“My Little Man” A Guest Post By Colleen Richman


Almost three years ago, I rescued a little chihuahua who only weighed 2 pounds. He was in Alabama and only a few months old. His one testicle did not drop so aside from being fixed he also needed to have surgery to have his testicle removed and biopsied. Sadly, this handsome little guy was unable to find someone to open their hearts to love him enough to pay for his surgery. Until I heard about him of course!

How could anyone resist that face?!? At the time I was working in law enforcement and had the ability to work overtime often. I knew no matter how much it cost me, or how hard I had to work, I was going to have this little guy and he was going to be spoiled rotten! I paid to have him flown from Alabama to New Jersey, took him to the vet, and got him all the attention he needed! Here is a picture of him when he came home from his surgery:

It warms my heart to know how safe he felt cuddled in that little blankey. Although he had all the toys in the world, he wanted the care bear that I had gotten from a coworker as a joke between me and that officer. I knew then, that Bullet only wanted my love and anything that reminded him of me. From then on, we were inseparable, and still are to this day! What also warmed my heart is that several months before rescuing him, we had also rescued an abused cat from a shelter. The following picture shows my cat Trent watching over Bullet as he slept off his pain from surgery:

There are times that I still can’t believe how lucky I am to have him and how special he is. He brings joy to my life every day and there is nothing more important to me than keeping him safe and feeling loved.

He was even the ring bearer at my wedding:

He is my little man!!!

From Dakota and “Mom”:  Colleen Richman is a special lady. Mom and I met her through her blog: “Welcome To CRichman Freebies”. Colleen features many fun give-aways  interspersed  with adorable stories about her precious Chihuahua, Bullet.
DDC grab

One of the things that Mom and I LOVE about blogging is meeting  people with huge hearts like Colleen. We thank her for sharing her story about Bullet with us and hope that you will stop by her blog and give her a warm woofie  “hello!”

Barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/11/04/my-little-man-a-guest-post-by-colleen-richman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW -what story and what an inspiration Colleen is. That little doggie was so fortunate to have been rescued by such a wonderful lady.

    • Mario thanks so much for visiting! Colleen is a complete sweetheart! So glad you enjoyed the story about her precious baby, Bullet.

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. What a great story! Thanks for giving them a guest post!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Nellie Hi! I am so glad you enjoyed it! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Oh, So sweet. Love little cuddly dogs.

    • I know mary, isn’t he just the cutest!!??

      Hope you have a great weekend!!

  4. Awwww Bullet is so adorable – and so tiny!! Awwww! Me and Charlie are waving a big hello to this little guy with the big eyes and bright personality! What a cutie!! And hugs too to his gorgeous kitty sibling, Trent! Yay!!

    Thank you Dakota and Caren and Colleen! Take care
    x

    • Hi Old Kitty! Isn’t he just the cutest thing? He reminds me of a Chihuahua I knew when I was a little girl of about 7. My friend had him and we used to dress him up in baby doll clothes and wheel him down the street in a little doll buggy and tell people he was our baby!

      Bullet is one of the cutest Chihuahuas I have ever seen!

      Yes! I forgot to mention how adorable Trent is too!
      Have a great weekend, sorry I haven’t been around lately, I have been super busy and not home! Going out tonight too. Hoping to catch up at some point this weekend.
      xoxoxoxo

  5. Caren & Dakota,

    Thank you for featurig Bullet! You are wonderful and you have amazing readers 🙂

    Love,

    Colleen & Bullet

    • Hi Colleen, it was our pleasure and we thank YOU for guest blogging! We think that YOU are ‘wonderful” and we thank you!!!

      I AM blessed to have “amazing readers” of both of my blogs…..thank you!!!!

      They are wonderful!!

  6. What a heart-warming story. Its so sad when young ones (animal or human) have to go through surgery at such a young age from medical conditions. I’m glad this one had a happy ending though!

    • Hi Silently Free! Yes it is a heart-warming story and it was meant to be so that Colleen and Bullet were united!! He is a lucky doggie! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Bullet is so tiny but he is so adorable too!

    Thanks for sharing the story of Bullet and Colleen, it’s so heart-warming and I always love good ending stories.

    Priscilla xxx

    • Hi Priscilla! Isn’t he just the cutest???

      You are welcome and we were thrilled to have Colleen share it with us! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. What a cutie! Thanks for sharing Bullet with us.

    • Kristin isn’t he? He is just too darned cute! You are welcome and thanks for taking the time to visit me! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. I love happy endings!

    • rumpy that makes two of us!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Hey Dakota,

    Bullet is such a cute little guy – what a great story – he’s so lucky he got such a great forever family, even with a nice Cat too!!

    Hope you’re having a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy isn’t he? He is just too darned cute!

      We are taking it easy this weekend…oh wait…not “we” but “ME”!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. What a beautiful story … blessed her for saving and loving Bullet…and bullet is adorable

    • thanks Novroz….Bullet is adorable and Colleen is a sweetheart!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

