Update On “Barney The Escape Artist”


Hi everyone!

Remember when I wrote a week or so ago about my doggie buddy Barney who miraculously escaped from his apartment and ended up over at my house?

If you missed that post you can read about it here

 

 

Barney’s Mommy Lynne discovered the screen door on her balcony had a hole in it. Yeah, yeah, I know,  how did she not notice this? Well for whatever reason she didn’t.

I guess a neighbor had heard Barney go PLOP off the balcony. Luckily he landed in the bushes or he could have been quite hurt.

The neighbor tried to get him but he got away from her and to make matters worse, Barney doesn’t like to be picked up.

Lynne has had her screen fixed and Barney hasn’t made any appearances here without his Mommy and thankfully he is safe and sound.

Guess he REALLY wanted to come and visit me, didn’t he?

 

Smart doggie.

Barks and licks and love, Dakota

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/06/02/update-on-barney-the-escape-artist/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well the temptations are obvious. Who wouldn’t want to hang out with a wonderful sheltie?

    However, it is good that Mom fixed the screen so he is not in danger of falling and getting hurt.

    • Awww Bailey THANK YOU!! Yeah, I guess he likes me BOL. He also likes his buddy Chico (the Chihuahua) that is who lives across the hall from us. I guess he just wanted to see all of us!

      We are so happy sweet Barney didn’t get hurt!

  2. Well, the mystery is solved at last!

    Gosh, so glad that he didn’t get hurt at all. I think Barney likes you very much so he decided to pay you a visit whenever he could.
    ~ Eva

    • Priscilla we are sooo glad he wasn’t hurt. Barney is 9 years old and if the bushes hadn’t broken his “jump” (twice), he could have been severely hurt.

      He DOES like us which is so funny! Also Lynne’s boyfriend lives across the hall from us with his dog, Chico, so I am sure Barney wanted to come and see ALL of his buddies!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  3. Well, I’m glad the mystery of the Houdini Barney is solved!

    • Sara that makes A WHOLE BUNCH of his glad!!! 🙂

  4. Hi Dakota,

    Me thinks Barney may even be too smart for his own good?! He got so lucky!! I guess he really wanted a play date with you?

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Hi Snoopy!
      Yep Barney IS too smart for his own good!

      He wanted a play date with ME and Chico (the Chihuahua who lives across the hall) that is for sure!

      I am so sorry my Mom hasn’t let me come over and visit you lately.

      Things with my brother’s blog should be easing up a bit. (She wasn’t able to visit anyone consistently in the past week or so) but she is going to let me start visiting you again real soon!

      We are both so sorry!!!!
      Thanks for still wanting to be our friend!
      Barks and licks and LOVE, Dakota (and Mom too!)

  5. Well, you’re certainly cute enough to make it worth the trip, Dakota.

    • Awwww Vicky thank you!! So is our buddy Chico that lives across the hall that is also friends with Barney! 🙂

  6. He’s one lucky little guy!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

    • @Oskar, to say the least! 🙂

  7. Barney must have guardian angels to give him a soft safe landing like that.

    • @lifewith4cats I couldn’t agree more!! Hmmm…maybe he thinks he is a CAT?????

      BOL!

      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. I’ve been wondering about Barney! Glad the mystery is solved and also that Barney is OK! What floor is his condo on? That boy really knows what he wants!

    • Hi Debbie! Barney is on 2nd floor like we are. There are only 2 main floors (and a basement) so 2nd floor is pretty high up! My Mom never lets me on the balcony cause it is too dangerous! Lynne said Barney had never gone on the balcony before. She said the hole in the screen was small at first then Barney made it larger. Don’t know how she didn’t notice it after the first day though! Yep! Barney sure DOES know what he wants! BOL! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  9. Oh Barney!! What a lucky doggie!! Yay that he’s ok!! Oh you have some very adventurous friends there lovely Dakota! take care
    x

    • Hi Old Kitty! Yep Barney IS a lucky doggie! Thank goodness my buddy is ok!
      I sure do have some adventurous friends, they are really wild! BOL!
      Barks and licks and love to you and Charlie!

  10. I think Barney is smart because he is black and white like me : )

    • Puddy I think you are EXACTLY right…but…wait a doggone second!! Then why am I so smart huh???

      xoxoxo

  11. I figured there had to be a hole somewhere for him to crawl through. Sure an happy the mystery is solved so he can’t escape anymore.

    • Hi Mario you are spot on! I am glad the screen is fixed and that he is safe and sound!! Those doggies, I’ll tell ya! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  12. Barney and other four-leggers alike sure know how to be sneaky! You can count on them to spot an escape route and keep that information to themselves. We then end up guessing for days how they managed to pull such a disappearing act. Glad to hear that this particular mystery has been solved!

    • @Happy Bark Days you sure got that right! I never want to get out though. I don’t like it outside. The sounds sometimes scare me. We Shelties are sensitive sorts. I am glad it was solved too! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Hi Dakota,
    I am sure glad you cleared up the mystery! What a smart dog to come to your places.
    Rrruff!
    Sam

    • Hi Sam! Nice to meet you!! He sure is a smart doggie…but not as smart as I am…of course….BOL!
      Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  14. wow our guess is corret, there is a hole somewhere in the house. Lucky his mommy found it

    • yep there was a hole in the screen. He must have done something to make the hole larger. Lynne said he had never shown an interest in the patio/balcony before. I guess that has all changed now! Thankfully he is ok!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota


Leave a Reply

