Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s Award


Mom is the proud recipient of the:

that she received from the wonderful blog:

Click on the photo to visit the blog!

From Long Life Cats & Dogs, “Long Life Cats and Dogs has been started, in order to introduce people to the lives of the people and animals in these shelters.  It is a regular news feed and, hopefully, a future means of assisting with the generation of funding and food for the Pro-Life, No-Kill Animal Welfare Shelters in and around Gauteng (South Africa).  These shelters provide permanent homes, love, food and medical attention for rescued animals for whom they are unable to find “forever” homes.”

Here are the rules when accepting this award:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.—check!
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you—check!
  • Tell 7 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 7 other fabulous bloggers.
  • Link your nominees to this post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

Since this is a “girly” award and my Mom is a “girly” I decided to tell you seven things about her!

1) Mom’s  Grandfather was from Johannesburg, S.Africa. When I met “Long Life Cats & Dogs”, finding out they are from S.Africa was a special treat!

2) Places Mom has lived: New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio and now Michigan!

3)  Mom’s father, (Ray Osrin)  was an  Editorial Cartoonist at Ohio’s largest newspaper,  The Plain Dealer in Cleveland, Ohio who enjoyed world-wide notoriety (BEFORE the days of the Internet and blogs)  and was featured in TIME and Newsweek (to name a few)

4)  Mom is a “middle child” and oh yeah she suffers from “middle child syndrome”

5) Mom was a lifeguard and taught swimming, she was also on a summer swim team where she swam the 50-meter freestyle and various relays (Mom wasn’t quite as “fluffy” back in the day as she is now BOL).

6)  Speaking of  “fluffy” Mom collects cook books and loves to watch Rachael Ray, Bitchin Kitchen, Master Chef, Hell’s Kitchen, tons of shows on the Food Network and The Cooking Channel. Funny thing is, with the TONS of cook books that Mom has, where does she go to search for recipes? The Internet. Yep….she has brains…NOT!!

7)  When Mom was little and drew pictures in school, she had a unique way of “signing” her name on the back of the pictures. She would draw a TV and put HER NAME inside of the screen. Delusions of grandeur? Yep…I would say so. BOL!

We are supposed to pass this award on to 7 other fabulous bloggers. You know the drill. Mom is a rebel (and I can be too). We love ALL of you and want you to accept this award as YOURS!! We value, love and enjoy each and every one of you!!

What we DO have to say is:


Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

35 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Con-grat-ulations, Woof Woof. My Humom loves cook books and she watches all the programes your Mom watches. BOL. I wonder if they have a Doggie cooking chanel ? !!
    Big Paw Hugs,
    Happy Friday
    Mollie x

    • Hi Mollie!
      Thank you!!!
      Ohhhh your Mom and my Mom should talk about the shows one day!!! YAY!!! You watch the same ones!
      “Doggie Cooking Channel” what a GREAT IDEA!!!!
      you and I should be the STARS!!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  2. Congratulations!!!

    • thank you!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Congratulations on your award!
    Now that is why your name sounds so familiar! Finally! I knew I had seen that last name somewhere! It was you dad’s name! Amazing!

    Master Chef is one of the only shows I am watching these days!

    • Lol Jen!!!
      Yep…my Dad was the Editorial Cartoonist there for 30 years. I also worked there in Advertising. I worked there for 21 and a half years 🙂
      You also might have seen my name and number posted on various bathroom stalls throughout Cleveland. I was quite the wench in my 20s and 30s roflmao!!!!

      Love, Mom

  4. Congratulations on your new award! In addition to a large cookbook collection (my husband also loves them) we subscribe every few years to Food and Wine magazine (Poor Toby – no leftovers suitable for doggie consumption). I pulled a 2007 issue out for a special dinner last night – yum! Gordon Ramsay and Jamie Oliver are my guilty TV pleasures. But yes I too love the speed of searching the Internet for a recipe.

    • Hi Amy, now “Food and Wine” is MUCH more sophisticated than my cooking regime! I am more of a “home cook” but I do lust after the photos and recipes in that mag.

      Ohhh yes I love Jamie Oliver too (what a cutie!) Oh and let’s not forget the ultimate “cutie” CURTIS STONE!!! YUM!!!!

      Love, “Mom”

  5. Such fun to learn new stuff about the people behind the dog blog. And congrats on the awesome award.

    • Hi Roxy!! Thank you so much!!! Have a great journey!!!! Love, “Mom”

  6. Congratulations on winning such a cool award.
    I LOVED reading more about your Mommy!
    This year I am discovering what one can do with garlic scapes! Thank goodness for the internet.
    Nellie’s Mommy

    • Hi Nellie’s Mommy!!!!!
      Thank you! You know I was going to break my “rule” this time and actually award it to some bloggers and you were on my list. Then…it was the same old thing where there are sooooo many of you that are like “sisters” to me that I didn’t want to accidentally omit anyone…so that is why I chose to handle it this way again. I do THANK YOU because you have been BEYOND KIND to me through the years and you are soooooooo thoughtful and fun!!!! You mean the world to me and please KNOW that you do!!! Thank you for ALWAYS supporting both Dakota and Cody!!!
      “Garlic Scapes????” DO TELL!!!
      Much love,
      “Mom”

  7. Congratulations again and we hope you are better sans kidney stones. Have a great Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Hi Molly! thank you!! I sooo appreciate the sentiment but I will NEVER be “sans kidney stones” I will hopefully have smaller ones to pass as a result of the lithotripsy but I will never be “stone-free”….you can just call me a “stoner” lol
      Love, “Mom”

  8. Congratulations! Our humans love the Golden Girls. We do too 🙂
    Bella and DiDi

    • thank you!!! I do too! Love “Mom”

  9. What a fantastic award!! And what fun facts about mum!! We hope she continues to sign her name in this most unique way! Yay! LOL!!

    Awwww we LOVE the Golden Girls!!!! Take care
    x

    • lol old Kitty!!! Mom was about 5 when she did that. If she did that now we would have to lock her up and throw away the key!!!

      We LOVE the Golden Girls too!!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Ooooh Congratulations on your award!! 🙂

    My Mum is a middle child too – I don’t get the whole ‘middle child syndrome’ thing cos I was the first born in my litter….Mum says she can tell….. Huh? 🙂

    Have a fun weekend guys,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Snoopy my Mom said she LOVES that your Mom is a middle child too!!! Tell your Mom though that we are supposed to be the BEST with people!
      Ohhh you are the first born in your litter? You are a LEADER!!!
      Hope you have a fun weekend too!!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  11. Hihg Paws Miss Dakota!!! You so deserve this award!!! WOOOO HOOOO…you go girlfurriend!!! Oh, errrrr…ummmm…my Mom is also the middle kid…and that is a very long story…sigh

    • Savannah!! Ok are you and your Mom still on those “fuzzy meds????” BOL!!!

      “Miss Dakota???” I’M A BOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      And being that Mom is a middle child she just had to point that out now, didn’t she???? BOL!!

      Mom says THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

      • Oh shrimp! I know you are a guy!!! don’t know what came over Mom…she misquoted me!!! MOL

  12. Your mom been everywhere! where is her favourite city Dakota?

    And…wow your a lifeguard Aunt Caren? that’s really great!! I bet you swim as good as us turtles 😉

    Congrats for the award Dakota 🙂

    • Hi Kroten!
      Mom said her favorite city that she lived in was Cleveland. Probably because she lived there for almost her entire life and she still has a lot of friends there.
      Yep Mom was a life guard!! Mom said to tell you she swam as good as the turtles AND Dolphins!!! BOL!!
      Thank you about the award! We love you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • Hahaha…please tell Aunt Caren to forgive my laugh because when I read that your mom swim like a dolphin, Mommy and I started imagining her swimming EXACTLY like dolphin (plus the jumping out of the sea).

        My mommy can only do free style 😉

  13. @Savannah “oh shrimp” love it!!!! Love you also!

  14. You must be verys proud of your super mum. Barks my and Pops’ congrats to her. And we hope she is feeling betters after her stones were smashed. Hopes they used a teeny tinys hammer.

    • Deltasheltie BOL BOL!! Mom loved the “teeny tinys hammer” Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  15. Congratulations! I collect cook books too! I have a set of world cook books that were my mothers from the sixties. Each country has two books, one with recipes and one on the culture of the country. 🙂

    • Bassetmomma OMG those sound incredible!!! I would love to see those. Maybe one day we will meet in person and I will be able to!! Love, “Mom”

  16. @Kroten, get ready to laugh MORE. Mommy knew how to do those dolphin jumps in the water AND she would shoot water out of the space between her two front teeth AND she can make sounds like a DOLPHIN!!!!

    • Whoa!!! we should call your mom the amazing Dolphin Woman 😉 a new kind of superhero!!

      You know Dakota…you should grab the camera and record her while doing it, it might be a hit in youtube 😉

  17. Well congratulations there, Mom! (I’d say congrats Dakota but, like you said yourself, it’s kind of a girlie award. 😉

    Loved reading all the tidbits about Mom. And yea, another cook! We love cooking and cookbooks. But so like your mom, STILL go to the internet when looking up recipes. Silly.

    • Hi Leslie and thanks!!!

      YAY!!! You cook too? YAY! Love it! We are soooo silly that we go online to look up our recipes! Are you watching Master Chef this year?
      Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

