My Name Is Gonna Be In The Book “Lost And Found” by Amy Shojai!!


Yep you read that right! Back in July my Mom entered my name, “Dakota” in a contest held by Amy Shojai.  Amy is super well-known in the cat world, for those of you who may not know her, here is some info about her:

Amy Shojai

From http://amyshojai.com

AMY’S BLOG: Bling, Bitches & Blood– is your virtual water cooler for all-things-pets,  bloody-good writing tips, and some serious sparkle-icity. The edu-tainment empowers dog and cat lovers, inspires writers, and dazzles readers with wit, wisdom, and shiny objects. (She cain’t hep it, she’s from Texas!)

Amy Shojai has been reinventing herself for years. She’s a certified animal behavior consultant, and the award-winning author of 24 best selling pet books that cover furry babies to old-fogies, first aid to natural healing, and behavior/training to Chicken Soup-icity. She is the Puppies Guide atpuppies.About.com, the cat behavior expert at cats.About.com, writes features for AOL’s PawNation.com and Huffington Post, and hosts a weekly half hour Internet Pet Peeves radio show. Amy has been featured as an expert in hundreds of print venues including The New York Times, Reader’s Digest, and Family Circle, as well as national radio and television networks such as CNN, Animal Planet’s DOGS 101 and CATS 101. She’s been a consultant to the pet products industry and a host/program consultant for select “furry”  TV projects. Amy  brings her unique pet-centric viewpoint to public appearances, writer conferences keynotes/seminars and thriller fiction (including pet “voice”).

What a pedigree, eh?

Anyway….back to the contest!

Amy held a contest asking readers to suggest names for the canines in her debut thriller:

click on the book cover to read all about Amy’s new book!

Here are the results from Amy’s blog post

 

NAME THAT PET CONTEST RESULTS

Thank you to everyone for your participation in the “Name That Dog” and “Name That Cat” contests to help me find the perfect choices for some of the furry characters in the book LOST AND FOUND.

More than 85 terrific cat and dog names were suggested. I narrowed the choices to about a dozen each, set up polls for you to vote, and we had over 800 votes result.

I’d say pet people are passionate about pet names! Without further delay, here are the results.

DOG HEROES NAMED

Caren Gittleman suggested the winning dog name Dakota because it means “trusted friend” and is also the name of her lovely Sheltie (who helps her co-write Dakota’s Den Blog).

In the book LOST AND FOUND, the main character September mourns the loss of her heart-dog (we’ve all been there right?) who died trying to save her husband. Therefore, her long lost canine partner DAKOTA is mentioned throughout the book.

How cool is THAT? 

Is that MAJOR mischief or what?

Mom can’t wait to receive her copy of the book to read and review, so stay tuned!!

Published in: on August 6, 2012 at 12:09 am  Comments (37)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/my-name-is-gonna-be-in-the-book-lost-and-found-by-amy-shojai/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

37 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s fantastic Dakota..your gonna be a real star.. I’m going to get that book 🙂
    Have a great day, don’t let all the fame go to your head BOL 🙂
    Hugs
    Mollie xx

  2. Wow Dakota this is really great! I’ll bet sometimes you will get a star on Walk of Fame (I hope it!!!)

    • BOL Easy!!! That was really nice!!! With Amy’s pedigree SHE should have a star on the “Walk Of Fame!!” Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Hey there Dakota–congratulations! I happen to LOVE the name (and voted for that one, too…shhhh, don’t tell anyone 🙂 ) I know you’ll like the book. Dog heroes rule! (cats do some kitty cool stuff, too). Thank your Mom for the shout-out, I’m honored to be mentioned in Dakota’s Den.

    • Hi Amy! Awwww you made Mom and I have the BIGGEST smile on our faces!
      We both love my name and are so happy that you do too!!!
      Mom and I know we will LOVE the book and YOU are honored??? OMD it is Mom and I who are HONORED!!!!
      Thank you!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Wow and looking forward to the review. Have a happy Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Hi Molly thank you! it won’t be for quite some time because the book isn’t out yet but once it is we will be on it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Wow!! Sweet Dakota that is way cool. Congratulations!! Hugs and nose kisses

    • Hi Chancy and Mumsy! I am so happy! Mom can’t wait to read the book! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. Dakota, that is really cool! We will have to check out her blog too.

    • Hi Roxy! Thanks!! I am soooo excited I can’t stop spinning!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. woo-hoo! TOO cool!!

    • Rykers I know!! Isn’t it? I am soooo excited and honored!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Dakota! You won ! It’s not easy having such a cool name is it! *WOOF*

    • BOL BELLA!!!! I love my name and thank you!!!! Mom was so happy when she was picking out a name for me. She always loved the name “Dakota” and then when she saw the meaning, that was it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Oh Wow! Dakota! You my friend ROCK!!!!
    Kisses
    Kozmo at the Cat From Hell!

    • thank you Kozmo!!! I am so excited I can’t stop spinning! barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. That is way cool Dakota! Congratulations and thanks for giving us a another great blog to read!

    • Hi Jen! Thanks and you are welcome! I believe in sharing 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Wow! That’s so cool. You have a great name, Dakota, fur sure!
    Your pals,
    Diane and Cosmo

    • Hi Diane and Cosmo! Thank you so much! I think the name Cosmo is pretty darned cool too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. A great big CONGRATS to you and Dakota. That is really cool. 🙂 Plus I never knew Dakota meant “trusted friend” – what a wonderful name for a fourlegged pal!

    • Hi Donna and thank you!!! Yep it does! Mom had looked it up, it means “trusted friend” in one of the American Indian languages but Mom no longer remembers which tribe it was. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Very cool! Will you still ‘like’ us when you’re a star!!

    • Zac I will NEVER stop liking you!!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. That is pretty darned cool! You’ll be even more famous now, Dakota!

    Bunny

    • thank you Bunny but “famous” is a stretch BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  15. WORLDS COLLIDING! Ami is one of my FaceCrack friends! It’s a small world.

    • flea that is darned funny!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. Isn’t there a Dakota tribe?

    • Hi Flea, yep now that you said it I believe that there is 🙂 Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Rooooo Dakota – that is absolutely pawsome! Congrats on top mischief and can’t wait to see that book *Waggy tail*

    • thank you Alfie! I am sooo excited!!!!! When the book arrives Mom will read and review it! Stay tuned! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Woohoo Dakota!!

    That’s awesome buddy!! I’m not surprised though, you will be a perfect hero and trusted friend in the book!! 🙂

    Will you be doing book signings Dude?

    Big Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! Yeah I am pretty excited! It’s not me though, just my name but that is cool enough!!! I will do “paw” signings!! BOL! Hope you are having a great day! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  19. Wow – super cool!

    Funny because my pup Rita’s best friend is a boxer named Dakota – and I didn’t know it meant that. Dakota was my sweet Abby’s “trusted friend” too before Abby passed away. Dakota was the only dog Abby would share her toys or water bottle with – definitely her “trusted friend”!

    What a cool name and what a fun honor for you!

    • Hi Jackie! Awww a Boxer named “Dakota” I love it! When Mom was a little girl she had a Boxer, they are such great dogs! Ohhhhh I didn’t now that you Abby had a “Dakota” too, that is so sweet and I am so sorry about her passing. Thank you, Mom just loves my name and I do too!!! I am thrilled! Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

