Happy Birthday Dr.Seuss!


Today Dakota and I are taking part in the Dr.Seuss Challenge that is being sponsored by DA WEENIES OF FLORIDA AND ZOOLATRY.

Back in October ironically I had mentioned Dr.Seuss in a post on Cat Chat that I had written  for my birthday and feeling as if I am lacking in the creativity department today,  I have decided that since last Tuesday was Dakota’s birthday and today is Dr.Seuss’s birthday it was appropriate to publish the part of that post that referenced Dr. Seuss.  We are visiting the post in the part where I mention the reason for my being obsessed with birthdays. Hope you enjoy it:

Just a small aside as to where my obsession with birthdays (not just mine, I love everyone else’s birthday too, I derive great joy in giving presents on birthdays!) arose from.
 
As a child of about 4 years old my favorite book was HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, by Dr.Seuss:

From Wikipedia: “Happy Birthday to You! is a 1959 children’s book by Dr. Seuss. It deals with a fantastic land called Katroo, where the Birthday Bird throws everyone an amazing party on their special day. It has almost no plot and consists of one long fantastical celebration, narrated in the second person, of the reader’s birthday.
The Birthday Bird appears in an episode of The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss.
The book is dedicated to his “good friends” and “The Children of San Diego County.”
I delighted in traveling with the “birthday boy” as the Birthday Bird pops his head in the window at possibly 5am or earlier and takes the little boy on the most glorious adventures for his birthday! Being food obsessed, I remember the illustration of a never ending string of hot dogs. There were bands playing and creatures paying homage to the little boy, all sorts of delightful events took place. At sundown the Birthday Bird returns the little boy to his bed where he drifts happily into slumber, exhausted, and blissfully loved.

For some reason the images and message from that book never left me. It is STILL one of my favorites from my childhood.

My wish for everyone on his or her birthday is that for even a moment,  you can be transcended back into your childhood and experience the joy that birthdays were sure to bring.  A day full of laughter, expectations of the unexpected, delighting in spontaneity, fully living in the moment worry-free and believing when you blow out the candles on your birthday cake, that anything and everything is possible!  Long live
our inner child!
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/03/02/1241/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

40 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great post! I loved Dr. Seuss growing up too!Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

    • thanks so much Bassetmomma!!

      Have a wonderful weekend!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Woof! Woof! Great Info. Happy Dr Seuss Day! Lots Of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • thanks Sugar!!! sending a huge BARK back at ya!

      HAPPY FRIDAY!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Happy Birthday to Dr. Seuss!

    I love him and Rosie has a good collection of his books.

    • Priscilla I love him too but I also realized…what in the WORLD does he have to do with a DOG blog???? Oh well! “Creative license” as they say!

  4. Cindy Lou Whoo was toooo cute, green eggs and ham a favorite rhyming learning book as a kid, and the CAT IN THE HAT…..need I say more!!This post is VERY timely with the LORAX premiering this weekend too Auntie Caren!!!

    • Sue yep I LOVED green eggs and ham and so many others. Ready for this? I didn’t love Cat In The Hat as a child! do you believe it? I liked all of his other books more!

      Wish we lived closer, we could go and see the Lorax together!!!

      Love, Dakota’s “Mom”

  5. Very nice tribute to Dr. Seuss.

    • thanks so much Mario! Happy Friday!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. Not sure I would have learned to read if Suess hadn’t been on the loose. Great tribute. Thanks for sharing it.

    Happy Dr. Suess Day!!!

    Dakota did you have a good birthday?

    • Hi Bailey! “Dr Seuss on the loose!!” My mom loved that!!!

      Mom says if it weren’t for him she wouldn’t have learned how to read either!

      She had The Cat In The Hat memorized!

      HAPPY DR.SEUSS DAY TO YOU TOO!!

      Ohhhh yes I had a great birthday! Thanks soooo much!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. I love Dr. Suess. We owned almost every book and my boys loved me to read to them. So many fun memories.

    • Hi Mary, Roxy and Torrey, they sure do have fun memories with those books! Love them!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Beautiful post, Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss! My favorite childhood book was Green Eggs and Ham.

    • Cynthia thanks so much! After Mom put it up she thought “what in the world does this have to do with DOGS???!!” Hmmmm I do think there were some dogs in some of the Dr.Seuss books, will have to look and see.

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Yay to Dr. Seuss and another yay to birthday wishes AND lots of cake!! Tee Hee

    Loved your post buddy,

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!!

      Did you enter my birthday give-away? I hope so! The deadline to enter is Monday and I don’t remember seeing you there but maybe I missed it! Or i just don’t remember!

      Thanks much! Mom really loves Dr.Seuss!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Dear Dakota and Caren,
    My human brothers LOVE Dr. Seuss because my Mommy loves him and had most of his books! And Mommy loves birthdays too! She says it is just like Christmas!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Nellie your Mommy and my Mommy have even MORE in common!! My Mom agrees that birthdays are like Christmas…even better cause it is all about US! lol!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. It’s an unhappy purrson who doesn’t love Seuss,
    he’s sillynilly and fun … his name rhymes with Goose.
    So why is a goose doing in this rhyme
    you might say?
    Absolutely nothing, it just rhymed, that’s our way …

    • Zoolatry My Mom and I just LOVE your rhyme!!! You are so talented!

      Thanks so much for hosting such a great challenge!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

  12. Love the post and all that you say – I hope you are having a fantastic Seuss Day!

    • Ohhhh Pup Fan you are GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!

      FANTASTIC!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. I love Dr. Seuss. No one else could get me to do this but him….and my publicist….

    http://www.examiner.com/publishing-industry-in-national/children-s-book-authors-who-love-seuss-picture?slide=440549

    • Allia I LOVE IT!!!! Thanks so much for sharing and also, thanks for stopping by Dakota’s blog even if he isn’t a CAT!!

  14. Love Dr Seuss!

    • So do I Andrea!! have a great weekend!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  15. Such a wonderful tribute to Dr. Seuss, who was (and still is) loved by so many! I remember really enjoying “The Sneetches” and “McElligot’s Pool” as a child. 🙂

    Hugs!

    • thank you so much meowmeowmans!

      My Mom adored him too, she still does!!

      We were so lucky to have had him as part of our childhood.

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  16. Happy Dr. Seuss Day!!

    • thanks so much! You too!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. What a lovely post! xx

    • Hi Milo and Alfie! Thanks so much!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  18. Wuufs, Dakota. Glads to be sniffing you, too.

    When I barked Pops about Dr. Seuss’s birthdays he told me all about how Dr. Seuss built a large canals in Egypt a long times ago. I don’t think that’s rights but you know peeps. If they get an ideas in their head they have to wait until it crawls out the other side to find out if it’s rights.

    Yeah, Shelties!!

    Suzy ∆••

    • what?????????? “Canals in Egypt???” I never heard of anything like that! BOL!!! But…I guess your Pops knows more than I do so it could be!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • I barked him on his facts. He now remembers. Dr. Seuss and the Suez Canal are not related in anyways. But I think Pops can relates anything to anything. He’s weirds that way.

        Suzy ∆••

  19. What did WP do with my prettys little icon?

    • are you registered? That might be why…barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • Everys once in a while my (g)avatar just disappears and I have to creates a new one. Perhaps my stupids secretary hit the wrong key.
        Suzy ∆••


Leave a Reply

