Book Review: “Don’t Lick The Dog, Making Friends With Dogs” By Wendy Wahman


I am so excited I can barely keep my tail from wagging and my body from spinning!

Today I present to you my FIRST book review!

I couldn’t have picked a cuter book to read for my first review!

I may have only been alive for four years but in those years I have come across my share of kids AND their parents who don’t know the proper way to approach a doggie that they do not know.  Heck sometimes my Mommy and my Daddy have to be told the correct way to meet and greet an unfamiliar doggie.

Now that we have “Don’t Lick The Dog, Making Friends With Dogs”, by Wendy Wahman kids and their parents have no excuse NOT to greet a doggie properly!

My Mom and I read this book together and we think it is adorable! (That is Mom’s word, adorable is too “girrly” of a word for me to use).

It is written in a rhyming style :

“Easy now, take it slow

when meeting dogs

that you don’t know.

Don’t stick your nose in Stella’s face-

until you’re friends,

she needs her space.”

This book  has brightly colored illustrations that were also done by Wendy,  that are fun to look at!  I like the doggies in the book that look like a Chihuahua and one that is a Poodle because they remind me of my friends Chico and Colette. I will have to show them this book one day! There is even a drawing of one doggie that looks like a Sheltie! It was probably meant to be a Collie but for the purpose of this blog we will just go with a Sheltie, ok?

Check out this cool video that I have that will tell you even more about this fun and informative book!

I hope you will purchase this book. It is super fun to read and look at and  it teaches everybody from kids to their parents the best way to act with all of us doggies.

Speaking as one of the canine persuasion I say BRAVO and THANK YOU to Wendy!

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: WENDY WAHMAN lives in Washington State with big poodles, old cats and a husband named Joe. She has won many awards for illustration, but her greatest joy is loving the two, three and four-legged animals she has known. This is her first children’s book.

You can find Wendy here:

EXTRA!!! EXTRA!!! My Mom and my brother, Cody will be reviewing Wendy’s second book “A Cat Like That”  on Friday, July 8th on their Cat Chat blog.  Be sure to stop by and check it out!

I wasn’t compensated in any way for this review (well, my Mom gave me a few dog biscuits if you want FULL disclosure!). I only received a copy of this FUN and INFORMATIVE book!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/book-review-dont-lick-the-dog-making-friends-with-dogs-by-wendy-wahman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This book loos adorable, thanks for sharing!

    • thank you Cat Lady! It IS adorable!! Mom and I just loved it! Thanks for visiting us too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  2. What an important book. I’m glad you are getting the word out. We need help teaching parents and kids. Great job.

    • Hi Bailey! Yes it is super important! Thank you! I was happy when Mommy said I could read it with her. We are hoping lots of kids and their parents read this book. Thank you so much! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Wow what a perfect idea for a childrens book! Pawsome review.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

    • Hi Oskar!! I couldn’t agree more! My Mommy said she wishes SHE had thought of it! Thank you! I am proud cause it was my first one! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. What a wonderful idea for a book! Book reviews are fun~especially when they are animal books 🙂

  5. What a great idea for a book! Book reviews are fun, especially when they are books about dogs 🙂

    • Sara I so agree!! Well, unless my kitty brother and Mama do one and then it is about kitties!!! 🙂

  6. What a great idea for a book!

    Mum and I have spent the last year getting me acclimatised to meeting children at Cory’s school. Even today Mum was telling one little girl how to approach me. I’m so good now I just sit there and let them pet me while I wait for Cory – it’s lots of fun!

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy! I know! My Mom wishes she had thought of it! BOL!

      Everyone should get this book and pass it out to the kitties and parents in their lives!!

      You have a fun day too!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  7. I’m so glad you’ve done your first doggy book review. The book sounds so interesting and I like the bright coloured illustrations cover. I hope my human’s brother in-law family can read it to their children as they always irritate me. However, being a good girl, I never show them that I’m not happy with the ways they play with me but my guardian angel Rosie is always mad at them. She thinks they’re rough and harsh.
    ~ Eva

    • Hi Eva thank you and I am sorry that you have to experience that too. I know what you mean. i am never mean about it either but it bothers me when children AND adults approach me in a “rough and harsh” way and these people have dogs of their own! They need to read this too! I am glad that Rosie understands these things as well. She can tell them the right thing to do!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Dakota, I think I like the name of the book : )
    Did your mom read it for Cody ? What did he say ? I wonder
    xoxo

  9. Hi Puddy! Nope, Mom didn’t read it to Cody. He just does what he wants to with me but most of the time he is very nice unless I get in his face too much. Cody doesn’t need to read this one, he has too many to read of his own!
    xoxoxo

  10. […] Dakota’s review of “Don’t Lick the Dog, Making Friends with Dogs” […]

  11. looks like a fun and educative book. I wonder if this Wendy will make a book on how to approach a turtle 😉

    • Oh Kroten!!!! you are adorable!!!! Thank you for the morning smile!!!! You know, turtles do occasionally nip don’t they? Maybe she SHOULD write a book on how to approach a turtle!!! xoxoxo Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

