this. Humans can be so finicky and precious.]

    Congratulations on your award! Isn’t this like your zillionth one this month? Happy weekend 🙂 X

    P.S. I am a PigDog and am not on the list. What does that mean? You’d better not say I’m stoopid, okay?

    • Hi Georgia! “Meadow Muffins” OMD that is hilarious!!!!!!!!!! Nooooo I don’t have zillions of awards but thank you for thinking so! Mom is just too lazy to help me blog about them so they all seem to appear at once BOL! Noooo you aren’t “stoopid” at all!! NO DOGGIES ARE! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  23. whuahahaha … Kroten will jump in joy if she read this! I have been teaching her to stop eating her poop but it was a waste of training time. it worked wonder with Kame and fail badly with Kroten *sigh*

    Well, I have given up teaching her that.

    • BOL! BOL!!! YAY FOR KROTEN!! I KNEW there was a reason that I LOVE THAT TURTLE!! BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  24. Jenny thinks being highly intelligent is over-rated – it just leads people to expecting things she will not be giving them…of course, she is a Rough Collie and thus no one expects a Sheltie’s worth of smarts from her 😉

    • Chris…Collie’s are super smart too!!!! Lassie was certainly no slouch! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  25. Hey Dakota, Jet here. Hi Miss Caren.

    Dude, may I first send my congratulations for receiving this award.

    Uh, about the poop… JJ does that sometimes, too. Me? I prefer Kitty caviar. I totally follow your logic and cannot for the life of me understand why humans cannot register the same.

    Thank you for the intelligence list. As a combination of #18 and #1 (don’t mean to brag) with a stronger instinctual leaning to my collie side… giving me (according to Mom) a technical 9.5, skewed to probably a 6/7 all of your deductions (VBP – Vocab builder project) resonate with me (and Little Miss #4) completely. 🙂

    • Hi Jet! Thanks so much! As for the rest…pleading the fifth 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

