Bet Ya Didn’t Know It Is “Squirrel Appreciation Day”


Photo Courtesy of Eric Lorenz, Kyle Murphy Of Facebook

My Mom is NUTS, completely and verifiably NUTS (yes, pun intended, Shelties are masters of the Kings’s Speech in case you haven’t heard).

Mom's T-Shirt! It's SUPER old! Hence the stains!

Two stuffed squirrels that a friend of Mom's bought her

Mom is an animal lover, specifically (and in this order, I am embarrassed to admit) my mom loves

  1. cats
  2. dogs (whew! I at least came in second!) 
  3. squirrels and dolphins (tied for third)

    Mom's squirrel statue in her Romaine lettuce on balcony

Mom noticed on Facebook that today is  unofficially “Squirrel Appreciation Day” (technically it is actually celebrated on January 21st) but Mom is so nutty for squirrels that she would celebrate their existence EVERY DAY if she could! Me? I prefer to bark at them and chase them up trees, but that’s info for another day.

Another of Mom's squirrel statues (color was faded by the rain) in her Sugar Snap Peas On Balcony

Yet ANOTHER of Mom's Squirrel Statues

In honor of Mom’s hobby,  insanity obsession I bring to you photos of her nutty  friends and should you share this bizarre obsession, where you can find them!

The first set of photos are of one of the most adorable squirrels of Facebook, Skippy Sheeskin (if you love squirrels like my Mom does, be sure to click on his name and join him on Facebook!)

visit Skippy here

Skippy eating cracker

Nuts!! (Like my Mom)

Great close up!

Skippy "Chillin'"

Another of Mom’s tree hugging  buddies is Edgar!  Edgar also has his own  page on Facebook, to visit him click here.  Mom discovered this unusual albino squirrel  one day when  her friend Jan Bills who writes the wonderful gardening blog  Two Women And A Hoe, (isn’t that name just the BEST!!??) learned of Mom’s passion for squirrels and told her about him.

Jan sent us some fabulous photos of Edgar and even included a couple of Edgar’s favorite quotes:

"When the oak is felled the whole forest echoes with its fall, but a hundred acorns are sown in silence by an unnoticed little white squirrel named Edgar." ~Edgar the White Squirrel

You can also visit Edgar on Facebook, click on photo to be taken there

"I can't change the world by saving one human, but for that one human, I can change his world." ~Edgar the White Squirrel

May your week be as productive as that of my nut burying buddies!!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/bet-ya-didnt-know-it-is-squirrel-appreciation-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dakota – Gasp! My M must be nuts too cuz she happens to love squirrels too. She even feed them. Well, dat’s not quite right, she feed the birdies, but leaves a pan of birdseed on the ground so tbe squirrels can eat form dat! This is scary cuz you and I both have mom’s dat are NUTS!

    • Hi Mario my pal!

      My Mom used to feed them ALL the time! (til she got in trouble BOL!!) She used to throw TONS of nuts into the grass, the neighbors all got upset. Now she only feeds them in the winter and she only gives them nuts when they are actually HERE, not when she is just waiting for their arrival BOL!!
      Yep we have nutty Moms for sure!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. Happy Squirrel Appreciation Day Dakota!!!!!

    Squirrels are gorgeous and fun and very clever and just lovely!! Yay!!

    Take care
    x

    • @Old Kitty my Mom agrees with you a ZILLION percent! Mom loves how clever they are and how they are always busy!

      Love to you and Charlie!

  3. Happy Squirrel Day! Squirrels are entertaining. I swear they throw stuff at us from up in the trees.

    • @Sara if they do, I don’t think they do it deliberately! 🙂

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Yay!!! Love today!!

    • Hi Skippy my friend!!!

      You KNOW my mommy loves today too!! She also wants to thank you soooooooooooooooo much for the wonderful photos you let me use in my blog! We think you are soooooo cute! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  5. Love it!

    • thank you!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  6. My Mom is just as “NUTZ” Dakota!! She has a chipmunk too that she talks to and picks the black sunflower seeds outta the birdseed special for! We have one squirrel named STEROID SQUIRREL because he is darned near big as me!! My Gramma’s neighbor has a blonde squirrel and she is fun to watch hang upside down from the feeder. My Florida Grampa had a “FLYING SQUIRREL”…not the bat…a squirrel who literally flew down the clothsline to propel himself onto the feeder!! So she is nutty over this day too and may put a little more peanut butter on that hanger for their big celebration!! Mom loves the pics of all the squirrels here on your post and is glad you came in second. You are so cute Dakota I would have to tie you in at first!!! Purrrfectly yours, Rosie

    • Rosie my Mom and I laughed and laughed at your comment!! She laughed about you talking to the chipmunk! My Mom did the same thing and she used to sing a song to a squirrel called “Tiny Squirrel”…she made the song up! BOL!
      No wonder Mom and you like each other so much! You are both NUTS!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota
      Oh and thank you for the super sweet compliment! You aren’t too shabby yourself, for a kitty!

      • ooops! How did Cody’s photo get there? BOL! Mom goofed!

  7. I’d love to chase them if there are any in my yard but they always run faster than me and they climb trees like those kitties! They drive me crazy too so I don’t think I like them at all!!!

    • lol Eva! you know, since we are Shelties it doesn’t take MUCH to drive us crazy!! BOL!!!

      much love to you beautiful one!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Mom was OK with squirrels until a red squirrel got into the house and did damage to the heating vents. Now she is not so amused anymore. We find them to be very fun to chase.

    • Bailey that is why Mom got in trouble for feeding them years ago. They moved into the attic in our condo/apt building (above us) and a woman across the hall was terrified because she could hear them running around all night. BOL!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Mommy said those squirrel photos are sooooo cute!!

    I don’t think your mom’s nut Dakota 😉
    Talking about nuts, you must keep my mommy away from all things turtle or she will end up buying it.

    Hmmm…I wonder, which number will your mom puts us 😉 (we are number one in mommy’s list, cat is 2nd…sorry Dakota)

    • Hi Kroten! Thank you! It was so nice of my friends to send them to us!

      My mom is the same, she buys everything dog, cat or SQUIRREL! lol

      I think my Mommy would put you at NUMBER FOUR!! Now that we have learned more about turtles. I think I told you, when my Mom was little she had 2 tiny green turtles that she loved. She named them “Lucas and Thisbee”, she even wrote a story about them. She was about 8 yrs old when she did it. She should look for it and take photos and let you see it lol.

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

      • Yes…we want to see your mommy’s turtles 🙂

        Horay…turtles number 4!!! hip hip huray

  10. My Mama put a bird feeder outside of one of my windows, and we keep bird seed in it for my friends. Sometimes the dog looks out the window at my friends. I have told him that no one is allowed to look at them but me. Maybe he has wax in his ears and cannot hear me.

    • Romeo thanks for making me laugh! BOL!! You sound like my brother Cody, I think the two of you would make fast friends! BOL!!!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  11. WOw your mom does love squirrels…thanks for introducing us to Skippy and Edgar too!

    • Hi Cat Lady! Told ya my Mom was “NUTS!!!” BOL!

      Glad you enjoyed seeing Skippy and Edgar, aren’t they just too cute?

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

