The “Meat” Behind Dog Food-Semi-“Wordy” Wednesday


Dog Food Information

Click on Graphic to see Full Size
Created by Matt Beswick for Pet365. Take a look at the full dog food post.

Published in: on July 25, 2012 at 1:00 am  Comments (26)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/the-meat-behind-dog-food-semi-wordy-wednesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beloved has read so much about dog food and what goes into it because of my health problems.
    She’s kept dogs for years and never thought twice about the food, but since I came along and the possibility of food allergies was raised she had to look into what was in our food and was horrified by some of the things like by-products which could even be animals who have died including dogs and domestic pets!! Maybe it was written to scare her, if so it worked.
    Even though we are not allergic to food, Beloved now gives us a diet of fish (no by products), no corn or wheat and she cooks oatmeal and brown rice to add to it along with flax seed oil and other supplements.
    And I always get a carrot because I love carrots. The Princess doesn’t. I also love apples, but Beloved didn’t know about the seeds, she will be very careful I don’t get the seeds.
    And to think they only began to make dog food because they had a glut of wheat one year – now look at the profits!!

    • Zac my Mom and I so loved your comment!
      We can understand and relate to the allergies because my brother Cody (a cat) has allergies and he can’t eat any of the fun things that I can. It makes Mom sad that he can’t but that is just the way that it is.
      My Mom forgot about oatmeal and said she may have to try that.
      I used to eat carrots but sometimes they don’t agree with me…I LOVE apples! Just love ’em!!
      Thank you for sharing your insightful comment with us!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Wow cool graphic. One look and you got all informations…. must laugh: marijuana… I have to witch my habits ….<—joke

    • Easy, we have no problem with your habit, joke or not!!! BOL!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  3. Wow, that was great…I luv’s a little bit of tomato…i’t say’s I can’t have tomato’s I likes a little slither…I couldn’t see all what it was sayin about dem and it wouldn’t enlarge… I has dried food URH!!! Hay Dakota..I’ms gonna put translations in my post especially for yooo’s BOL, Shellfished post mean’t…We has been selfish and not popped to everyone cos of the competition over at Sammys!! Yooo is sooo funny 🙂

    • Mollie, it wouldn’t enlarge? Hmmmm….I wonder why! Thank you for telling me and i am sooooooooooooooo sorry!!!!

      BOL about the translations….I had a particularly hard time the other day but it could just be me you know! (wink, wink)

      Ohhhh I knew the “shellfished” but ya lost me after that!!! BOL!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and CONGRATS TO YOU TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. We enjoyed that but now I am hungry. Can we have the same again but this time about my other most favourite topic, treats! Have a lovely sun filled Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • TREATS!! Now THAT’S a GREAT idea!!! Thanks Molly!!!!!!!!

  5. Oh my, colgate, mars and nestle make dog food? That’s a bit scary.

    This is a great graphic. I dont’t feed raw, but I do supplement with fresh meats, veggies and yoghurt.

    • Hi Sara, I didn’t know about Colgate but I did know about Mars and Nestle.

      Dakota eats Nutrish by Rachael Ray and has been for the past 5 yrs and we love it!

      We don’t feed raw either, but Dakota loves apples, (no seeds or core, I know!), red pepper, veggies….we never have given him yogurt…what type of yogurt do you give them? I may want to try that.

      Love, “Mom”

  6. It’s a wonderful poster!! Very helpful!! Happy Wednesday gorgeous Dakota! Take care
    x

    • Thanks Old Kitty!! So glad you liked it!! Hope you have a great Wednesday too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Con-grat-ulations toooo’s Cody, I seems to have lost him…Perhaps he’s hidin some where..
    xxxxooooxxxx

  8. Hey Dakota,

    Loved your graphic (but I couldn’t make it bigger either) 😦

    It’s always great for Mum to see more info about what to feed me – she’s always really strict, so next time I think you should include a section on – if you have to be strict just give them more! Tee Hee

    At least I can get Carrots, if I’m hungry I always magically appear at the fridge when Mum goes in there and I do my best sit and sad face, works like a treat!! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! We can’t figure out what it is….we used the correct HTML code so we apologize! We are super sorry!

      I used to eat carrots but they don’t like me much anymore.

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. We like this! Baylie Dog and Malia xoxox

    • Hi Baylie!! thanks!! We do too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “mom”

  10. Thanks for posting the graphic. I never give any of the dogs or cats raw foods. I was surprised to see the company that makes Hill’s Science Diet and Iams. I knew about the others though. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Chancy and Mumsy there are lots of surprises that we didn’t know about! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Wow, that’s a lot of cool info. Torrey gets an occasional mushroom, and we both love carrots and apples.

    • Hi Roxy! It sure is!! I have never given Dakota mushrooms, wondering what he would think of them?
      Love, “Mom”

  12. I was shocked years ago when I started researching some of the ‘grocery store’ brands for dog food. Great, quick way to help people be more educated about what they are feeding their pups!

    • Some brands are shocking Jackie that is for sure!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. This is a very cute way to share information!! I really like it!

    I thought Dog food has more protein than Turtle food…but both food you mentioned above have far lower protein than turtle food.

    I wonder why you aren’t allowed to eat those fruits, Dakota?

  14. This is a very neat post, I really loved this info-graphic, really interesting

    • thank you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

