Book Review:Raising My Furry Children By Tracy Ahrens, Guest Story by Steve Dale


I had the pleasure and honor of being given the opportunity of reading and reviewing a delightful and touching book, Raising My Furry Children by Tracy Ahrens.

Before I even opened the book I knew I was going to love it. I know there are some of you who don’t consider your pets to be your “furry children”, but I also know there are many of you, like myself, WHO DO.

Tracy Ahrens is one of those people. Her book features columns that she had written over the years, more or less in diary form (minus dates of entry and in no particular chronological order) that highlight moments in her “furry children’s” lives that run the gamut of hilarious to heart-wrenching.

If you are like me you derive great enjoyment from reading about the experiences of other “pet parents” that make you laugh and that also offer you the opportunity to learn. Raising My Furry Children will not disappoint.

The first half of the book features Tracy’s first dog, an American Brittany named Speckles and the hilarious and touching moments of his life that Tracy has so beautifully documented. A part of the proceeds of the book sales will go to American Brittany Rescue.

Also in the first half  of Raising My Furry Children is a guest story by Steve DaleSteve authors a twice-weekly syndicated newspaper column (Tribune Media Services), and is host of two nationally syndicated shows (www.petworldradio.net) and Steve Dale’s Pet World, heard on WGN in Chicago. He’s also a contributing editor at USA Weekend. Recently he was named a National Ambassador for the American Humane Association.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the superb illustrations (48 total!) that were drawn by Tracy and are featured in this book.  They were done using graphite (a medium I ADORE working with but without the exquisite results that Tracy has brilliantly accomplished.) I was in complete awe of their life-like appearance and the obvious artistic gift that Tracy has in her execution of these  drawings.

I have no human children that I have given birth to, which is always a nagging thought when I think about events that have transpired in my life. I always dreamed I would have children of my own but God had other plans.

To those who think it is nuts to refer to your pets as your “furry children” I say “pfffffffffffttttt!!!”

To those who share Tracy’s feelings as well as mine, I say  pick up a copy of this tenderly touching gem. You will be laughing, nodding in agreement,  and touched to your core.

From Tracy: Most importantly, my pets are listeners, observers and counselors, lying on my lap when I am upset or tired, and jumping about happily when I am full of energy. I talk to them, and they look into my eyes with simple understanding. 

As Tracy states in her front-of-the-book dedication this book is for:

all those who love,

have loved or

will love creatures great and small

Paperback: 259 pages

Publisher:  Weaving Dreams Publishing

ISBN: 978-0-9824876-7-9

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Tracy is a graduate of Eureka College in Eureka, Illinois.  Tracy Ahren’s current columns appear on the Tails Pet Media Web site as a monthly blog-www.tailsinc.com.

For More Information Visit:

 www.raisingmyfurrychildren.weebly.com

and www.tracyahrens.weebly.com

Watch Tracy’s Delightful Interview With Steve Dale:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/book-reviewraising-my-furry-children-by-tracy-ahrens-guest-story-by-steve-dale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like my kind of book 🙂

    • Sara, it DEFINITELY IS!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Even with 4 legs and USUALLY more fur than their human sibs, LOL…they think of us as MOM…and Dakota you have an awesome one!! This book sounds great and like a wonderful birthday gift for my sister who always considers her pets as kids and granddogs! Thanks for sharing it!! Sue and Daughters..Lulu and Rosie:D

    • Hi Rosie! My Mom IS AWESOME but I KNOW for a fact that YOU are pretty darned AWESOME too!!!

      Ohhhh yesssssssss this WOULD make a WONDERFUL gift for your sister!! Great idea!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  3. My Boys love their furry sibs and the furry kids love their human sibs! Even though they prefer to live out here in the wilds of BC, they do miss the visits (usually weekly) from their brothers and they get so excited when we are in Calgary and they get to visit.
    This is definately MY kind of book.
    Nellie’s
    Mom

    • Nellie I absolutely KNOW that it is!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Thanks for directing me to this post! Can’t wait to pick up this book!

    • Hi Jill! Thank YOU for taking the time to come over after I mentioned it! It was just ironic what you had posted when I had just reviewed this book. I knew it sounded right up your alley! So glad you are going to purchase it!
      Thanks again for stopping by! Have a great day!!! Love, Dakota and “Mom”

  5. Hey Dakota,

    This book sounds like a great find – the interview was great!! My Mum and I also feel bad for people who don’t get to have this experience – someone told my Mum the other day they don’t like pets – she felt sorry for them that they didn’t have the joy that she has….

    Mum always cuddles me and says ‘Are you Mummy’s boy?’ – I guess that means I’m her furry (and very fluffy) child! 🙂

    Have a fun weekend buddy,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! It most definitely IS!

      My Mom and I feel bad for people like that too, to be honest, we don’t trust people who say “they don’t like pets”, my mom and I think there has to be something missing from their heart to say something like that.

      My Mom cuddles me and Cody ESPECIALLY because she has no human children! She would cuddle us even if she did!

      You have a fun weekend too my friend!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. As a non-furry children…I feel left behind 😦
    Fortunately mommy still cuddle me tho we are furless 😉

    Great review Dakota…and sounds like a great book.

    • Awww Kroten don’t feel “left behind!” As a pet you are STILL one of your Mom’s little children!

      You know what? Maybe your Mom needs to write a book about “Turtle Love!!!!”

      If she does…I will be more than happy to feature it!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom


Leave a Reply

