We’re Workin’ Dogs!


In honor of Labor Day I wanted to tell you about two super hard-working dogs.

One of them happens to be ME!

As you know, I am a Shetland Sheepdog. Like Steppenwolf was “Born To Be Wild” I was born to WORK! Primarily, HERDING and of course BARKING!

From Wikipedia:

“The Shetland Sheepdog, often known as the Sheltie, is a breed of herding dog.They are small to medium dogs, and come in a variety of colors, such as sable/white, tri-color, and blue merle. They are vocal, excitable, energetic dogs who are always willing to please and work hard. They are partly derived from dogs used in the Shetland Isles for herding and protecting sheep.The breed was formally recognized by the Kennel Club in 1909.[1]

I may not have sheep to herd but I am a hard worker just the same. My job is 24 hr. security. Yep, all day and night I am on the alert! If there is a blowing leaf, cooking spray being sprayed, a garbage disposal running, a vacuum, a stranger in my midst. I’m all OVER it! Let me tell ya I can bark at the drop of a hat!

Believe it or not there is another dog who works even harder than I do! Mom met him when she went to the BlogPaws 2011 conference the weekend of August 25th thru the 28th. I was excited  because when she came home Mom told me all about him!

His name is Tango and he was at BlogPaws with his Mom, (Dayna Hilton) who is the Executive Director of “Keep Kids Fire Safe Foundation”

"Tango" The Fire Safety Dog Says "Practice Fire Safety EVERY DAY!"

“Tango is a fire safety dog helping save the lives of children. A best friend of Sparkles (the original Fire Safety Dog) , you can read about him on their  website he learned everything he knows about being a fire safety dog from her!

You can visit Tango and his Mom, Dayna at www.keepkidsfiresafe.org to learn more about them!

You can also “Like” them on FACEBOOK!

Have a safe and happy Labor Day!

If you can make it through my Mom’s HORRIBLE singing!


Barks and licks and love, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/were-workin-dogs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shelties rule!!! I have two and a smarter, more beautiful breed simply doesn’t exist! I love the way they create jobs for themselves, police our comings and goings, best watch dogs! They don’t miss a thing!

    • Hi Halfpass! Wow you have two Shelties!? My Mom and I would LOVE to see your photos. Yes we are smart and beautiful! I love making jobs for myself too! Nope I sure don’t miss a thing! Nice meeting you! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. AWwwwww!! Beautiful Dakota – you are one clever hard working sheltie!! HAPPY LABOR DAY!!! Me and Charlie think your mum sings very prettily! Yay for the red and white and blue ball!!

    Hello to adorable Tango – another very smart doggie doing such a great job for the community! Yay! Take care
    x

    • Hi Old Kitty!!! Thank you!!! Hmmm…if you think Mommy sings prettily you must have had ear plugs in! BOL!

      Yes, Tango is a GREAT doggie! He works hard to educate children about fire safety!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Have a wonderful Labor Day, Dakota! Your mom and dad don’t have to worry about a thing with you around. You are such a good boy!

    • Hi Debbie! Nope! I am on guard 24-7!!! That’s my job! 🙂

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Happy Labor Day to you too!

  4. I’ve got a page on my blog with a few photos of them…

    • Yep I know! My Mom and I went over to see them and we left you a comment and we are also following your blog 🙂

      My Mom thinks that Sabrina and I could pass for brother and sister 🙂

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. I spend an inordinate amount of time longing for another sheltie. Your kind are true working pups, Dakota, unlike Bad Kitty Bo, who thinks Labor Day was invented to assure him there were still laborers working on his behalf 🙂

    • Vicky anytime you think you want another Sheltie my Mom said to tell you when I am in the throes of one of my barking fits she will gladly invite you over and see if that affects your decision. (Kidding!)

      As for “Bo” (Mom loves that name because it reminds her of her first cat “Bobo”) there are “laborers” working for ALL cats! They have the life, eh?

  6. Dakota you work hard taking care of your family. It was nice of you to share your blog introducing another hard working dog.

    Mom keeps hinting to Dad that we have room for one more. 🙂

    • Bailey yes I sure do! I hear everything!

      Thank you! Mom really liked that doggie so she wanted other people to know about him, he does such good work 🙂

      Your Dad sounds like my Dad. He tells Mom ALL the time that we need another Sheltie!

      mom gets scared when he says that. BOL.
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. Haha,

    Your video is funny Dakota! You are a clever Dog, I’m lucky, my Mum doesn’t sing often, if she does I get very confused!

    Maybe we’re related Dakota? Cos I’m a sheep herding Dog from Scotland – well my ancestors were! Mum says one day she’d love for me to do a herding test – a test?! I don’t need a test, of course I can herd, it’s in my blood! I was nipping ankles when I was just a little pup! Tee Hee

    So happy your Mum got to meet Tango – he’s pawsome!! 🙂

    Have a fun day

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  8. Hey Snoopy you know what? I bet we ARE related!!! I am sure our family knew each other in Scotland. I am CERTAIN that they did!

    Tell your Mom you don’t need a “herding test!” Geeze!!!

    You are right! It is in our blood, that is what we do!

    Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Cute video…you seemed to have work really hard 😉

    Tango looks amazing,maybe you can be like him too one day 😉

    That’s a nice info on your species…I have been meaning to ask you but keep for getting, do you know Lassie? she is a Sheltie,isn’t she?

    • Yep Novroz I work super hard! BOL

      I don’t know Lassie but funny you mentioned her (him!) My Mom was obsessed with Lassie when she was a little girl. She had 3 stuffed Lassies!

      Lassie is actually a Collie but Shelties the color that I am are said to look like miniature Collies. We are totally different breeds, we are both herding dogs though and we do look similar. Shelties are MUCH smaller than Collies

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • Ah yes…now that you’ve said it…I remember Lassie has longer hair. But you really do look like her or him

  10. Well my female certainly has the coat to challenge Lassie!:) But we got into shelties by collie default. Clooies were the breed that seemed most beautiful to my husband! But after so many years of big dogs,we wanted to go smaller….especially as we have more than one home! We went to shelties as Ilove herding dogs and we hoped to have a dog under twenty pounds so we could fly! Of course we now have two and both come in closer to 25 and we drive EVERYWHERE! Haven’t even bothered trying to fly! But we lovw Shelties and probably will never have a different breed anymore!

  11. @halfpass Dakota comes in at around 25 lbs too and the vet says he is too fat.

    We are trying to get him down to about 23 lbs.

    Have a great day, we love Shelties too!

  12. We just found your post, Dakota! Thanks so much for sharing Tango’s work and for helping us keep kids safe! Love, Firefighter Dayna and Tango the Fire Safety Dog

    • Hi Dayna!! Better late than never! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota.


Leave a Reply

