Bloggers Unite For Dog Rescue!! Promote Dog Adoption On July 23!


Blog the Change

Hi everyone! It’s Dakota, and this is my first time participating in Blog the Change for animals. Normally, my brother Cody from Cat Chat participates, but this time he passed it on to me. Why? Because I am here to tell you about a special event coming up on July 23rd.

Many of you are probably shaking your head wondering why a pure breed dog would be promoting Dog Rescue.  I’ll tell you why. If my parents had a Sheltie rescue near their home, that is where they would have gotten me. Not that they regret having me, NEVER! It’s just that when they wanted to get a Sheltie, my Mom wasn’t blogging, she didn’t know that there are pet transport services such as Pilots N Paws that could have flown a Sheltie to HER!!

All my parents knew then, was that the Sheltie rescues that they searched online for were much too far for them to visit. They do not regret purchasing me from a RESPONSIBLE breeder at all. Mom and Dad love the breeder where I came from and still keep in touch with her. It is just their first choice would have been to help a dog in need.

Why?

One important reason is from http://btc4animals.com

“Millions of dogs are euthanized each year because not enough people are adopting dogs through local rescue groups and shelters.  Instead, many people purchase from pet stores not knowing that most come from puppy mills – read more at: http://www.aspca.org/fight-animal-cruelty/puppy-mills/puppy-scams-cons.aspx:  Additionally, many people underestimate the time and dedication it takes to become a responsible pet owner, and surrender their dogs, or worse.”

So, on July 23rd we are going to be joining other dog bloggers in helping to spread the word about Dog Rescue. 

How can YOU help?

  • You can blog  about a Dog Rescue related topic on July 23rd, 2012
  • Adopting a companion: http://theshelterpetproject.org/
  • Donating to a local dog rescue organization
  • Fostering a dog
  • Volunteering at a local shelter or rescue organization
  • Sharing this post across all forms of social media and encourage others to participate!

Be sure to join us and all of our dog blogging buddies on July 23rd and help us to spread the word about the importance of

DOG RESCUE!!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/bloggers-unite-for-dog-rescue-promote-dog-adoption-on-july-23/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

43 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Weee’s will be there 23rd. Have got me staff to put it on my events calender!
    I was kinda rescued by me Humom, Sheep farmers who use Collies for their sheep’s, don’t like Blondes like meeee’s!! They can’t see us when wee’s in wiff the sheep, so they use the colored Collies. Sooo as I came from a farm, I don’ts nose where I woods of ended up if Humom hadn’t taken me.

    Big Paw Fives, Have a great day
    Mollie x

    • Hi Mollie!!! That is FANTASTIC news!! So glad you will be participating!!!
      Awwww Mollie your story is so sad. They didn’t like “blondes???” They could have still wanted you even if you blended in with the sheep. That is so sad.
      Yeah…my family were show dogs and they decided they couldn’t show me so that is why they were selling me. I know what you mean.
      You have a great day too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Well done bringing this to our attention. Have a lovely Sunday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • thank you Molly! we are gonna participate on the 23rd too! Hope you will as well! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Coming from a family who have rescued many dogs in the past we think this is great.

    • we sure do too!! Have a great day Zac! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Great post and I in no way fault your mom for getting you from a responsible breeder. My motto is – adopt – or shop wisely – which means, no pet store pups and no backyard breeders. 🙂

    But maybe, now that your mom knows about all these great rescues, she might consider adopting you a pal. 😉

    • Hi Donna! Mom thinks that is great but sadly she cannot adopt a “pal” I have a kitty pal (Cody) who WAS adopted. We live in a condo where we are only permitted to have two pets. Plus, the vet and my Mom says bringing in a third would not be a good idea because

      1) We can’t afford it! Dad is retired, mom is out of work…fixed income!
      2) Cody and I have a unique dynamic, we are best buds and even the vet says a third might disrupt that dynamic!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Thanks for the heads up! What a fun and meaningful project. We’ll definitely chip in and do our part. Have a great week 😀

    • You are welcome!!! YAY!! Can’t wait til the 23rd! You have a great week as well! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. I’ll have to remind Mom about this for next week. Her memory isn’t always the best, but I think we have a few ideas!

    Bunny

    • Don’t feel bad Bunny. My Mom is the same!! Just dawned on me! Didn’t I sign up for your blog?????!!! I have to go and check again. I’m not getting it!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  7. We’re really glad your parents got you, too, Dakota! But you’re so right, there are so many dogs sitting in shelters and rescues dreaming of a home. You provided some great ways people can make a difference for rescues!

    Thank you for blogging the change for animals,
    Kim Thomas
    btc4animals.com
    cindylusmuse.blogspot.com

    • Hi Kim!!! Thank you so much!!!! We are proud to be participating this time and giving my brother Cody a break BOL!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Thanks so much for Blogging the Change, Caren, by spreading the word about the July 23rd dog rescue event. With folks like you promoting this special day, it’s sure to be a success!

    Cheers to you and Dakota too! It’s always nice when responsible breeding and rescue can go hand-in-hand for campaigns like this.

    Kim Clune
    Director
    BetheChangeforAnimals.com

    • our pleasure guys and thanks!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  9. Hi Dakota! Just passing by – so glad to see you promoting shelter dogs!

    Looking forward to seeing you again on the 23rd!

    Doreen and The Gang @doggiesandstuff

    • thanks for stopping by Doreen….we post other days too! (wink, wink!!)
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Just stopping by to say hi! Great post and even though you aren’t a shelter or rescue dog, we are glad that your mom found you!

    • Hi Dogs N Pawz!! Awwww thank you for your kind words!!! Thanks for visiting me too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. Great Post Dakota!
    Me loves my hairy slobbery sisters and me is happy that wes gots them. We did not get them from a breeder or a shelter. Bob and Sam (who is now gone) came from a pet store adoption program and Cinnamon came from one of our neighbors.
    This is a great cause and we supports yous and everybody else!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Hi Nellie!
      Thank you!!!
      I thinkk the way that you got Bob and Sam is wonderful!!!
      Was it a Shelter who was at the Pet Store? That is how Cody was adopted. Cody was being fostered by a Rescue organization (I can’t remember their name) who brought animals to PetCo the day that Cody was adopted.
      I love that Cinnamon came from one of your neighbors….Cinnamon is so cute as are ALL OF YOU!!!
      Thank you for visiting us!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. Great worthy promotion Dakota. Have a good Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Hi Molly! It sure is! Hope you have a great Monday too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Absolutely fantastic post for today’s Blog the Change! Thank you for helping to spread the word about the July 23rd event!

    A.J.
    BetheChangeforAnimals.com

    • A.J. Hi!!! Thank you!!!! You TOTALLY have made my Monday!!!
      Have a great day!!
      Love, “Mom”

  14. One of the great things about blog for the change is the opportunity to let people know about great things like Pilots N Paws!

    • thanks so much Beth! I am thinking of writing about them for the 23 or having them guest blog, not sure yet! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  15. You’re a beautiful dog! I don’t think folks who get their dogs from responsible breeders, for various good reasons, should feel bad. It’s the puppy mills that are the big problem. And, having you on board to help spread the word about adopting is a wonderful contribution! Big hugs to you Dakota!
    Peggy
    btc4animals.com
    and Peggy’s Pet Place http://peggyfrezon.blogspot.com

    • Awww Peggy THANK YOU!! That was so nice of you!
      We agree about responsible breeders.
      YEARS ago Mom almost bought a Sheltie from a pet store (she had never known about puppy mills). She called the vet and told him about the dog and he said “Don’t you dare buy that dog!!!” He told Mom all about puppy mills then. Mom felt bad for the doggy though. It’s so sad.
      I am happy to be contributing and I thank you!!!!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. I am so pleased to find your blog post. Thank you your efforts help mine, encouraging pet adoption. For rescues make great pets ~ Dog Hugs from Darby and Martha

    • Martha that was so incredibly kind of you! You are most welcome and thank YOU!!!!! We are heading over to your blog now. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Oh Dear!!! I think I already did one post, Sunday for B4TC that was like maybe my July 23 post??? and my July 22 post is gonna be another dog rescue kind’a focus…oh my cat! what to do, what to do??? Dakota, I am so sorry dude, I let you down!!! hmmmm…taps nail up and down..lemme see what I can do…

    • ????? Savannah I am totally confused….I don’t see how you let me down. Somewhere I lost the plot. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • that’s ‘cuz Mom is confusing! You announced the July 23 as date for special posts on dog rescue. that is what I used for my B4TC post July 15. On july 22 I plan to post again about dog rescue for my former shelter, so that means I won’t post on the exact date of July 23. So I was sorry I was missing the exact date you talked about. Being silly I suppose…sigh does that make it more clear???

  18. Hey Dakota,

    That’s such a great post buddy – I’m joining in too – it’s a wonderful cause 🙂 It’s so great that you and Cody get on so well, I so wish I could have a Cat roommate too – sigh! 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!
      Thank you so much!!
      I am glad you are joining in as well because it is super important pal!!

      Cody and I are lucky. The vet says that Mom and Dad are “blessed” He knew all about when they wanted to get a Sheltie for Mom and he warned us that it could be BIG trouble!

      He said the “dynamic” that Cody and I have is super rare. He always says that when Mom wants to get another pet. He advises against it cause he thinks a third pet would upset the dynamic.

      Maybe one day you can have a kitty roommate Snoopy, you never know!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  19. @Savannah I think so!! you are so cute!! lol. Remember, I am old (not Dakota, but MOM) lol…………
    No worries, it isn’t my event! I am just one of MANY helping to spread the word!
    Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  20. this is a great post, its great that you are encouraging everyone to participate in the Dog Rescue (adopting, writing about it, etc). both our dogs are rescued from the shelter, they are mixed breeds but they are absolutely sweet dogs, match made in heaven for us, hard to imagine not having them in our day to day life..

    • thanks Dogs Circle! I know many people (including people in my family) who have adopted rescue dogs from the shelter and the dogs are incredibly wonderful dogs! Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  21. Today we celebrate Bloggers Unite For Dog Rescue! Here is one dog that is just sport’in the cause … Rescues make great pets.
    http://marthasteward64.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/shes-a-kayaking-dog/
    Thank you Dakota and “Mom” for sharing the love : )

  22. Dear Dakota,
    You have an awesome dialogue going on here. I’m impressed. I hadn’t heard about Pilots N Paws. I think I’m going to include them in my next book in the Madison Morgan series. I also featured your name in my current book Madison Morgan: When Dogs Blog.
    Tell you Mom, thanks for taking such good care of you, you are a beautiful dog.

    • Hi Pamela and thanks for stopping by!
      If you want my Mom to review your book (and thanks for mentioning me in it!!) you can email her at cgittleman at mi dot rr dot com
      Mom has reviewed a lot of books and everyone loves her book reviews!!

      Thank you for saying I am beautiful! I bet you think I am a girl but I am a BOY!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

