Squirrely Sunday, I Have A Bone To Pick With You Mom!


My Mom has A LOT of nerve. One of my most favorite things in the ENTIRE world is peanut butter! I like it crunchy, plain, natural (or not). Give me peanut butter and I’m a happy camper.

Most of you probably don’t know that my Mama LOVES squirrels! She is insane about them. I have no idea why. I think they are pesky, taunting little guys with tails that look like they should be used to clean toilets, but my Mama LOVES THEM!

She loves them so much that years ago the neighbors reported her because she fed them too much. Squirrels were climbing up our balcony (we are on second floor) and some of them even made nests in the rafters up in the attic of our apt/condo complex.

So what do I see her do this morning?

She was on the balcony partaking of a horrible habit she has (that I will  not mention). I hear her say “Oh noooo…a squirrel just came over on the fence and he is looking up at me and I have no wheat bread! I HAVE to give him SOMETHING!!”

That was cause for high alert on my part.

She came in, I knew something AWFUL was about to happen so I began spinning and barking hoping to divert her attention from the squirrely intruder.

My protests fell on deaf ears. She headed to the refrigerator, poking around looking for something to feed the mooch and what did she decide on? MY PEANUT BUTTER!! The complete and utter gall of her! That’s MINE! I don’t share my peanut butter with anyone (other than Mom and Dad) but especially not FOREST DWELLING CREATURES!

Next thing you know he will be inviting himself inside for a peanut butter buffet!

****IMPAWTANT NOTE!!! The squirrel in the photos isn’t the real “intruder” but he is a reasonable facsimile thereof! The squirrel in the photos is actually “Skippy Sheeskin” from Facebook fame! Mom happens to LOVE Skippy and is a friend of his on Facebook and his Mommy kindly allowed her to use these fantastic photos!!! Isn’t he adorable? (my Mom said to say that, I don’t think he is very adorable!). You can visit Skippy on Facebook by clicking here!

Barks and Licks, Dakota

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dakotasden.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/squirrely-sunday-i-have-a-bone-to-pick-with-you-mom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

45 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Dakota – nice to meet you. You are a very handsome doggie. I do like doggies, so hope you will be my friend too (just so you don’t chase me cuz then I’ll have to hiss at you. he he )

    • Hi Mario! I am pleased to meet you too but I feel like I already know you cause my Mommy and Cody talk about how nice you and your Mom are!! OF COURSE I will be your friend!! I LOVE KITTIES!! Shhhh, don’t tell the other doggies that! xoxoxo Barks and licks, Dakota

  2. I is never sure quite how to follow Word Press blogs. Just noticed the check box area for Notify me of up dates. he he – pretty simple.

    • A ha!! It WAS you!! Just sent you an email thanking you for subscribing!!!! xoxoxo Barks and licks, Dakota

  3. Hello there adorable Dakota!! Aren’t you just so clever to have your own blog!! Yay!!!!!!!

    Squirrels are adorable!!! They’re bold and brave and very cheeky! LOL!!

    Yay for your mum for looking out for them!! Oh but I do hope you get a nice fresh jar of peanut butter!!! Take care
    x

    • Hi Mrs.Old Kitty! (I don’t like to call you old because I don’t think that you are). Thank you! I don’t know how much time on the computer Mommy will give me but I will do my best!
      Yeah my Mom agrees with you about the squirrels…boy does she EVER agree! BOL!
      Yep I think she is going to get me a new jar of peanut butter this week! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. Well, that’s just not acceptable!

    Welcome to Blogland Dakota!

    We could feature you on Pet Blogs United as a New Blogger Alert. E-mail us at PBU at comcast dot net if you’re interested.

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

    • Hi Oskar! I KNOW it isn’t acceptable! lol. thanks so much! don’t know how much computer time Cody and Mom will give me but I will do my best!! Sure I would love to be featured!! Mom doesn’t know how to display badges on WordPress though….do you????? xoxo Dakota

  5. Dakota,
    I so agree with you; they do steal attention from me! The nerve! She has taken pictures of them, but I’ve also heard her grumble about how much of the bird seed they eat. (Shh, I wasn’t supposed to mention that.)
    Lenny Kitty

    • Lenny u are making me laugh. Did you know my Daddy’s name is Lenny too? lol. Ohhhhhh we have a secret on your Mommy!!! lol! Barks and licks xoxoxo Dakota

  6. Dakota, we love your blog! Sorry that squirrel ate your peanut butter!

    • thank you soooo much!!! My Mom DID save some for me! BOL! thanks for visiting me!! Barks and licks, Dakota

  7. Howdy Dakota! Hey, I don’t think I like peanut butter but I do like to watch those silly squirrels. Have a great week cute one!

    • Hi Brian! I am so happy to meet you! My brother Cody told me all about you! You do so many nice things to help all of the kitties! I am flattered that you had the time to stop by. I know my Mom and brother think the world of you. Barks and licks, Dakota

  8. Hello Dakota, Nice blog !!!
    And that squirrel is very brave to get into your house and take a peanut butter !
    I think I would love to do chasing with him if I was there.
    xoxo

    • Yay Puddy!! you cool dude!!! I have to say, you are even cooler than my brother! BOL!! I am flattered you stopped by to visit me. My brother and my Mom always are laughing at everything that you do. Now I can laugh at you too! Barks and licks from your new pal, Dakota xoxo

  9. Hi Dakota!
    You are one handsome male dog! It is nice to meet you! I just started a blog too. You brother Cody knows my sister Bob!
    I love to chase squirrels! We have a couple that live in our yard and I bark and chase them with Bob (my sister dog)
    Tail wags
    Sam

    • Hi Sam! It is great to FINALLY meet you too! Yep I know my brother knows your sister…don’t you mean Nellie???? lol. My Mom and I tried to follow the new blog and we didn’t see a way to do it. When we tried it just pulls up the new blog with the same link. We are confused! Barks and licks, Dakota

  10. Well hello, Dakota. You have every right to be jealous over your peanut butter!! 🙂

    I hear squirrels also like peanut butter and bird seed coated pine cones. They steal everyone’s food; you’re not alone.

    Cheers,
    Tia

    • Hi Tia! thanks so much for stopping by! Yay! I am glad you are on my side! Yep those squirrels LOVE pine cones coated in peanut butter….shhhh…don’t tell my Mom!!! xoxo Barks and licks, Dakota

  11. Hi ya, Dakota! Congrats on your blog! Our mom likes to feed the evil squirrels too. She actually buys peanuts and corn cobs for them!

    • thank you!! OMG my mom bought peanuts for YEARS!! She even would sit and shell bags and bags of them (the shelled ones as you know are less expensive!!)…she also used to throw down the ones in the shells….until her downstairs neighbor had a fit because there were peanut shells EVERYWHERE!! lol. Now she just uses my peanut butter and bread! BOL! Barks and licks, Dakota

  12. I love your blog Dakota! Tell your Mom she did awesome!
    and tell her not to give your peanut butter away for free! She has to at least charge a fee!

    • Hi Jen and thank you! I will tell Mom..she is still trying to help me but she is very confused! BOL!
      Ok she said she won’t give my peanut butter away for free but why did she have her fingers crossed behind her back when she said it? BOL!
      xoxo Barks and Licks, Dakota

  13. Well, I have to say that giving away YOUR peanut butter without YOUR permission is pretty low, even for a Human.

    • BOL!! @Spitty! I can see why my Mom and brother laugh at you! You are sooo funny! Barks and licks! Dakota

  14. So exciting that you have your own blog now! 🙂

    • thank you Pup fan! I am pretty excited! Just wonder how much computer time I will get with Mom and Cody hogging the computer!

  15. Hello, Dakota, it’s good to meet you. We read your story. You lucked out in finding your family.

    • I agree Jan!! I think I did too! xoxo Barks and Licks, Dakota

  16. Oh, just in case, “lucked out” is a good thing, isn’t it? That’s the way it was meant.

  17. I love your blog!

    RAY & CHASE — @DaneRay

    • Hi Ray & Chase! Thanks so much!! I will do my best to make sure that you still love it!! Barks and licks, Dakota

  18. I love this, so much fun

    • Barbara thank you!! That is how I am hoping to keep it! FUN! I am trying to avoid heavy issues on this blog. I want it to be FUN! I may change my mind but at this point that is my focus for this blog….aren’t I an intelligent doggie to discuss my focus with you? BOL!!

  19. Lol, crazy squirrels! We used to hand-feed them peanuts in our back yard when I was growing up.

    • Stacy and Ellie thanks much for stopping by! OMG my Mom ADORES SQUIRRELS!!

  20. You eat peanut butter?!! You’re one lucky boy, Dakota!!! I don’t even know how it tastes like, my evil, selfish, stingy mom never lets me try it, let alone eat it at all!
    ~ Eva

    • OMD Eva you don’t eat PEANUT BUTTER???!!! OMD it is the BEST! It is like HEAVEN in your mouth!! I live for PEANUT BUTTER and beef knuckles!! BOL!
      My Mom doesn’t give it to me often because the vet says I got too fat (I am now 25 lbs) and my mom has been giving me CARROTS as treats now!
      You might be better off without it, but you are more active than I am! Maybe your Mom will reconsider and give you one taste?
      Barks and licks and love to you pretty girl!!
      Dakota

  21. Furst of all, Dakota, congrats on joining the world of Blogville! You are very brave and very outgoing to undertake such an arduous task of putting those paws on the keyboard, commenting, taking pictures, etc, but if anyone can do it, you can because your mom has already neglected you *oops, I mean spent time on your cat brother instead of you* so I am sure your mom can show you the ropes!
    By the way, I tried to follow you via Google Friend Connect but you don’t have that feature so I signed up for email updates instead.
    I agree that squirrels are pesky critters and for that they deserve to be chased, barked at, etc, but they do not deserve to browse through your refrigerator!
    One more thing….my mom wants me to ask you if you’d like to be a featured blogger on her THANKFUL FUR 3 FRIENDS THURSDAY BLOG HOP this Thursday. If so, please send a pic that you like the best and a description of your blog OR she will do all of it herself!
    Xoxo…Daisy

    • Daisy you and your Mom are so sweet!! Thank you!! Mom said to tell you that she isn’t very familiar with WordPress to help me too much…she knows GFC isn’t on there (and doesn’t think she can add it and if she can she has no clue how to! BOL!!) She said to thank you for signing up for when I blog!

      I would be soooo honored to be featured!!! Mom said that I am not going to work on this blog as hard as Cody and she do on his (his is still the primary blog)….I told my Mom I want this one to just be FUN!!! I am avoiding heavy issues (if possible!!)….I am a silly dog and I want a silly blog……..Shelties are 6th in intelligence in the dog world but Mom thinks Cody is the brains behind EVERYTHING BOL.

      Mom’s favorite photo of me is the one on my Avi right here….she can email it to you……since I am all paws and don’t know what I am doing! That is sooo kind of you!!!

  22. Peanut butter is pretty much one of my favorite things in the world too, Dakota..so I don’t blame you for getting mad at your Mom one bit! On a side note, my Mom loves squirrels too! She throws peanuts out on the deck every day to feed them 🙂

    • My mom said to tell you she loves you even more than she already did Catsparella!!!! Barks, licks and love, Dakota

  23. Hi Dakota – thanks for bring up a subject that we all need to vent about! What is it about squirrels that makes our humans so nutty? Our Mom is a squirrel lunatic too and feeds them peanuts all the time. Peanuts are expensive. She should be buying us more cat toys and not peanuts for squirrels. The squirrels taunt us from outside and get us very agitated – we chatter excitedly and our tails get all big and bushy. Hmmmm. Maybe we are squirrels.

    Love from your cat friends, Zee and Zoey

    • Hi Zee and Zoey! I don’t know but my Mom has been insane about them for years. Maybe it is because THEY have bushy tails as well! BOL!
      Mom said that Bobo used to chirp at the squirrels and birdies…Cody doesn’t. I just go into full blown insanity when a squirrel makes an appearance.
      Love back at ya my kitty friends and thanks for stopping by! Cody says hi as well! Barks and licks and LOVE, Dakota


Leave a Reply

