Safe Paw Melts Ice: No Harm to Kids and Pets- A Guest Blog By Kim Clune Of “This One Wild Life”


FROM DAKOTA’S DEN- Some weeks  months ago we were presented with the opportunity of reviewing Safe Paw Ice Melter.  A safe alternative to remove ice and snow?  We eagerly agreed. Living in Michigan I was certain this product would be put to good use. Plenty of ice and snow? No problem! WRONG! This year we are having an unseasonably mild winter which up until about 2 hours ago wasn’t providing us with ANY SNOW  significant enough to warrant the use of a SHOVEL let alone a de-icer!

I kept postponing the review because I wanted to be sure to give you an honest assessment of this product. I was CERTAIN that we would have a decent accumulation of snow by January. WRONG AGAIN!

I was frantic! What was I going to do? Then I remembered reading a few reviews that other bloggers had done for Safe Paw and in my opinion Kim Clune of “This One Wild Life” wrote the BEST and MOST THOROUGH  review  I had seen, bar none!

 Being a follower of Kim’s blog/website for quite some time,  and  being an admirer of her superior writing ability, I emailed her asking her if there was any way at all that I could use her  review for my readers. I am deeply honored and eternally grateful that she so graciously agreed!  Today I am PROUD to present to you Kim Clune’s  review of Safe Paws! which was originally featured on This One Wild Life  on November 16, 2011…ironically I was the FIRST person to leave a comment that day!  Now, on to Kim’s review!

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS FRIGHTFUL, ALREADY.

Snow came early this year for many US residents. We’ve had more than a foot already, in October! We shored up the roof’s heat cable, pulled out the snow shovels and we’re still working on getting the snow blower going, but the easiest task is stocking up on ice melt.

THINKING SAFETY WITH SAFE PAW

There’s a safe product we’ve been using for several years now, sparing us salty dogs. It’s called Safe Paw and it’s been a safe ice-melt bet since 1996. Have you heard of it? Did you even know it mattered? If not, you aren’t alone. According to Safe Paw:

“A national survey of more than 500 consumers living in cold weather states showed that an alarming nearly two-thirds of the respondents (62% total; 66% of men) were not aware that salt and salt-based ice melting products pose a health danger to pets and children who digest or come into contact with these products. The survey also revealed that 60% of the respondents said they use rock salt or salt-based ice melters in their households.”

 

WHAT’S WRONG WITH TRADITIONAL SALT?

Salt and its residue is a corrosive compound that can damage the tender flesh between your pets’ toes, not to mention lawns and plants. It can contaminate well water and water supplies too. Even brick pavers, stones, asphalt, concrete and wood decking aren’t safe from severe damage and permanent discoloration. When tracked across rugs, carpets, and wood floors, it not only damages these items too, but it pesters your pets and children inside as well.

WHAT MAKES SAFE PAW BETTER?

Safe Paw not only makes your walkways walkable, it is pet and child safe and environmentally sound. According to Safe Paw’s FAQ:

“Safe Paw works just as good or even better than salt or salt-based products. In fact, Safe Paw begins working immediately to penetrate ice while other ice melters work very slowly. Moreover, most salt-based products melt ice only down to 24 degrees, while Safe Paw works up to 2 degrees below zero. Safe Paw also leaves an invisible protective shield that prevents ice from sticking to the surface for up to three days. This makes shoveling easier and saves work.”

Learn more about how it works at safepaw.com.

THIRD PARTY SEALS OF APPROVAL

Don’t just take my word for this blue-green gold, or my dogs’, or even Safe Paws’. Safe Paw is the only established national brand of pet and child safe ice melter to receive the Parent Tested Parent Approved Seal of Approval and is recommended and used by most veterinarians throughout the U.S.. Safe Paw was honored in the 2011 “Whole Green Earth Catalogue” and has been awarded the “Green Seal” by the Parents Advisory Council too.

Steven Greenwald, founder of Safe Paw, explains:

“In 1994, the buzz word became environmental safety. Customers began asking us for an ice melter that was not only environmentally safe, but guaranteed to be safe around children and pets at the same time. Although Safe Paw is used around the home and in the pet market, it’s also used by cruise ships, the U.S. government in the National Complex in Washington, D.C., the New Jersey and Chicago Transit systems, Helipads and many dog parks and zoos throughout the U.S.”

WHERE CAN YOU FIND SAFE PAW?

Safe Paw is sold at most major pet stores including PetSmart and at many online stores, grocery shops and national retail chains including Costco. (Don’t be fooled by imitation brands.) Price varies by retail outlet. Cost is generally $14.95 – $19.95 for the 8 lb jug and $50 to $60 for the 35 lb pail.

FROM DAKOTA’S DEN: THANK YOU Kim for providing this excellent review! 

WANT TO READ MORE OF KIM’S WRITING?

(I KNOW that you DO!)

HERE IS WHERE YOU CAN FIND HER:

Kim’s Blogs:

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/safe-paw-melts-ice-no-harm-to-kids-and-pets-a-guest-blog-by-kim-clune-of-this-one-wild-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I use safe paws. Oreo is VERY sensitive to road salt. It burns his feet.

    Safe paws doesn’t bother him at all. Plus, I use it on my wood deck, and never had a problem with it eating away the wood! I keep it by the back door all winter.Costs more than salt, but you dont’ need to use much.

    • Glad to hear I’m not the only one who loves this! And yes, it appears to cost more than salt at the outset, but I too find that you don’t need as much. Thanks for bringing that up.

      • Hi Kim, I am thrilled to hear that people have used it and loved it as well. Even if it costs a little more, we can’t put a price on keeping our doggie’s paws safe!

    • Hi Sara! I am so happy to read that you use Safe Paws!!!

      Thank you for the info!! I love when I read that people like what I have featured!

  2. This was a GREAT invention!!!

    • Hi Rosie! Sure is! Have you used it?

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Thanks for trusting my opinion, Caren, and for sharing it here. I actually turned down the comapany’s free sample for review because I was already a fan. I just thought other pet owners should know about it.

    • Hi Kim!! I COMPLETELY trust your opinion and that is why I was thrilled when I asked you to guest blog that you agreed! (You know I am an ornery cuss and can’t say that about everyone!) Thanks sooooo much!

  4. We really like safe paws. Dad used it this morning.

    • Hi Bailey!! Yay!! someone else who likes it!! Super happy to hear that! Thanks for sharing your opinion!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. We has a drip on our front steps and it makes them very slippery, so we uses stuff that melts in the winter.
    We has tried Safe Paws and used it last winter. It not only is great for the hairy slobbery sister’s paws, but it does not track all over the carpet inside like some other products do!
    We bought something different this fall and Mommy does not like the salt on the rug by the front door! We is buying some while we in in Calgary!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Nellie ANOTHER great endorsement!! I am soooooooooooo happy to hear this! Not tracking is a really good thing but to my Mom the BEST part is that it is soooo safe for us!!

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. No use for a de-icer here in Indiana yet either. ): I got so sad when I shoveled over the weekend and by yesterday 99% of our snow had melted. LOL.

    • Hi Cynthia!!

      I know! Isn’t it just pitiful!!?? I can’t believe it!

      Saw your comment on the SmartBones post and loved it!!! I usually don’t get that many comments on Dakota’s blog so it is hard for me to answer them all (especially for a give-away, then when you are entering the numbers for the winner it is hard to go through) so I am probably not going to answer each individually like I usually do. Hope you don’t mind but THANK YOU!!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

